We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible.”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, European, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“horrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The toilets of Oceans were dirty . The food was horrible and expensive. The location is ok but the Hotel and the Restaurant looks run down.But the staff was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dickbratze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Kia Orana,

We are sorry to read your online comments about the resort & restaurant being 'run down'.

I recall meeting you both when you spoke to me at Reception, asking for a special walk in room rate to 'stay' at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, since you were looking for accommodation on Rarotonga. We gave you our best walk-in rate.

You also asked us to source a package for 2 nights on Aitutaki - we managed to prepare a last-minute itinerary with flight-rooms-transfers and emailed the same to Bungalow # 9 at Sunhaven Bungalows. We did this for you without obligation to purchase. Importantly, this reflects the level of service that we provide at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

After reviewing your other posts on Tripadvisor, we see a pattern of your positive reviews for inexpensive products & services, and negative reviews for upmarket products & services.

We have recently renovated Oceans restaurant and the result is fantastic. We will soon roll out our new summer menu. Oceans Restaurant delivers high on dining ambience & fantastic service, and very soon, quality cuisine.

Despite your negative experiences, we hope you continue to holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    88
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Breakfast each morning was wonderful, the pancakes are unreal. The island night feast was our favourite, lots of variety and a great show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank donkeykong787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchells Island, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Eating Place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Of all the Island restaurants we could choose from this is by far our favorite place to eat. The view, the staff, the food - is just more than you could ever wish for. As an Adults only resort, this was a bonus for a relaxing, quiet stay. We had breakfast here each day and it was great food and great value. Also enjoyed the Island night entertainment - dinner was a buffet with the show. Menu is a good variant selection catering for all types. Happy hour is a good way to have pre dinner drinks - worth the effort. The setting is looking over the magnificent beach under the palm trees and beautiful tropical gardens, beautifully maintained. There is polynesian architecture throughout. Although I sing praises here I really want to keep it a secret for ourselves ! Shhh...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cafe style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Food more "cafe" style than restaurant with basics ok for lunch and breakfast but a great position and view right on the beach. Chilled out place for a couple of drinksto salute the sunset.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warriewood, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Oceans 8 make for a great stay in the Arorangi area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Arguably the best team and the best restaurant in Rarotonga. Oceans is run by a morning and evening team who make breakfast, lunch and dinner just the most enjoyable experience.

Breakfast is included at the Crown Beach Oceans restaurant and the team make it great with fresh fruits, continental or cooked breakfasts, juices and fresh coffee too! Portions are a great size and kept us well filled through active mornings.

We also lunched at Oceans on lazy days and again great food and good sized portions, all served with smiles and making for a perfectly relaxed time for a couple of stressed out city slickers!

Dinner also didn't disappoint, especially as it followed on from one of three Happy Hours based at the bar at Oceans.

My choices? Eggs Benedict at Breakfast, Corn fritters at lunch and definitely the Pork Belly or Lamps Shanks at Dinner!

Was there a downside? Absolutely not! Just the best time made ever so much better by a great crew, morning, noon and night!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing