We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I ate here on a Saturday evening with a group of 8 people. The staff were polite but did forget drinks for a couple of people. I had the Kikau chicken special which I found similar to a dish at Tamarind house except here, the cheese fell out of the chicken and it was overcooked, very dry. I found that the herbs from the chicken (taragon) did not compliment the herbs in the potatoes (dill?). After being at sea for 2 weeks eating Kiwi food and really looking forward to a good meal, I found that KiKau Hut Restaurant really fell short of meeting my expectations of an excellent meal, I really wish it could have been better. After my experience, I probably would not return or recommend this place to anyone else, it wasn't terrible, just mediocre.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ljmzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    228
    46
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening, great food, great service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were collected by Kevin, restaurant owner, from our accommodation at Aro'a Beachside and driven to the restaurant - great service. The food was fantastic, atmosphere was great and Kevin and his staff were superb. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

There are a lot of restaurants on the Island and all the prices are in the same range. The Kikau Hut had not only great food, but a good vibe/atmosphere ... and incredible service. The food came out hot, tasted good and was in the same range price-wise of other restaurants.
If you go, I recommend the Island Style Fish and the Kikau Hut Chicken Special. I had each of the dishes and they were a couple of the best tasting meals I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Make sure to save room for the Banoffi Pie - Caramel and banana pie, crumble crust, topped with sliced banana, chocolate drizzle, a whipped cream star and a scoop of ice cream. Yum-O!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Highly recommended. We were picked up from our accommodation by the owner Kevin who is a fantastic host. The service was excellent, as was the food. There were even little Easter eggs on the table. The staff were friendly & attentive and the menu was great. A fantastic dining experience in a delightful setting. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gertie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First & Best on the Island!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kikau Hut was our first meal out in Rarotonga and their service was top notch, they are friendly & personable, and the food is to die for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Skinner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing