We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”
Review of El Zopilote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Zopilote
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Awesome pizza, awesome time, great staff. Coming Back, for sure!!!! Super affordable and close to Maderas, the volcano, so super easy to hike up there. Since EcoTourism is on a rise this would be my choice of where to start in Nicaragua. Viva Nicaragua, Viva El Zopilote!

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ColdCrushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    78
    43
    28
    20
See reviews for
5
85
147
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wow i learnt so much here, i loved this place and would have stayed longer if it wasnt for the biting insects that were around.

Features
everything is eco: toilets, bathroom, bedrooms, food, kitchen, wifi
all in the middle of a huge garden farm.

They offer free yoga when there is a yoga teacher and have a yoga area, i slept in a hammock and had the time of my life. hammock come with lockers and can get very busy. the hammocks are in a hammock house.

there is wifi for the addicted like me at certain times of day but it isnt reliable so best to write you emails off line then upload.

This place is like an ashram but you dont have to do anything execept what you want all day long. Lighting is until a certain time at night i think it was 10pm and only in certain areas so you need a torch for after dark.

i would go back here

i loved the outdoor showers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelButtefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place is really unique. Beautiful grounds and great lookout tower. However, it was a little lacking in cleanliness. Obviously these are rustic accomodations, but noone ever picked up the shared living area bed clothes. It seemed a little unorganized as far as staff, maybe cause they have short term volunteers? I guess I was just expecting more of an integrated farm experience, and it really is more of a self sufficient hostel. They have lots of products to buy, all a bit expensive. Don't miss pizza night, cause that was amazing and well worth it. Hopefully they will have a yoga teacher hired soon as that was also something we missed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoirF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had been quite excited about staying at Zopilote as I had heard good things from other travellers who had been their previously. I'm not sure whether we just caught the place on an off day but I was a little disappointed in the end.

I had enquired about making a reservation but as it was the high season that was not possible. When we arrived we were told there was a room available - it ended up being a small hut above where a number of hammocks are strung. There was no rubbish bin in the room, the sheets we were given didn't fit the bed so they kept coming off any time we moved and they were still fairly wet which didn't make more a pleasant nights sleep. There was also a number of dirty tissues lying on top of the mosquito net.

In the morning I was excited to try all of the homemade bread and hummous I had heard a lot about but this wasn't available which was a shame. We ended up moving down the road to Little Morgans where we had a great room and enjoyed our stay.

I don't mind staying in basic places at all, but whether it was a one of or not our room was dirty and I'm not a fan of that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ometepezopilote, Proprietario at El Zopilote, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
i am sorry for the room....yes, i hight season is not possible to reserve because as you know El Zopilote is a Hostel and the guest of a hostel dont say when they leave ....i mean, we know when the people arrive but we dont know when the people leave because the people dont say to us....all the others hostels around here ( including Morgan ) have the same rule....i reccommend Totoco Ecolodge or Finca Del Sol or Finca Via Verde if you want to reserve...of course those places are more expencive.....
i am sorry you found the room dirty: sometimes appen, i hight season we have 30 people under roofs and more than 10 in camping and is very difficult to take care of everything. Sorry again.
About the bread i think that you could wait a little bit more....we are a small ecobusisness and is impossible to have all the products at the same time because we have smalls productions and we suppose that guests understand it . Usually the bread is ready at 11.30 am , so before checkout .
time......
You did well to go from Morgan , maybe you where this kind of guest that prefer Morgan Lake Resort ( i immagine that the rooms from morgan are nicer and cleaner but also double expencive of el Zopilote)....El Zopilote and Morgan are 2 places completely different even if we are both hostels....we are a eco farm/hostel, Morgan is a party/pooltable Hostel with Big screen tv with sports going on all day.....in All zopilote we dont have a TV....we prefer conversation.Thanks Cristiano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Most of the best memories I have of living on Ometepe Island were at El Zopilote. I had accommodation elsewhere but kept finding myself frequently visiting and deciding to sleep over, especially on Pizza Night! The best pizza in Nicaragua, handmade and baked in a traditional oven with mostly local produce to spicy perfection! The handmade chocolate is very pure and very addictive, so beware.

Zopilote has a nack of attracting some of the most interesting travellers and volunteers so if you are travelling solo it is a great way to make fun and adventurous friends. Some of the best choose to stay and volunteer for long periods of time. It is a very inspirational place and there is so much to learn.

Although there are a few romantic cabanas to rent that have a lovely treehouse feel to them, I also loved sleeping in the hammocks outside, and waking up to the crazy sights and sound of the jungle all around. I was there all year round and I found that the most lush, picturesque and turbulent time of year to visit is during the rainy season.

El Zopilote is a totally secluded paradise! I will always long to be back.

Room Tip: I found the Iguana to be a really romantic little cabana for two, and its also perfect for a solo tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummywakame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We bought the organic honey and it is the best in CA! We use honey for coffee so we search for good organic honey. Zopilote has the best we have ever had. Check them out in their cool bus.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

El Zopilote is a marvellous spot in the middle of an unspoiled jungle in Ometepe Island.
It is the perfect place to relax,meet people,have fun,learn things,play with nature and eat the best organic food ever!!! Don't miss the Pizza Night ,three times a week...baked in a real wood-oven,it is something you won't easily forget!
To die for:bread,homemade hummus,jams,nutella,honey,tomato sauce and moreeeeee!!!!!(you can buy them at the shop!)
The cabanas are nice and comfortable, as well are the dorm and the hammocks...the sky is always full of stars and the nature around is so green and so powerful!
Try the Japanise Shower! So wild!!!!
Cristiano, Daniele and Bruno,the owners,are nice and helpful,always happy to give the right suggestions and all the staff at El Zopilote is a lot of fun!
If you travel on a budget you can also work at the finca! Ask at the reception for details!
Don't forget to have a tour of the Bus Shop at the entrance of the finca! It's supercool!
I really had a great time at El Zopilote!
I'll be back very soon,
Fxxx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flucherini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 6 in Balgue
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Zopilote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Zopilote

Property: El Zopilote
Address: from Madronal 300m south, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe 044, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Zopilote is a permaculture farm/hostel. We have hammock, dormitory, and rooms. We have a organic restaurant serving Nica and Italian food (like handmade pastas, lasagnas, fettuccine, melanzane alla parmigiana) open at breakfat, lunch and dinner tevery day and 3 nights a week we have pizza night ,cooked in wood-bricks oven.In the reception we sell food and organic product hand made here.The land is completely planted with fruit trees, bananos and much more...Our goal is to be 100% sustainable. We have a look out tower where you can see the Volcanos and the farm. We organize tour to both volcanoes, horseback riding, spanish lessons, yoga classes (free), ceramic, bread and bees courses and there is free WI-FI 24h and free filtered water. You can work with us in the permaculture garden and in the work shop and learn something nice (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Zopilote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Zopilote Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing