We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Elie
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Ship Inn at Elie in Fife has long been one of Scotland's most iconic pubs, famous for its great views, stunning location, and even as the only pub in the world to have a cricket team with a pitch on the beach. The owners, Graham and Rachel Bucknall, who also run the Bridge Inn at Ratho (named as AA Pub of the Year in September 2014) purchased the Ship Inn, a pub they both knew very well, in late 2014. After a major 6-month renovation programme, they re-opened a transformed Ship Inn in the summer of 2015. 6 beautiful bedrooms were opened in March 2016. The inn is part of a row of old cottages by the harbour. At its heart is the bar where the comfy chairs and sofas beside the open fires and wood-burning stoves make a welcome sight, especially when it's windy and rainy outside. You are more than welcome just to call in for a coffee, but it's worth stopping longer for a pint, a whisky or a meal in the upstairs restaurant with its views of the bay. The same menu is offered throughout the inn - and if you have your dog with you, he or she is very welcome to join you downstairs - water, treats and even dog beds are provided. The food is of the hearty pub variety, but seafood, locally caught, is high on the menu. Graham and Rachel have also created delightful double and twin bedrooms, all with views of Elie Bay and the Firth of Forth. The Ship Inn is unique in the fact that it has the only cricket team in the UK that plays matches on the beach. From May to September, depending on the tide and after the sand has been rolled flat, the Ship's team hosts matches for other Scottish teams and touring teams from all over the world.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and myself called in for lunch while on holiday I had belly pork which was delicious but very fatty which I’m aware is the cut of meat but I personally felt it was very fatty . My husband had fish and chips and he says it’s the best fish he’s had in a long time . Lovely table in the restaurant overlooking the sea .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank xxxcccbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Group of 8 golfers staying locally, we ate in restaurant twice and bar once. Great location but limited choice of real ales and menu a bit limited and pricey for what you get, although food was good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aaldo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on Wednesday 18 September. While the location is excellent, the food and drink is significantly overpriced. We will go elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank FamiliaDunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dog friendly pub/restaurant (hard not to be in the East Neuk). The restaurant has zero charm or atmosphere, and higher prices than 10 feet away in the more convivial bar area so I'm not sure what constitutes the hike in prices. Bar area food good, seating not so good. Toilet an experience and not for anyone who takes hygiene seriously...a bucket! I hope you didnt pay a design guru for that 'creative' thinking.

Overall the staff are friendly and food is good albeit pricey, but in an area with little to no competition and a full bar every weekend I doubt that will change.

If you want just a drink and a snack in a decent atmosphere for awhile it's perfect. If you want a culinary experience it would be worth exploring St Andrews.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CMAC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was good so can't fault that. Although I will fault the attitude of the manager. We sat in the bar area to eat as the dining room was empty and we wanted a bit of ambiance. We ordered starters, Culin skunk and haggis bon bons, our main courses and drinks. All course we're served at the same time, which is confusing and unclear and nowhere stated on their menu (images attached). The real issue was the manager who said this was standard in a bar, it's not, and that he would put the main courses under a heat lamp while we ate the starters, not what you actually tell customers even if this is the plan. The real kicker was his attitude, as he was curt, rude and unapologetic, he laughed smugly when we queried his statement that this is a bar and we should therefore expect all courses served at once. Basically a totally inappropriate attitude for someone in the service industry, especially a manager. The other waiting staff and the bar staff were clearly uncomfortable with his unappealing approach to customer service and couldn't have been nicer, and, privately to us, apologetic for the managers behaviour. A lovely venue, in a lovely part of the East Neuk with great views, but beware the manager (self identified to us) who needs some basic lessons in how to run a bar restaurant and deal with reasonable customers. In the Ship Inn, the customer is moswt definitely never right!

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank Hiholareviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelBucknall, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am sorry to read of the confusion of the bar food and style being miss communicated on your visit. We are always trying to better the customers experience but I feel we may have fallen down in communication on your visit. We offer a smaller menu in our bar area, and the style is a little different to out full table service restaurant offer.

We have fed back and have put more training in place to ensure that the style of dining in our bar area is explained in full at the point of order. The Manager in question is from from Europe, and I feel that maybe he was picked up in a different way than his intention. We would like to take this time to apologies for the miscommunication on this occasion.

We hope that you will return in the future so that we can restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing