We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As Mary Poppins would say "Practically Perfect in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Treescape Elie

Morning sun lights up the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning sun lights up the house
The west-facing terrace soaks up the sunshine The free flow of light and space between lounge and dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Morning sun lights up the house
The west-facing terrace soaks up the sunshine
The free flow of light and space between lounge and dining room
Wonderfully comfortable lounge. A full Sky package, Blu Ray player and free WiFi throughout
A kitchen designed and equipped for those who love to cook
Elegant dining for up to ten
The beautifully light and spacious master bedroom
A powerful, raindance shower in the master ensuite
The welcoming hallway
The upper hallway; the perfect spot for quiet contemplation
A super king/twin room facing west for wonderful sunsets over the trees
Bespoke solid oak bunk beds with full-size Tempur mattresses. Perfect for kids...
...and adults alike.
A twin room facing east for the morning sun. Can also be a super king.
A super king/twin room downstairs with ensuite shower room, faces east for morning cuppas in the sun
The family bathroom, with bath and large walk-in shower
Kilconqhuar church through the reeds; a lovely 15 minute stroll along a quiet woodland track
Kilconquhar Loch, a SSSI bordering the Elie House estate
A boat, left high and dry above the beach and taken back by nature
Looking towards your neighbour, the magnificent Elie House
An expanse of sand exposed at low tide on Elie Beach
The sun sets over the Elie waterfront, only a ten minute stroll away
The private drive leading to your vacation hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KateDK
USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As Mary Poppins would say "Practically Perfect in Every Way!"”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Except I'd go one further and say perfect in every way.

We returned from a family holiday bringing together six adults and four children. Our stay at Treescape Elie was simply wonderful! From the moment of book to our departure, communications with the owners were extremely easy and prompt. Simon often responded to my questions within a matter of minutes. Upon arrival, we found a wonderful welcome basket full of treats from the Ardross Farm Shop down the street and it was particularly welcome since we arrived a little later than expected due to flight complications. As one point of note, if you are flying in, you may want to stop off at a grocery store before you reach Elie as it really is a village an much closes earlier than we were accustomed to.

The house itself is beautifully appointed in a modern but comfortable style. As a family of tall individuals, it was wonderful to have lounge furniture that was tall enough in the back to sit comfortably and the kids absolutely loved the giant beanbags. The table comfortably seated all of us and everyone had the bed configurations they preferred. Oh...the beds...they were so comfortable! We stayed at three different locations throughout our journey, and Treescape Elie had the most comfortable beds of our trip. It really felt as if we were in a home that we could live in. That extended to the kitchen. Many time, you run into vacation rentals with accessories that are for all intents and purposes "disposable" - knives aren't sharp, flatware is lightweight and mismatched etc. Not here! Everything in the kitchen was of the absolute highest quality and we really appreciated the plasticware for the kids. We LOVED cooking in the kitchen....and that's not necessarily something you say on holiday.

We spent hours exploring the grounds, walking to the beaches, blowing bubbles on the lawn, and really just relaxing. It was exactly what we wanted from a vacation. The neighbors we met from the manor house next door were also very nice and shared a lot of information about the gardens and the area.

The information provided was also very useful given this was our first trip to Scotland and Fife was an excellent choice. We thoroughly enjoyed some of the restaurant recommendations in the welcome information. East Pier Smokehouse in St. Monan was low key but delicious and we all took a night to enjoy Sangster's in Elie. Perhaps two of the most memorable meals of my life.

For those who may be interested in golfing St. Andrews, members of our party did so. It was about a 30 minute drive to the courses in St. Andrews and it was actually a lovely drive. The advantage of Elie was that we got to see so much more of Fife than we would have if we had stayed in St. Andrews proper.

We were all quite sad to leave Treescape Elie. We've done a lot of traveling and have a lot of places we want to see. This is one of the few places we truly want to return to - now we just have to figure out when.

Thanks for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: level of comfort and appointment
Liked least: The combo washer/dryer takes some getting used to
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2014
In a busy first year at Treescape and with lots of lovely reviews, I think this may be just about the nicest we've received! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a considered review. We're particularly pleased that we were able to give you such a favourable first experience of Scotland. We hope it won't be your last!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClydeVall...
Clyde Valley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a family celebration at TREESCAPE in Elie. With contemporary homes or hotels, it is very rare to find form and function in equal measure - treescape handles both of these perfectly! So stylish to look at and so tastefully done, and yet everything is comfortable and easy to use. The setting is magnificent and we were blessed with good enough weather to really enjoy all the outdoor space and grounds. The house inside is beautifully equipped with everything one would need for the perfect stay - the kitchen encouraged us to cook wonderful meals as it is so well appointed. I actually felt quite depressed to go home to my own kitchen!! The downstairs bedroom with en suite was perfect for my elderly parents as they didn't need to climb the stairs and were able to nap and have some privacy. We ate well, slept well, relaxed well - could not have asked for anything more from a holiday property. Treescape is PERFECT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
What can I say? Your review has left us humbled - but very pleased! All along we have tried to create a holiday villa we'd be delighted to stay in ourselves (which, of course, we do!). We've taken care over both the big picture and the little details; the sort of things that make a stay truly memorable. We're so glad you share our belief in going the extra mile. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailie S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday accommodation we've stayed at”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fantastic location and stunning property. Luxury for very reasonable price. Perfect for a group get away. Kitchen has obviously been kitted out by a person who loves to cook. No real negatives!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're particularly pleased that you mentioned the kitchen as that is one of the features we took great care over. And, yes, one of us does love to cook - and I certainly love eating her food! Thanks Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme D
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st Class Luxury Rental Property”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This villa is a real credit to the owners, having hired houses around the country, I must say Treescape in probably the best we’ve been too. In terms of layout, finishing and setting, it is first class.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a larger holiday villa rental in this location, this must be on our shortlist, you will be pushed to find better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review. It's especially pleasing that you rate us so highly when you've stayed in a lot of other holiday properties. We certainly aim to maintain the highest possible standards and measure ourselves against the best on the market.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth s
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Forget going abroad - Elie is the place to be.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Myself and my two friends and our children (ages from 8years to 5years) stayed during our half term break this February. All I can say was that it is one of the best holidays I have ever had. The reasons are below:
The house:
The house can only be described as relaxed luxury - the kitchen is perfectly equipped for the most experienced cooks and bakers (if you so wish). The dining area and living areas have beautiful views over the lovely grounds front and back and our group enjoyed several mornings of filter coffee and warm homemade pancakes. The bedrooms were my favourite rooms in the house due to their large picture windows which offer the most beautiful views. One of my fav parts of the holiday was waking up (at 6am thanks to my daughter) and enjoying a coffee watching the sun come up - the best start to a day ever - we never super with blinds down once! The grounds surrounding property are ideal for children in terms of safety and 'explorability'. We took bikes and scooters and kids loved just running about and playing outside.
The area: being from Fife originally myself may make me a little bias but Elie is really the most beautiful area. We walked each day to Elie beach (totally manageable for kids 3 +) and the kids played in the sand and in rocks and made dens in the long beach grass. We ate in the Ship Inn which is and come highly recommended - there is also an outside seating area where we enjoyed coffee and drambuie while the kids played safely beside us on the beach. The little 'high street' is lovely housing a well stocked deli, gift shop and other eateries etc.
General:
This break was for myself and mummy friends and our kids but I can not think of anyone or group type who would not love this property and have all their needs completely met with the facilities and surrounding area. I have never come back from a break so totally relaxed and contented. Thanks Claire and Simon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
Your words of praise are truly wonderful, thank you. The combination of the village, the beach, the peaceful Elie Estate and the house itself sang to us as soon as we saw Treescape last year. We’re just so glad we can share our lovely home with lovely guests such as yourselves. Suffice to say, you’re welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamKing37
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous home from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Treescape in early November as part of a family birthday celebration. The house is beautiful and decorated to a very high standard. We ate out one night in St Andrews and cooked in another night. The kitchen is well equipped and the open plan design makes it a great home for entertaining. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely and the beds are really comfortable.

The surrounding area is great for exploring and the local Farm Shop became a regular stop off for great local produce and home.

We loved it !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review and we're so glad you had such a good time. Ardross Farm Shop is rather fab isn't it? We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat for business brainstorming”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were a group of colleagues working on our 2014 brand and markeing plans. Treescape offered the perfect accomodation, beds, bedrooms, great meeting space, a creative environment with wonderful natural light and a kitchen space that handled a larger group.

Very well equiped accomodation, very comfortable, easy to use sound system, wonderfully comfortable beds and great bathrooms. The kitchen has everything, you could even bake a cake if you so desired and had the ingredients.

The location is great, plenty of open space for running, walking or just enjoying the views. Only a 5 minute walk to the high street, which meant it felt private, with the benifit of all the local amenities close by.

Loved the key rings, nice touch.

Can't fault it for anything, really enjoyed our stay, wish we had allowed for more time to enjoy the stay more, but it was a business trip, a successful one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super living space, lots of natural light and very well furnished/equiped.
Liked least: Phone connection, but then that was a good thing as well.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Treescape. Interesting to hear that this was a business trip rather than a leisure one. I'm glad however that the house proved just as appealing for work purposes. Certainly the setting and sense of peace and quiet is great for those times when you need space to think and plan. We're really pleased you felt everything you needed was on-hand. Good luck with your marketing plans for the year ahead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing