We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Resturant in Raratonga, Great Service Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kikau Hut Restaurant

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Resturant in Raratonga, Great Service Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a big game fishing trip off Rarotonga we had some beautiful Mah Mahi and Wahoo to eat. The Kikau Hut was recommended by a fishing skipper as the place to take it to be cooked.

Our fish was preapared Island style with an island salsa and fried bananas. The fish was perfectly cooked, the meal was simple but divine. The Host, Kevin was attentive, the service was very good, Cocktails great (especially Kevs Special), the island style resturant was right for the setting and the deserts were really good.

I would highly recommend the Kikau Hut to visitors of the Cook Islands, especially if you have been lucky enough to go big game fishing and have caught game fish that requires perfect cooking.

Prices were good too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    223
    45
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummiest dessert!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here because I had seen so many great reviews, and we were not disappointed. Our dinner was lovely, we enjoyed our dessert so much that we returned another 2 nights just for dessert. Banoffee Pie was the winner, but we did enjoy the Choc wontons too. The staff were friendly and the owner was great too. Price is what you expect for Raro ($25-$29 for main) Put this on your list of places to eat

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Merian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent hosts, great food, good value, and pick up and delivery home for free!
The only restaurant we went to in Rarotonga that provided water on the table rather than forcing you to purchase bottled water.A must eat at restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can not rate this restaurant highly enough. From the welcome at the door, thru to the ordering ( a nice personal touch by adding our names to each order, which was also fantastic when paying if part of a group as we were) the attentions of the host, and the most delicious meals we had on the island. I would recommend the Fish of the Day, Island Style. Yum yum. Prices I thought were very reasonable and the deserts large and appetising. Thank you to Kikau Hut.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 408MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A vegitarian curry to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am vegetarian and man did this place deliver, friendly, went above and beyond, service with a smile lovely kiwi owner, who is simply wonderful. dropped us off, after we taxied there, they have a variety of meals, not just vegetarian anything you desire....please go there and try the lovely vibe and friendly service.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing