We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
British Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

All of the good things previously written apply for us as well. This was a magical little place. The first night we stayed in the Orchid Loft because both casitas were booked. One entire wall is wide open to the night air, the night sounds and the enormous view of Concepcion Volcano and its cap of clouds. The bed is beautifully done with a combination canopy/mosquito netting that Sheri made with lovely indian cotton. The ambience is really indescribable as you sit side by side with your honey, in twin rocking chairs, looking out over the Ometepe forest and mountains. The next night we moved to one of the little casitas for 2 nights. It too was charmingly done and very private. It is amazing what Sheri and Cristiano have created here--they are tremendously imaginative and hard-working. I felt like a kid in a fairy tale here and that is a very nice feling.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    67
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
254
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Sheri and Cristiano are amazing! They have single-handedly built an oasis on a working farm in one of the most beautiful locations either my girlfriend and I have ever visited!

The food and company is amazing! As another reviewer said, it feels like staying with family.

I can't recommend Finca Del Sol enough - we will be back someday soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

What and amazing spot! We spent 9 days at Finca del Sol with our wonderful hosts Sheri and Cristiano and enjoyed every minute of it. Our cozy little hut was a great place to return to after long days of adventure! We spent our days hiking to the breath taking lookout and waterfall and kayaked on the lake and down a beautiful river filled with hundreds of birds and even some monkeys.
What made our trip most memorable was our hosts. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and became friends by the end of our visit.
The great food and company made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Finca Del Sol. Great food, great hospitality, great little hut to stay in, great scenery, and a wonderful, relaxing time on an organic farm with two fantastic people. Our time with Sheri and Cristiano felt like visiting friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. We climbed each volcano and they helped with guides and taxis to Concepcion (you leave right from your room to climb Maderas) as well as taxis to and from the port. We ate with them each night because the food was so great. They made us lunches for our climbs and accomodated every need. Our room was nice and private, great breeze to keep it cool, solar powered, great drinkable water and very cozy. The walk to the beach is very short and Santa Cruz with various services is right there. We highly recomend Finca del Sol!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpudTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osseo wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed with Sheri and Cristiano at Finca Del Sol for 5 days. Their facility is very clean and very comfortable. We stayed in the Loft and awoke each day with a magnificent view of the volcano Conception. Cristiano's earthen oven produces the finest loaves of homemade bread and some of the tastiest pizza's you will ever encounter. FDS is close to most of the best day trip locations on the island. The little village of Santa Cruz is a 5 minute walk, and the beach is a 10 minute walk. There are many hiking trails nearby and the surrounding forest has a fair number of monkeys, parrots etc. Sheri can arrange any day trips you might want to pursue. Sheri and Cristiano are very friendly people and were perfect hosts. They seem more like good friends. We highly recommend FDS for anyone looking for an original Nicaraguan experience in a clean and friendly setting
jim and Geri.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stringbean70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at this finca and during our month travel in Nicaragua this place was one of the most inspiring. Christiano and Sheri traveled around the world and made this place their home. Built almost everything themselves (even their oven, where Christiano bakes his famous pizza's, crunchy and crispy as a good Italian pizza should be). You can have diner with (some walk uphill) them and enjoy the environment where the sheep and dogs walk and you have a good view over the volcano. This part of Omotepe is realy rural (almost no cars), horses, cows and peolpe washing their clothes in the river. If you want to escape the crowd and feel like a guacho this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.4 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 37 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca del Sol

Property: Finca del Sol
Address: 350 meters from the beach, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is pleased to offer private, spacious, eco friendly cabins in peaceful surroundings ! Our property is 12.5 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the tropical dry forest within the national reserve. Here you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless.The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathrooms. Two have hot water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our cabins are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and huge selection of films in English, Spanish and Italian, night light, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and 100% solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. We organize tours up both volcanoes, horseback riding and massages for our guests, as well as put them in contact with other local activities. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like an Mediterranean omelet, homemade bread and fresh tropical fruit salad. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. We are centrally located in the village of Santa Cruz, within walking distance to 13 small restaurants and bicycle rentals. We are steps away from the trail to Volcano Madaras, and 10 minutes walk from the sandy beach. We are on the public bus route making it easy to get around for all your explorations.If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing