We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic spot on the beach”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Ocean's is beautifully located on the beach with effective torch lighting in the evening that provides a romantic atmosphere. The food was good quality, well presented and the "Mozzie" cocktail the best we have tasted. The staff are friendly, helpful abd efficient. A live singer provided another lovely touch to our evening. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurantt & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved the romantic atmosphere, including the flame torch lights, the beachfront location, the open air palm-fringed eatery surrounded by gold-fish filled streams & pond.

We are pleased to read that you loved the value for money food, and that you found your beloved tipple - the Mozzie Cocktail.

We also agree with you, that the total experience is magnified by the staff, who deliver service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Oceans Restaurant & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had breakfast here every day, snacks and dinner here 3 times on our week stay. We had a roast night, cultural night and an A al carte dinner. Everything was to a very high standard. Great friendly service with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank akboo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experiences at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved your breakfasts, snacks and your three dinners: Sunday Roast Buffet; Thursday Island Feast & Cultural Show; and an A la Carte Dinner.

Our Senior Sous Chef (ex Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group & Seabourn Cruises) continues to refine our kitchen operations to deliver value for money cuisine to our discerning guests.

Lastly, thank you for mentioning my front of house team of happy Cook Islanders who ooze the art of hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Bar, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a 2-for-1/2 price meal deal at the resort restaurant, which was wonderful. The Oceans restaurant was excellent with the steak and fresh fish dishes being particularly good. The lunch menu was reasonable priced and of a very high standard also. Having your meals in your room was also an option and the staff were happy to oblige. The Oceans Bar ran three happy hours during the day (11-12, 4-6 and 9-11) with 2-for-1 deals on drinks, including their excellent cocktails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved your meals at Oceans, with notable mention of the beef steak (export quality ex-NZ) and the freshly caught Mahimahi & Wahoo & Tuna delivered to us every 2nd / 3rd day.

My team have clear instructions to ensure guests are happy and that any issue is resolved with a good dose of common sense.

Our meal deals are top value; and our daily triple happy hours [buy 1 get 1 free] gives our guests, as well as guests from other resorts fabulous savings on beverages, not forgetting our daily live bands / entertainment that change every night.

We are pleased to announce the opening of our 3rd restaurant - TANG : tapas & cocktails - located our at our events centre adjacent to the gym and front office. We cant wait.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked our table for 8 Adults to attend the Island Night at the Oceans Restaurant and are so pleased we did.

We were very impressed with the attitude of all staff, very happy to help, friendly and helpful. The surrounding were top class and the food amazing. We were entertained by a couple while we ate who were so good, we asked if they have a CD to purchase
( unfortunately not ) We then dined on the most delicious food. The staff told us about all the dishes and it was yum, some real island dishes which other island night buffets do not offer. We felt totally taken care of, relaxed and entertained by the quality of the dance troupe that performed. This group was of excellent standard and after the previous nights entertainment at the Rarotongan we were pleased to see that bad dancing was not the norm in Rarotonga. It looked like all staff & dancers were really enjoying there night which is why I'm guessing that this restaurant is always full and booking is recommended. A+++++ from the Shaw Family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kahuclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved the ambience of our beachfront restaurant; that you loved Tani & Rose - the fabulous musical entertainers on Thursday night (we too agree that they should have CDs available for sale); that you loved the dynamic 'Akirata Dance Troupe' with their vibrant costumes, pulsating drums and entertaining performances; and that you loved the tasty island buffet with over 30 options featuring food from all around the Cook Islands.

Our staff are close-knit, organised and empowered to apply common sense at any situation that arises resulting in smooth services, daily. We agree with you that reservations are highly recommended as we do sell out of seats quickly with 100+ diners, every Mon & Thu.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Oceans Restaurant was of high quality - great service from very friendly staff who insisted that they could bring food and drinks to us on the beach in front of the resort. The choice of food, from breakfast, lunch and dinner was unbelievable and cooked to perfection.
Cost of food was cheaper than in New Zealand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oaklea_cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your many meals including the complimentary full breakfast service, the cafe style lunch service and the informal a la carte dinner & theme nights scheduled throughout the week.

We are equally pleased to read that you found our pricing comparatively cheaper than a similar standard in New Zealand, notwithstanding the fact that we have to ship or fly in our food items.

Our team of Cook Islanders are happy to serve you on the beach or by the grand pool, with hospitality that comes straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing