We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Enjoyable”
Review of Wind Jammer Restaurant - CLOSED

Wind Jammer Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cook Islands leading affordable fine dining restaurant with first class cuisine, international service and candle-lit setting. Modern Italian cuisine using the freshest produce and the highest-grade meats. Every meal is created from scratch. Desserts are top class using the best imported ingredients. An absolutely beautiful dining experience. Italian wines available too.
Auckland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegant and Enjoyable”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A very elegant setting with Italian music playing softly in the background. The tables are nicely set and well spaced out and the service very personal and attentive. It was our most expensive meal but as it was our last evening on holiday, we did indulge a bit more! The food is lovely and beautifully presented. Had the prawns with balsamic (bit too sweet for me) and a gorgeous lamb rack in wine jus followed yummy tiramasu and pannacotta. Along with a couple of nice drinks each, the bill was about $130.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    66
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine dining and top class Italian food!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a pleasant surprise to find this fine dining restaurant after so many casual, 'beach dining' places. The food was unbeatable - the desserts just devine! I am a risotto 'snob' and I was blown away with the quality and taste of my mushroom risotto - and how wonderful being asked if I would like the rice cooked authentically el dente or not!! The staff were faultless - incredibly professional but still very approachable and friendly. What a fantastic treat for a couple of self professed 'foodies' to have the chef take and deliver our dessert orders and to spend time discussing his passion for Italian food (something we can relate to whole-heartedly!). Cannot recommend this restaurant enough for the setting, the air-conditioning (most welcome in Rarotonga), the staff, the quality of food and the pricing!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was definitely some of the better food I had on the island (second only to Tamarind House). The prices are totally in line with everywhere else on the island despite the higher quality of the food. Service was good & it is a very nice intimate fine dining experience. The only downside is you don't get a view of the beautiful ocean when you eat. Would definitely go again and would recommend to friends!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Italian!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Some of the best Italian food ever....and I'm Italian.......fabulous service standards and a great setting away from mosquitos and away from the heat. Sumptuous caprese salad was my favourite and incredible trenette al pesto. All washed down with anise drop of authentic Lambrusco and one the best Tiramisu ever. Carlo the check comes to talk to all the guests which is nice touch. Went twice in a week and was just brilliant ...highly recommended...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxcat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Showed up without booking on first night and was disappointed because we couldn't get in. Glad we booked for next night as it was a great meal. We are a family of 4 and each of us enjoyed our meal. Loved the Mahi Mahi fish. Cannot praise the waiter enough. He was polite, competent and highly professional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadbury63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Jammer Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing