We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip....living like a maharajah”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We trusted our travel agent, Audley, in finding this place for us. It is an enchanting fort, surrounded by a rural village. The couple that run it are charming hosts, she is in the 16th generation of the family owning the fort and gave a most interesting tour of the building, made more personal by the fact that her parents' and grandparents' portraits hang on the walls. The bullock cart ride around the village was so much fun, the locals seem genuinely thrilled to see our faces, and we were happy to make a small donation to the school funds to support education. Very warm and friendly. Our suite was large, enough for a maharajah and although there is lots of atmospheric village noise, this was a very restful stay, welcome after the hubbub of Jaipur and Agra. It is an excellent stopover en route to Udaipur.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 341 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This amazing hotel is right out in the middle of nowhere. The owner is very happy to share some of the family history of this fantastic building and to make you feel very welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the views superb.
The bullock cart right is a real adventure and not the sales trip we feared it might be.
We had a short concert of Indian dance and music which was extremely well done and very entertaining - just long enough. The food was excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Fort offers a cocoon to rest after a long drive.
It's a must step between Jaipur and Chittaurgarh.

The suite's balcony at sunset are charming places to start the evening, followed by superb music and dance shows in the inner courtyard, and a nice dinner.

Hotel staff and management is taking constant care of their guests, and maintains the place warm and pleasant.

Above all, memories about our walk through the village are among our kindest experience in Rajasthan, visiting people and sharing moments with the kids. Thanks to all of them !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPG_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This fort hotel is really in the "middle of nowhere", half way between Jaipur and Udaipur, but for an authentic Indian experience you can't beat it. Once our driver had found the entrance, we were transported into another world - a heritage fort that has been in the same family for 600 years and has only quite recently been transformed into a lovely hotel. We were shown round the entire fort by the owner,and the views from the top of the surrounding village were amazing. The annual village fair was taking place and the music and dancing could easily be heard! Our room (the Queen;s bedroom!) was huge, with a separate sitting room full of lovely antique furniture. We even had own private courtyard with a lovely swing seat. As we were the only visitors that night, we were served dinner in candelight by the swimming pool, which was a nice touch. We would definitely recommend the very reasonably priced massage on offer - two local village people who have been trained in Jaipur and have definitely prefected their techniques (completely differeint to the normal hotel spa experience!) We both felt great afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This beautiful Fort in the middle of rural Rajasthan was an oasis of calm after the busy, noisy cities of India. A very sympathetically renovated building, allowing guests to feel exactly how it was to live in one of these ancient buildings. The staff and family were extremely kind and welcoming. Happy to give us a tour of the whole building at sunset, with magnificent views out over the surrounding countryside from the high battlements and roofs. Wonderful service from the local staff, all of whom were proud to be part of this business. A not to be missed walk into the village at the foot of the Fort was one of the highlights of our trip to India. Such friendly people who clearly enjoyed out visit. A stay at this wonderful Fort is a must on any trip to Rajasthan if the travellar would like to experience 'real' life in rural India.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crichtonmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at fort barli with my family in September. We loved the calm and tranquil environment and the hospitality offered. The staff was very goos and the hosts gave personal attention. towards our comfort. The room we stayed had all luxury facilities and was well furnished. The fort has a wonderful architecture and picturesque views and there were lot many activities for both outdoor and indoor enthusiasts. I loved the massage and also the bullock cart. I highly recommend the property for minimum 2 nights. Do not miss it if you come to Rajasthan

Room Tip: Choose the room with views of the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PilarPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A palace fort in a small village 'off the beaten track' in rural Rajasthan that gives the guest a unique opportunity to see village life while staying in a lovely old fort. The fort is beautifully furnished with lots of places to sit and relax. Small and clean pool for a refreshing dip. The fort is still owned and run by the family who have owned it for generations, the young couple who currently run it spent time with us talking about their philosophy for the hotel. We were impressed that all of the staff are recruited from the village, they were without exception kind and attentive and clearly proud to be part of the hotel team.
Our room was a treat, we had been upgraded to a suite with a huge sitting room complete with tea/coffee making facilities and window seats. Food beautifully prepared, delicious and plentiful at both dinner and breakfast.
An example of the level of attention was the texts before our arrival to ask if we needed help in getting from the station.I had emailed to say that we would only need a light lunch when we arrived - the pakora were ready to be prepared as we arrived.
The absolute highlight was being taken to the village school (sponsered by Fort Barli) on foot, beautiful children and staff who were keen to talk about their work in the school. As we walked through the village we were greeted by smiles. A memory that we will never forget I am sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing