We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Suited our needs perfectly.”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
The Garden The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Front of House
The Garden
The Kitchen
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
florence...
1 review
“My opinion”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is great,accommodation average,too highly priced. Facilities were ok well equipped. I noticed dampness in the vestibule,and this was evident by the smell in the kitchen cupboards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Many thanks Florence for bringing our attention to this we shall be contacting the owner regarding this, Elie is a very sought after holiday location and the price is actually quite low compared to others in the same area. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312wync
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Suited our needs perfectly.”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I loved this quirky house and felt as if I were in a time warp. Lots of great old books in the bookcases. Three generations of us all enjoyed the holiday. The furniture was dated but all the bathroom and kitchen fittings were clean and modern. Comfy beds too, I would go back again definitely.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Many thanks for such a lovely review, we know Comely Bank is not everyones cup of tea but some of our guests just absolutely love it, it is like going back in time but as you say everything was clean, we hpe you will come back to visit us again. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyB698
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charming old-fashioned cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at Comely Bank cottage in Elie, Fife, with two friends on a golf holiday. It’s situated literally 100 yards from a lovely sandy beach, 100 yards from a very fine golf course, and 100 yards from the excellent Golf Tavern where one can both eat and drink, and it would, I should imagine, suit just about everyone.
The cottage is old fashioned and has not been modernised, but with its extraordinary collection of 1950s furniture and a wonderful collection of books from the same era, it has considerable charm. It’s perfectly well-equipped for self-catering, and has a double bedroom with en-suite shower, and a twin room.
The communal bathroom however, is very tiny, with not much room to swing..errm..anything, let alone a cat! The bath itself is only about four feet long, so whilst it would be ideal for children, it presented a bit of a problem for an arthriticky old 60+ year old like me! The other interesting feature is that you cannot have a shower if the bath is running, and vice versa, although this hardly represents a problem; you just have to coordinate with your co-dwellers!
All in all, Comely bank is a lovely cottage with pretty much everything you need. It would be ideal for a nuclear family of two adults and two small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Tiny bath
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Many thanks for a lovely review, yes it is quirky, old fashioned but clan and comfortable, so happy you had a lovely break at Comely Bank. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7yearhitc...
Edinburgh
1 review
“Perfect house for two mums and two bairns”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The furniture in this house is pretty old and the agent wondered if we may find it a bit scruffy but it was perfect for us. Two mums and two 10-year-olds who could change out of sandy wet clothes in the porch or even in the front garden (where we kept the dingy). It's always a bonus not to feel too worried about the kids trampling sand through someones house and this was kept to a minimum because of the layout. A very well equipped kitchen meant we had no problems cooking what ever we wanted before all sitting down together around the table. We were lucky with the weather so out most of the time, but when we eventually went home in the evenings, there was the upstairs living room where the kids watched the Commonwealth games while the mums caught up over a wee gin and tonic in the kitchen downstairs.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
What a great review, so happy you both and the boys enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next year. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing