We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must go on a Wednesday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterline

Waterline
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Casual beach dining with all the frills.Open Tues-Sun for lunch and dinner. Enjoy one of our tasty cocktails and the breathtaking sunset before dining on Pacific style international cuisine. We have one of Raro's most extensive wine lists available.We can host both your wedding ceremony and reception on site either on the beach or our sunset deck.Experience romantic Rarotonga the Waterline way.Live music Wednesday nights. Bookings essential.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must go on a Wednesday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This restaurant is right above the beach and the place to go on Wednesday nights for their live music. The musicians are very very good. If you are lucky you can even get to see the sun going down on the horizon, but it was raining when we went so we missed out on that. The food was tasty, but my only complaint is that we felt rushed - we had barely finished the last mouthful of one course when the next was put in front of us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janemck56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    201
    50
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and beautiful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were recommended by a couple of the locals to try this restaurant and we are so glad that we did. It is one of the few restaurants that you can dine on the beach with the sand between your toes - it is such a lovely location, looking out over the water. The service and meal were excellent as well. Highly recommend experiencing this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Apt name and so very true”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Been several times in the past
Good food and excellent orange juice. Wednesday nights are a must with first class musical entertainment. Couldn't fault staff for friendliness and courtesy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonesysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cosy spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

A nice cosy restaurant right on the beach. The food was fantastic, but the servings were a bit on the small side for my liking. We had been recommended it and im glad we tracked it down and went. Best part was we were able to walk to it along the beach and back to our resort again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAdam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous setting great staff and lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Have been recommending this to everyone I meet. Service, setting and food was wonderful. Lovely Man playing Ukelele had a wonderful rapport with guests. My partner enjoyed the food so much he wanted to come back - shame I didn't listen as we had a bad experience at the Aro'a BBQ the following night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterline also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Waterline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing