We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Best”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just the Best”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

What a great surprise, decided to call in for dinner on the off chance that they may have a spare table fro dinner. My Wife and I decided to wait for a table to become free as we noticed the cuisine coming out and the presentation appeared to be fresh innovative and visually appealing. The hosts whilst very busy extended to us a complimentary glass of wine in their outdoor Gazebo and whilst we ended up waiting a little longer that we anticipated we enjoyed the Music and ambiance and the time passed very quickly.

I had the the Steak which was as good as I have had any were else and my wife chose the local seafood which she said decided not to share as it was simply "delicious"

One of the best places to eat on the Island

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikauteam, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you Kiwiholidays from kikau hut. It is pleasing to know you both enjoyed your visit to the hut and thank you for taking the time to put your kind words on trip advisorWe hope to see you again

cath kevin and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    236
    49
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to Write”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I had to write after reading review of terrible sickening. We were in Raro for 6 days prior to coming to Aitutaki we ate at the Kikau Hut twice in that time and the food was exceellant the curried scallops were wonderful. Never written a review before just had to after reading terrible sickenings review. Going back in 10 days and look forward to eating thier again before heading back to Canada. Also the BYO is fantastic as you can have a wonderful bottle of wine without breaking the bank, not like at home. Barry Canada

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BooBoo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikauteam, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Hi Barry Thanks for your review on Kikau hut and look forward to seeing you both next time at Kikau hut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We ate here three times in one week. The food compares well with Tamarind House, which has been lauded as best on the Island. Atmosphere is "kick back" casual. Kevin and Cathy make you feel at home. "Catch of the day" is a must try, as are the desserts. You can even phone ahead for take out, or BYOB for a corkage fee.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brown_dogCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikauteam, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and the team at Kikau hut hope to see you again in the very special Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Excellence & Good Service”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Having spent 12 days in Raro and just returned we spend 2 exellent evenings dining at Kikau. On both visits the food was excellent, service was quick, efficient and friendly and it was overall excellent value. It is not haute quisine but very very good food, well prepared and well presented. The previous negative reviewer should not make a judgement on one visit. It was the best meal[s] we had during our visit!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AucklandOscar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful, terrible,sickening”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The first sign of trouble was the chef himself picking us up an hour late from our hotel on the other side of the island. He still had his dirty apron on and informed us during the drive that there would be no entertainment because the new owners were still in New Zealand and "we need at least 10 people to pay for the music". It was opening night after two weeks of closure and the two week-old opened wine certainly bore testament to that fact. The other sign of trouble was the neighbouring diner's untouched "Alan's Chicken Surprise" after half an hour. The "rib-eye steak" was in fact a fatty rump steak and the re-heated potatoes were as inedidible as they were cold. The stale bread soldiers that accompanied the frozen scallops were ideal accompaniments for prison fare but not for a restaurant that wallows in good reviews from a previous era.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mysydneysider2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing