We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday bonanza”
Review of Wind Jammer Restaurant - CLOSED

Wind Jammer Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Cook Islands leading affordable fine dining restaurant with first class cuisine, international service and candle-lit setting. Modern Italian cuisine using the freshest produce and the highest-grade meats. Every meal is created from scratch. Desserts are top class using the best imported ingredients. An absolutely beautiful dining experience. Italian wines available too.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday bonanza”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We celebrated our sister's 60th birthday here on the recommendation of a locally based friend. She was in tears at the service we received, the special birthday dessert complete with candles they created just for her. Food devine and affordable, staff superb, which I could bring the restaurant over to NZ.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    66
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not really fine dining.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had high expectations of Wind Jammer. It had been highly recommended, however disappointed, probably partly due to our high expectations. The service was attentive and the food was adequate, but not fine dining (which is what other reviews and the prices suggest), and the atmosphere average.

We had dinner at six restaurants during our stay in rarotonga and this place came in equal fifth. It was however one of the few places we triend with multiple options for vegetarians.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank _not_an_eskimo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your dining experience with us.

Windjammer restaurant presents freshly prepared meals that are best described as 'modern Italian' featuring choice cut meats, fresh vegetables & fruit, fresh handmade pasta, and tasty wholesome sauces made from secret family recipes from Italy.

There is no true fine dining restaurant in the Cook Islands. I haven't found one yet. Windjammer offers an air conditioned dining space with few candle-lit tables, soft Italian music playing in the background, great food, and unobtrusive service.

We will continue our journey to refine our cuisine and menu to keep satisfying the palates of fellow restaurant owners & resort / hotel owners who frequently dine with us.

We hope you continue to holiday on beautiful Rarotonga and try more of her restaurants & cafes around the island.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager
Windjammer Restaurant by Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Divine Italian food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely evening meal at Wind Jammer earlier this month on our Rarotonga holiday. We were staying at Edgewater Resort so this was only a 5 minute walk down the road for us and a great dining choice :) We shared the bruschetta to start with and it was lovely. For mains, we had the lasagne and the gnochetti. Both very generous portions and great flavours. I had been eyeing up the tiramisu for dessert but after the large main, couldn't fit it in! Service was very attentive (keeping an eye out and refilling our water glasses) so no complaints from us, highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very average and overpriced!!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to Wind Jammer on our last night in Raro and had eaten somewhere different each of our 6 night stay. This was easily the worst of all 6. For an Italian the obvious items seemed to be missing from the menu like pizza and spag bol. For starter we had the bruschetta which was actually really nice but it was the main course that was a huge let down. We ordered the Chicken breast but what we were presented with was more plate than chicken, also of the bit of chicken we did get only half was breast and the other bit of chicken was a leg not breast at all. The herb potatoes were dry and tasteless and no vegies in sight. At $28 we felt robbed and when asked how our meal was we expressed our disappointment at the main course which was shrugged off. Overall the service was friendly and satisfactory.

Summary: High prices, small portion size for money, ok service. You can do much better elsewhere on the island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent dining experience with us.

Windjammer specialises in modern Italian cuisine featuring choice cut meats, fresh vegetables & fruit, freshly made pasta, and freshly made authentic sauces following family-secret recipes directly out of Italy.

We dont offer 'spag boll' or 'pizza' - we suggest you try the Spaghetti House located 300m down the road in front of the Edgewater Resort.

The Chicken Breast we feature involves half a breast with part of the wing bone attached for authenticity & presentation. The whole bird is skillfully carved by our chefs daily and cooked to perfection.

Windjammer Restaurant not suitable for travelers on a tight budget, but is designed for visitors who seek a pleasant dining experience.

Windjammer Restaurant is frequented by fellow restaurant owners & resort / hotel owners on Rarotonga who seek good quality cuisine and professional service.

We hope you continue to holiday on beautiful Rarotonga and dine at her many restaurants, cafes & takeaways around the island.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager
Windjammer Restaurant by Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Less then Average! Would not reccomend!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Extremely poor knowledge of menu from service staff. The 'normal' on the island is far different to the normal at home in NZ. So the waitress stating that the items were just 'the normal' with a shoulder shrug, we thought was very stupid.And when we asked again to know what they were we were given a roll of the eyes and very slowly went to find out for us. Only for her to not return.
Although we were a group and expected a wait on food, having meals arrive at table within 1/2 hour of each other was completely unacceptable! Would never reccomend to anyone and were very disapointed considering prices are at the high end on the island!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b_walker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your recent dining experience with us.

We are sorry to read about the poor service provided to your group. This should never happen at Windjammer. The wait staff you allude to has been transferred to another restaurant for thorough training and has been replaced by a professional waiter.

Timing delays for meals are inevitable for large groups, however, better communication with your table should have been provided to keep you abreast of perceived kitchen delays.

We sincerely apologise for this and hope you give us another try.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager
Windjammer Restaurant by Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Jammer Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing