We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A lovely place, with friendly and efficient service. Loved the mix of the Kiwi owners, with the island feel. The food reflected this too, very tasty and very well done. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank New k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi New k - thanks for taking the time to submit a review of Kikau Hut. Great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to hosting you if you visit the island again. Regards Kevin Cathy & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for Kikau Hut Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 753 of 952 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Of all the places I dined/ate at during my 13 day Raro stay this had the best service! From free pickup from my lodging to free water to outstanding wait service. The setting was very nice and relaxing. The price for my main was good, but serving portion was a little smaller than other restaurants. My only disapointment was the Banana Wontons. The presentation was spectacular, but the wontons seemed rather tough and the quantity of bananas per wonton was rather skimpy-like two thin banana slices per wonton. The flavor was good, though.
I felt very welcome at this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TReLiNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear TreLiNe - thank you for taking the time to review Kikau Hut - great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and experience with us .... we were surprised about the serving size being small and have had a review of all the meals and adjusted some of these. thank you for pointing out your concern with the wontons and we were able to make some changes to how these were being cooked to ensure that this does not happen in the future. Trust you enjoyed your holiday in the Cook Islands. Regards Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

One thing I do when visiting a restaurant in a tourist area is compare the number of rental cars in the car park with those owned by locals. What I saw told me that my wife and I would be having a good meal.

And we did. Kikau Hut is what a restaurant should be. The wait staff were knowledgeable; they could answer questions about the food on offer as opposed to simply reading off the menu. The kitchen team knew what they were doing; presentation was as good as the food itself. Local ingredients figure prominently on the menu, but there's plenty available (steak, etc.) for the less adventurous.

The restaurant allows you to BYO wine, and there's a bottle shop across the street. Nice.

The owner took the trouble to visit each table and make sure everything was meeting his obviously high standards.

...and the prices were reasonable.

We went there twice during a one-week visit, and will certainly go back again the next time we're on Rarotonga.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grundoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Grundoon - thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw of our restaurant. We were pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Kikau Hut and we will look forward to hosting you when you return, Regards Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thanks for gorgeous food, friendly service and fantastic atmosphere we definitely will be back!!
Our meals were outstanding and extremely value for money and we enjoyed the wait staff who made us feel welcome

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Maggietrav - thank you for taking the time to post a review. Great that you enjoyed your dining experience at Kikau Hut and trust that you had a great holiday in the Cook Islands. Regards Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely meal with excellent service and the kiwi owner was a wealth of information; Lovely setting with the gardens and layout of restaurant. Very prompt service. Would go again.

Thank MATempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniealden s, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi - thank you for your review of Kikau Hut. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hopefully you had a great holiday in the Cook Islands. Regards Kevin Cathy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing