We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this place, meals are divine (and big portions!) Ened up taking doggy bay back to bungalow. Only in Raro for 5 days and went here twice.

1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Kia Orana Linda S - thank you for dining with us at Kikau Hut and for taking the time to submit a review. We are always happy when diners return a second or third time during their stay on Rarotonga as there are so many restaurants to choose from. Great to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed Kikau Hut. We trust you had an awesome holiday here. We wish you all the best for the rest of year regards Kev Cathy & the team at Kikau Hut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for Kikau Hut Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 728 of 952 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great portions and delicious food. The staff are really nice and it is reasonably priced. Great to have dinner there when they have live music!

Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Kia Orana Amy k - thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Kikau Hut. Yes it is great when we have live music ... we tend to offer this during the busy season. Thank you for your feedback and great that you had a pleasant time at Kikau Hut and trust you enjoyed your holiday here in the Cook islands. Kev Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We went here twice. Both times were great, awesome food and cocktails. Kev's choice cocktail is a must. The owner even gave us a lift home after our meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Archerscruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Kia Orana Archerscruff
thank you for visiting us at Kikau Hut and great that you enjoyed your meal and Kevs Choice. We offer the ride home and it was no problem to drop you back to your accomodation. Trust you had a great holiday here in Rarotonga and all the best for the rest of the year. Cheers Kev Cathy & the team at Kikau Hut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ordered a rib eye steak and curry chicken and were blown away by the flavours and the quality of our dishes. Very well presented. Would definately eat here again.

1  Thank teej1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Kia Orana teej1611 - thank you for dining with us at Kikau Hut and for taking the time to do a review. Great to hear that you both enjoyed your meals. We trust that you had a great holiday in the Cook Islands and will return for another visit in the future. Warm regards Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited Kikau Hit twice while we stayed in Rarotonga, first to try it out and then when we were deciding where we should eat on our last night it was really a no brainer. We loved the food and the atmosphere. Kevin and Cathy are lovely, very welcoming hosts. Definitely recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SqueezieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Kia Orana SqueezieNZ - thank you for dining with us at Kikau Hut and great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and came back for your last night! It is always neat when people have been to dine and return on their last night as that makes us feel that we have done something special to make your holiday memorable. thanks for your very positive review and we wish you all the very best for 2013 Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing