We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality from a NZ Southern Man”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Hospitality from a NZ Southern Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our experience in this Restaurant was absolutely tops, excellent food , (drinks the real thing), and with very engaging staff.Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korowai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    226
    45
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great restaurant in Arorangi, excellent quality of the food (the mahi mahi is a must!) nice atmosphere, very friendly staff (one night the owner saw us coming by bus, and at the end of the dinner he gave us a lift to our hotel).
Good choice of gluten free food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide_GGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

After going 2 years ago I decided I had to take my children to rarotonga and ensure we visited kikau hut!
Fantastic service, Devine food and great host.
With the new shuttle service back to our resort it made it a lovely, evening. Highly recommend and looking forward to going back before we head home!

Helpful?
Thank Janna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kikau huts at its best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

we ate there 3 nights out of 6 - what more can I say!!! it was great and fresh food and great hosts!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollytp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Warning: Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Food was ok, nothing spectacular. Portion sizes small for the price. Felt like another trap set up for tourists. Charge them heaps for tiny, average meals. Service was lovely though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarawera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Kia Orana Tarawera99 - thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Firstly thanks for the compliment about the service at Kikau Hut - we work hard in this area. With regard to our portion sizes - we have to say we are very surprised as we have always had positive comments about the size of the meals and as you haven't said what your meals were we can not make any specific comments - however we have shown the review to our staff as we do with all reviews and we have already looked at our portion sizing and feel everything is on track.
Tourist Trap - we think this is a very harsh criticism given that we provide FREE complimentary ice water to every diner at our restaurant, we also operate a FREE pick up and drop off service to our diners accomodation should they request it...along with this we believe that the average entree at $13, Mains average at $26 and Desserts average at $11.50 is very reasonable.Regards Kevin Cathy & the team at Kikau Hut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing