We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Fantastic Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroa Kainga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aroa Kainga to your Saves list
Aroa Kainga
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Onemaru Rd | Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Arorangi B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This bungalow we found on the Internet and what a find it was! Tricia the host is so knowledgable on Rarotonga plus she has thought of everything in her bungalows so no need to worry that you will not have everything you need. We stayed for a week and the bed was fantastic, plenty of space in the unit to relax, kitchen had all we needed and outside we had a barbecue and loungers on our own private decking surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens Plus a clothesline which we always had bathers or towels on to dry. The beach and snorkelling is a couple of minutes down the lane and there is the best bar 5 minutes walk down the beach which we frequented to watch the magic Rarotongan sunsets drinking $10 Piña Coladas and Margaritas at nights. We hired a scooter and a push bike from a place 5 minutes walk from the bungalow so we were covered for any excursion we wanted to do and very handy to return on our last night. If you are looking for a clean, spacious self catering option at an excellent price in a superb area of Rarotonga with a lovely host in Tricia then book here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great holiday location to blob, read lie on the beach and snorkel in the warm water. Tricia looked after us well and the room suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: Kill the rosters
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigcampbellNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lovely little bungalow for a couple's retreat. The beach was phenomenal. We made the mistake of wasting a day in the murky shallows of muri lagoon as per the guide books recomendations when the lagoon on the doorstep of the bungalow is breathtaking. Trisha was a great host and the bungalow everything we needed. If u do stay, take trisha's advice and head to cocoput ( I know, we though why in earth would we of to a mini golf attraction for dinner) for dinner. The local fish beat any of the resorts we tried by a long way and the staff treat you like friends. Make friends with the gorgeous goats outside, do the island highlands night and take mossie repellant, we are saving to go back. Excellent value and A quality stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonWoodyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at Aroa Kainga in June 2012 and had a great time. The bungalows were very tidy with a modern feel and in a great location on the island. The property is set a couple of hundred metres back from the beach down a side street. At the end of the street is a really nice stretch of beach perfect for relaxing under a palm tree or for snorkelling in the lagoon. 2 minutes walk from the end of the street is a car/scooter/bicycle rental shop (scootering is a definite must while on Raro!) Do not underestimate how handy this is when it comes to hiring and returning your ride! Across the street from the hire shop are The Rarotongan and Sanctuary resorts which have restaurants and bars open everyday of the week (a lot of Raro closes on the weekend, Sunday especially, which can mean finding eateries difficult). Kaena restaurant next to the hire shop has really nice burgers too. The Rarotongan seemed more than happy for us to use their swim up bar while we were buying beers and cocktails!

If you are after well priced accommodation in a great location then I would highly recommend Aroa Kainga. The owner Tricia is lovely and was really easy to deal with, she also had some brilliant recommendations for restaurants (the Waterline and Vaima restaurants are excellent). There is also a really laid back friendly cat name Pumpkin that resides at the house and bungalows. We had a fantastic time and no doubt will return, thanks Tricia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToddRich6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here 16 - 21 Feb 2012. A lovely spot about a 200m from the beach. We had the bungalow (2nd one in), the room was spacious, with a good kitchen lots of lovely perks like, bread, coffee, tea, oil, salt, heaps of towels, snorkling gear. A great passionfruit vine which we ate off every day and a lovely host.

The owner was away and her friend took care of us. This was nice as it was off the main road, but I think you would possibly find something a bit better and be right on the water. rarotonga is great and there are so many places to stay so i suggest looking around. But we wanted to cook our meals so this was a good option.

If you coming from NZ, bring your own frozen meat and snacks - way cheaper.

We ate heaps from local shops - fresh donuts hmmmmm.

Anyway would i stay again - nah id check out a beach side place.

$120 a night

Room Tip: there are 2 x bungalows - i think they are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briarley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My friend and I loved staying at this bungalow while in Raro for a wedding. Tricia was there to greet us (even tho it was 1.30am!) and we were thrilled to find that our wee house was just perfect for our needs - both beds comfy, clean, spacious (esp the bathroom) and loved the outdoor decking area and Pumpkin the cat. Breakfast and tea/coffee/milk/spreads provided, also beach towels and snorkling gear which was appreciated. Tricia had been great with replying to emails when booking and was very kind and generous to me -( I'd come from a very badly earthquake damaged suburb in Christchurch and was in dire need of a break) and I greatly appreciated her kindness.We loved the "private" beach just a short walk away, and thought the bungalow was great value for money compared with the resort most of the other wedding guests were staying at. Would love to come back some time and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place blew our minds! We stayed here while preparing for our wedding, and the bungalows were surrounded by flora and fauna which provided us with a fantastic amount of privacy and beautiful scenery.

The location is a beauty, it is off the main tourist track so you don't have to worry about being crowded by foot traffic. It is still a two minute walk from the beach. Coco Putt is also a three minute walk away, which provides a lovely buffet meal on Sunday nights at $35 NZD per person. Well worth it!

Sandy was overseeing the property during our stay, she was beyond amazing. She offered to assist us in anyway possible, from needing a lift to anywhere, to letting us wash our clothes in her machine. She also provided us with helpful brochures to local hotspots, which made our stay fun and action packed. While we were away Sandy was always keeping an eye on the property, and we felt 100% safe from robbery. We were also introduced to the neighbors who were all so friendly, and willing to share their local knowledge. We felt right at home and found it incredibly hard leaving this place.

The amenities offered exceeded our expectations. A loaf of bread, fresh fruit, butter and toppings, cooking and eating utensils, shampoo and conditioner, soap, a decent amount of bottled water, television, telephone with free local calls, DVD player, radio, microwave, fridge and freezer, reef shoes, and snorkels.

The bungalow itself was immaculate in every way. We were thrilled with it. The bathroom was a superb size. The wardrobe was large enough to hold both of our suitcases so we didn't have to worry about unpacking everything. There aren't any clothing draws, but there is a shelf for clothing. The kitchen is a bit small, but the living room is adequate. The deck is a good size, and has two loungers upon it. There is also a BBQ on the deck. There isn't any signage, so there is absolutely no way you'd know this was accommodation for tourists which is done on purpose for security reasons.

In terms of our wedding photography this was a great spot. Both bungalows mirror each other - so shots of the bridal and groom preparation looked consistent, which was a very nice touch. Aroa Kainga made our stay in Rarotonga so incredible, it was great value for money, and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chanel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 14 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroa Kainga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroa Kainga

Property: Aroa Kainga
Address: Onemaru Rd | Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aroa Kainga 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aroa Kainga Bungalows and Studio Apartment are 2 mins. walk to excellent swimming & snorkeling beaches, including the famous Aroa Beach, on the south west corner of Rarotonga where you can enjoy spectacular sunsets. Ideal for individuals, couples and groups. For your comfort and privacy we welcome people from age 14yrs. This accommodation in Rarotonga consists of two stylish, clean, airy, spacious and well appointed 1 bedroom bungalows and an apartment. Tricia has developed lovely gardens of flowering shrubs, herbs and fruit trees around and between the bungalows and studio apartment that provide privacy and still enable easy communication between them. The bungalows and apartment are designed for a laid back and relaxing time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aroa Kainga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aroa Kainga Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing