We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Insiders' Tip”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JuCa S
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insiders' Tip”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We spent about two weeks in Scotland and stayed at a lot of very nice B&Bs, never more than two days in one place. Still, Sauchur Point with Roddy & Sue was extraordinary! The hosts are both amazingly charming and the accommodation is outstanding. Very homelike at a high standard for a more than reasonable price. The room and bathroom definitely look as advertised and the view is stunning.

Roddy recommended The Ship Inn (apparently under new ownership by now) next to the harbour for the evening and we enjoyed a beer outside the pub watching the sunset.

The next morning breakfast was delicious and afterwards our hosts provided us with ideas for our journey - as Elie was the starting point of our tour through Scotland (after Edinburgh).

Thanks, Roddy & Sue, for making our stay so special. We apologize for the late review - should have done it months ago. We will definitely be back as we fell in love with Elie/Fife & the Sauchur Point!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Roddy & Sue & the room :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
Thank you for a great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you remembered Sauchur Point from so long ago. We will be pleased to welcome you back when you visit Scotland and Elie again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayDa...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb studio-style bed and breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Sue & Roddy and were led up to the studio. It was exactly like the photographs on-line - very modern, clean, superbly appointed with sea views from the windows.

It was very nice to return in the evening and sit comfortably on a settee to watch television or to read, rather than perching on a bed.

The bed itself was very comfortable and the fittings in the bathroom were of a very high standard.

In the morning, the breakfast was top quality with plenty of choice and we didn't feel rushed to finish and check out.

Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was an en-suite studio rather than just a room.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thanks for a great review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back again sometime. The views will remain the same even if the weather doesn't.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieGlas...
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully friendly place in a great location.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Roddy and Sue are extremely friendly and hospitable hosts who have thought of everything for their guests. The room is really more of a suite, with a comfortable lounge area. This suited us perfectly because we wanted to go walking during the day and come back to a 'home from home' at night. We had plenty of space to really relax in. The room, bathroom and furnishings are of very high quality and very well maintained. It makes a nice change to stay at a B&B that is so nicely appointed. Breakfast was outstanding (fresh home baked bread and even a double yolked egg!) and we thoroughly appreciated the very personal touch offered by Roddy and Sue - who even bought a lovely birthday card for my husband! We loved everything about our stay and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts, perfect location and lovely accommodation.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
Thanks for a great review and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We hope you will visit us again sometime - can't make a promise on the double yolked eggs though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I couldn't pick a single faults with this lovely B&B. My partner and I stayed in the attic room, and the room looks identical to the picture - which isn't always the case. It's beautifully decorated and clean with great Velux windows, giving you brilliant views over Elie.

The owners were lovely and done everything they could to help.

I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are visiting Elie.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Thanks for a great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back to Elie again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoxx
Siegburg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Vielen Dank, Bernd, für einen tollen Bericht. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt so sehr genossen haben. Wir hoffen, Sie willkommen zu heißen, wenn Sie nächsten Urlaub in Elie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing