We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Views with service, food and drinks to match”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is what you expect in a tropical island. The view which includes the sunset was heaven on earth. Overlooking the fabulous beach. You could sit with your feet in the sand and have the very friendly attentive staff catering to your every need with enthusiasm. The only negative comments I would have is that I expected the breakfast to be a buffet and they had fresh fruit and bircher muesli - the rest you ordered. I guess this is a good way to make sure it is all fresh. Also at lunchtime we ordered a fresh fruit platter and got apple, orange and banana with a couple of slices of fresh coconut. We expected tropical fruit so were a little disappointed. Spoke to the chef about it, he said there was a shortage of tropical fruit but we know people where they get their fruit from and they said it wasn't true. The overall experience was fabulous though including a very professional island night with lovely food. I have been to island nights at the Edgewater and Rarotongan - this was cheaper and far better than both of those in my opinion

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyTraveller656920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Restaurant Services Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved the beachfront dining where have sand between your toes. Our restaurant service staff are a lively bunch and their style is delivered straight from the heart, without pretence.

We have amended our breakfast service to have cold selections on the buffet, and hot selections on order to ensure fresh & hot breakfast meals delivered to your table. This new arrangement has resulted in high ratings for our breakfast service. Importantly, this American style breakfast service is free to all our VIP in-house guests.

We note your comment about the selection of fruit. Our purchasing department manages a large volume of daily stock orders and has a policy of buying from consistent suppliers to ensure long term provisions. Whilst there are many small fruit vendors around the island, they are not consistent with their supplies and quantities, which, if not managed well, can disrupt restaurant operations.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Island Feast & Cultural Shows on Mondays and Thursdays featuring top class cultural entertainment by Rarotonga's top dance groups. Our island cuisine is just gorgeous and is made with a lot of love & care. Cook Islanders, the best judges of Island cuisine, attend our Island Nights in droves as they too give us top marks for cuisine & cultural entertainment. Furthermore, our pricing structure is extremely competitive giving diners the best value for money on Rarotonga!

Lastly, our three daily happy hour programs where you 'buy one get one free' is hugely popular and we are pleased to read that you absolutely loved all the cocktails that you sampled.

All in all, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you dine with us again, soon.

Best wishes,

David Samuel
Restaurant Services Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stopped off for lunch at Crown Beach Resort and had lunch in the Oceans restaurant.
Beautifull surroundings,unfortunately the pool had gone green and overflowed into part of the restaurant which can happen in an unperfect world.
Ordered a Heineken but they were unfortunately out,same with the Corona,ended up getting some local beer that was on tap,ok must have had a party the night before and drunk the place dry.
We then ordered a burger,sorry no patties,what about a steak sandwich,sorry no steak,oh we'll have fish and chips as a last resort.
Well I don't know how many trips it had done to the fryer but you could have played cricket with it likewise the chips a Machete would have helped.
I should have said something at the time but I'm too easy going.
Upon reflection I was disappointed that a resort of this high standard would allow this to happen but unless people report these things nothing is done.
To be honest we were staying at a resort not far away that was 1/4 the price and 4 times as good,something to work on.

Thank kiwi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2011

Kia Orana,

Crown Beach Resort & Spa presents 36 standalone villas and suites on 5 acres of prime property with 140 meters of icing sugar beach that fronts a sparkling lagoon for the discerning traveller seeking something beyond the ordinary. Many resorts in the village feature rooms in 'concrete blocks' for less. Our premium guests are happy with their individual stylised villas and suites. Each to his own.

Our grand mineral water pool has been corrected as mechanical parts were not available on Rarotonga and had to be flown in from New Zealand.

Your experience of food & beverage services at Oceans Restaurant is extremely bizzare. We carry ample supplies of food & beverage and I cannot imagine that our New Zealand Sous Chef in charge of Oceans Restaurant would allow a shortage of 'meat patties' or 'beef steak'. As for the rock hard fish & chips - I find this very hard to believe since this is our 2nd most popular lunch meal (according to monthly sales reports).

All in all, Crown Beach Resort & Spa continues to strive for excellence and continues to meet & exceed the discerning needs of its well heeled customers.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager


As for the tipple of your choice, we carry large supplies of Heineken. We dont stock Corona Beer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The food at Oceans was delicious and the open dining looking out onto the beach was beautiful.

We had breakfast at Oceans every morning of our stay and the food was delicious, with plenty of options. We also had dinner there on most nights. I have food allergies but did not have any problems with the food at Oceans. The Island themed buffett night was wonderful, the food was excellent and the entertainment was amazing. Happy hour was great in the afternoon - two for one drinks 4-6pm every day.

The staff were very friendly.

Would definitly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Escape2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Maitre'D at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kia Manuia, Nii - Maitre'D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

With a couple of friends and their offspring in tow, we decided to try the Crown Beach Resort - Oceans Restaurant Happy Hour. Buy one cocktail get one free.
In summary -
Shark Attack - nice
Maitai - very nice
Then we got serious - Round Raro Ice Tea - made my eyes water / Tsunami - eyes watered and coughed!!!
Great place to start an evening of fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank RarotongaBigBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Maitre'D at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Join us for more happy hour 'buy 1 get 1 free' specials from 12-1pm / 4-6pm / 9-10pm daily. Kia Manuia, Nii - Maitre'D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed a few steps down the beach from Crown Beach Resort at Oronga Beach House during our honeymoon in last month. We walked down the beach a few times to Oceans for drinks and meals.

Oceans is long and narrow-ish but it wasnt over-crowed once when we went there. The view to the beach during sunset is amazing! The staff are all friendly and helpful too.

First time we went to the Tuesday Island night show and feed. We didnt eat there that night (already ate at home) but watched the show. Great show! The little girl dancer was my favourite! So cute! We loved seeing the show, the drums and dancing!

We also went there for lunch one day. The food was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gypsyqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Maitre'D at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Join us for more happy hour 'buy 1 get 1 free' specials from 12-1pm / 4-6pm / 9-10pm daily. Kia Manuia, Nii - Maitre'D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing