We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, great view, tasty food and fab atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceans Restaurant & Bar

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, European, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great view, tasty food and fab atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Crown beach for 6 days and had a wonderful time dining at Oceans Restaurant. The staff are super friendly and very efficient. Happy to bring us drinks out to the beach loungers or on the hammocks and always with a friendly smile. The Island Nights are good fun and the buffets are great quality and very delicious. Especially the desserts. We have travelled to all the South Pacific Islands and the Cook Islands has most definitely the best food of them all. The breakfasts include a choice of cooked breakfasts from omelettes, full cooked, french toast etc at no extra charge. The only remark I can make is I thought it was an odd choice to use French bread stick for the french toast but it was delicious with the fried banana and bacon. Lunches are good although a little samey as the choices don't alternate at all but a good choice of salads, burgers, chicken dishes etc. And to top it all off the excellent happy hours perfectly timed to coincide with the best sunset on the island. We also had several tours booked which departed before the 8am restaurant opening time, but you can order a breakfast pack from reception which is delivered the night before, at no extra cost. The pack is huge! We had cereal, bircher muesli, fruit, juice, yoghurt, bread and choice of jams...Great work!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BGWGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all your meals at Oceans, including the complimentary hot breakfast & continental buffet, the value for money lunches, the affordable dinners, our highly-acclaimed Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon & Thu, and not forgetting, our world-famous triple Happy Hour where you buy 1, get 1 free.

My team and I love our beachfront space and we thoroughly enjoy looking after our discerning guests. I am pleased to advise that we have just received our brand-spanking-new espresso machine all the way from Italy. We can now provide our guests world-class coffees. Hooray!

We've got more product & service improvements to be rolled out in the near future which will make Oceans Restaurant one of the favourite places to be.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Mii Pauka - Restaurant Manager
Oceans Restaurant & Bar - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands - South Pacific Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    86
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heavenly Views with service, food and drinks to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is what you expect in a tropical island. The view which includes the sunset was heaven on earth. Overlooking the fabulous beach. You could sit with your feet in the sand and have the very friendly attentive staff catering to your every need with enthusiasm. The only negative comments I would have is that I expected the breakfast to be a buffet and they had fresh fruit and bircher muesli - the rest you ordered. I guess this is a good way to make sure it is all fresh. Also at lunchtime we ordered a fresh fruit platter and got apple, orange and banana with a couple of slices of fresh coconut. We expected tropical fruit so were a little disappointed. Spoke to the chef about it, he said there was a shortage of tropical fruit but we know people where they get their fruit from and they said it wasn't true. The overall experience was fabulous though including a very professional island night with lovely food. I have been to island nights at the Edgewater and Rarotongan - this was cheaper and far better than both of those in my opinion

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller656920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Restaurant Services Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved the beachfront dining where have sand between your toes. Our restaurant service staff are a lively bunch and their style is delivered straight from the heart, without pretence.

We have amended our breakfast service to have cold selections on the buffet, and hot selections on order to ensure fresh & hot breakfast meals delivered to your table. This new arrangement has resulted in high ratings for our breakfast service. Importantly, this American style breakfast service is free to all our VIP in-house guests.

We note your comment about the selection of fruit. Our purchasing department manages a large volume of daily stock orders and has a policy of buying from consistent suppliers to ensure long term provisions. Whilst there are many small fruit vendors around the island, they are not consistent with their supplies and quantities, which, if not managed well, can disrupt restaurant operations.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Island Feast & Cultural Shows on Mondays and Thursdays featuring top class cultural entertainment by Rarotonga's top dance groups. Our island cuisine is just gorgeous and is made with a lot of love & care. Cook Islanders, the best judges of Island cuisine, attend our Island Nights in droves as they too give us top marks for cuisine & cultural entertainment. Furthermore, our pricing structure is extremely competitive giving diners the best value for money on Rarotonga!

Lastly, our three daily happy hour programs where you 'buy one get one free' is hugely popular and we are pleased to read that you absolutely loved all the cocktails that you sampled.

All in all, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you dine with us again, soon.

Best wishes,

David Samuel
Restaurant Services Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to standard.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stopped off for lunch at Crown Beach Resort and had lunch in the Oceans restaurant.
Beautifull surroundings,unfortunately the pool had gone green and overflowed into part of the restaurant which can happen in an unperfect world.
Ordered a Heineken but they were unfortunately out,same with the Corona,ended up getting some local beer that was on tap,ok must have had a party the night before and drunk the place dry.
We then ordered a burger,sorry no patties,what about a steak sandwich,sorry no steak,oh we'll have fish and chips as a last resort.
Well I don't know how many trips it had done to the fryer but you could have played cricket with it likewise the chips a Machete would have helped.
I should have said something at the time but I'm too easy going.
Upon reflection I was disappointed that a resort of this high standard would allow this to happen but unless people report these things nothing is done.
To be honest we were staying at a resort not far away that was 1/4 the price and 4 times as good,something to work on.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank kiwi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Kia Orana,

Crown Beach Resort & Spa presents 36 standalone villas and suites on 5 acres of prime property with 140 meters of icing sugar beach that fronts a sparkling lagoon for the discerning traveller seeking something beyond the ordinary. Many resorts in the village feature rooms in 'concrete blocks' for less. Our premium guests are happy with their individual stylised villas and suites. Each to his own.

Our grand mineral water pool has been corrected as mechanical parts were not available on Rarotonga and had to be flown in from New Zealand.

Your experience of food & beverage services at Oceans Restaurant is extremely bizzare. We carry ample supplies of food & beverage and I cannot imagine that our New Zealand Sous Chef in charge of Oceans Restaurant would allow a shortage of 'meat patties' or 'beef steak'. As for the rock hard fish & chips - I find this very hard to believe since this is our 2nd most popular lunch meal (according to monthly sales reports).

All in all, Crown Beach Resort & Spa continues to strive for excellence and continues to meet & exceed the discerning needs of its well heeled customers.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager


As for the tipple of your choice, we carry large supplies of Heineken. We dont stock Corona Beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

The food at Oceans was delicious and the open dining looking out onto the beach was beautiful.

We had breakfast at Oceans every morning of our stay and the food was delicious, with plenty of options. We also had dinner there on most nights. I have food allergies but did not have any problems with the food at Oceans. The Island themed buffett night was wonderful, the food was excellent and the entertainment was amazing. Happy hour was great in the afternoon - two for one drinks 4-6pm every day.

The staff were very friendly.

Would definitly recommend.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Escape2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Maitre'D at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kia Manuia, Nii - Maitre'D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arorangi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Happy 'Happy Hour'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

With a couple of friends and their offspring in tow, we decided to try the Crown Beach Resort - Oceans Restaurant Happy Hour. Buy one cocktail get one free.
In summary -
Shark Attack - nice
Maitai - very nice
Then we got serious - Round Raro Ice Tea - made my eyes water / Tsunami - eyes watered and coughed!!!
Great place to start an evening of fun.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RarotongaBigBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Maitre'D at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Join us for more happy hour 'buy 1 get 1 free' specials from 12-1pm / 4-6pm / 9-10pm daily. Kia Manuia, Nii - Maitre'D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing