We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Helena Cottage

Secluded Courtyard Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Courtyard Garden
Corner sofa bed & patio doors Dining area & Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Secluded Courtyard Garden
Corner sofa bed & patio doors
Dining area & Hall
Fully equipped kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
New bathroom
New bathroom
The Great Outdoors!
Elie beach
Sunset at the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ticked every box for us. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend.Great facilities, including modern kitchen and bathroom. Good WIFI and the enclosed garden is perfect for the dog. Will be back next year! Short walk to beach and great bar nearby (The 19th Hole) if you don't have the energy to walk to The Ship Inn. Great set-up at The Pavilion for tennis and golf.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your very positive feedback. I'm delighted you had a great stay, and look forward to welcoming you back during your booking for next Spring! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyDear
Menstrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely wee cottage.”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a thoroughly enjoyable week staying in Helena Cottage in Elie where we did a fair bit of beach combing in lovely, if somewhat windy, weather Our two miniature schnauzers loved it too. The 19th Hole and The Ship Inn are both great for a meal and are dog friendly. We particularly liked The Pavilion at lunch time and would highly recommend it. Good home-cooked food and very pleasant staff. We also had a trip to Ardross Farm Shop - suggest you visit for some of the freshest veg and great frozen meals. We would certainly recommend this cottage which is well equipped, so convenient for the beach and fantastic if you’re a golfer!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Margo - thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back some time soon. Thanks for now. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely compact holiday cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a good weekend to bring in the new year, watched the fireworks on the beach fantastic, dog loved her walks on the beach so easy to get to, enclosed garden was great. Bed was very comfortable, plenty of dishes cutlery pots glasses and nice mugs. Towels were lovely and soft, nice bedding, and a good shower.
Parking near was a bit of a problem, but maybe it was because the pub was busy for new year.. Would recomend this lovely small cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed the stay over the festive period, and found the cottage very pleasant to stay in. Hope to see you again soon. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you John for taking the time to review our cottage, and glad you enjoyed your stay over Christmas. Hope to see you again soon. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George H
Ripon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely property in a great location and a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Helena Cottage was acessed down a short gravel pathway and is close to both the golf course, beach and a local pub. It’s location means it’s very quiet as very few people walk past it and it is protected from the most of the strong winds.

The property was very well maintained throughout; with two bedrooms (one double and one twin leading off it), a lovely shower/bathroom and a well fitted out kitchen / dining / living room. There is also a washing machine in the outside utility room. There is even an option to fold out the sofa in the living room into an extra bed in case unexpected visitors turn up. The free wi-allowed the TV to host a Fire TV Stick; which gave us access to Amazon Prime/Netflix/iplayer, etc.

Edinburgh was just over an hour away and St Andrews about 35 mins, so it’s easily accessable to both. For those lazy days, a long sandy beach is only a quick walk away.

All in all, a lovely property in a great location and a wonderful holiday.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
George- thank you for taking the time to review and your comments. Glad you had a great time and hope to see you back again soon! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_he...
1 review
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Myself, my Mum and my 4 year old son have just got home from staying in Helena Cottage. I burst into tears when I got in the car because I didn't want to leave Elie, the beautiful peaceful beach and our perfect holiday cottage.
We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Angela. Thanks for your review and very glad you had a great time at the cottage - although obviously v. sad to be leaving :-( Hope to see you back again soon. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage! ”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time at Helena cottage so very peaceful and a truly relaxing break. The cottage is in a perfect location and is very homely, nicely decorated and well equipped. There's a fantastic shower too. Elie is lovely - we had a great time at the beach and on coastal walks! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
That's great you had a nice time at the cottage, and got time to relax there and see Elie & surrounds. Thank you for the review - hope to have you stay at the cottage again in the future! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing