We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting on beautifull Omotepe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 4 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at this finca and during our month travel in Nicaragua this place was one of the most inspiring. Christiano and Sheri traveled around the world and made this place their home. Built almost everything themselves (even their oven, where Christiano bakes his famous pizza's, crunchy and crispy as a good Italian pizza should be). You can have diner with (some walk uphill) them and enjoy the environment where the sheep and dogs walk and you have a good view over the volcano. This part of Omotepe is realy rural (almost no cars), horses, cows and peolpe washing their clothes in the river. If you want to escape the crowd and feel like a guacho this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Finca del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

I was dismayed when first contacting Finca del Sol, as they were booked, but remarkably, Sheri emailed me and had a last minute cancellation for the days my husband and I were to be on Ometepe.

What luck!

Both Sheri and Cristiano are amazing hosts and couldn't be any more welcoming. The accommodations are spaced far enough apart to afford plenty of privacy.

The bungalows are kept in excellent and clean condition. The windows are fully screened and great for the cool night breeze to lull you to sleep. (Though it was so quiet, it took this city girl a bit getting used to!)

If you're looking for a quiet retreat, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I live in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, and we were looking for a great place to go for Valentine's Day Weekend. We read the reviews for Hotel Finca del Sol, and decided that this was the place for us. We definitely picked the right place! The owners Sheri and Crisitano are very welcoming, and they did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.

We really enjoyed the private, relaxed feel of the hotel. We had excellent views of the lake and the volcano from our cabin, and we were only a short walk from the beach and many other activities. Sheri was more than willing to help plan and schedule any activity we wanted to do, and Crisitano made the most delicious food!

We also got to meet two other couples staying there, and it was fun to relax and talk at dinner and hear about what everyone else did that day. It was a truly memorable experience, and we highly recommend staying at Hotel Finca del Sol if you are planning a trip to Ometepe.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I have been living in Costa Rica now for almost 6months. When we decided to visit Nicaragua the choice of where to go seemed automatic, Ometepe. We started to look into places to stay and many seemed quite nice but something spoke to me about the reviews I read on trip advisor about Finca del Sol. My wife and I are very interested in sustainable living. The thought of staying in a hotel off the grid felt very exciting to us and spoke to our deeper values. The pictures looked enchanting and the idea of staying on an intentional farm and having organic food cooked for us by the owners sounded perfect. We admitedly went into the experience with high hopes and I have to say that our experience exceeded our expectations. What many of the other reviews don't tell you is how intimate the whole experience is. You are staying on a working piece of land. We woke up to a heard of sheep nibbling on our grass. There are actually very few place to stay here. From our porch we could hardly see the only other cabin. What we could see was the second volcano during the day and the lake's horizon peeking over the tree line. In the night we saw deepest and most brilliant night sky with stars disapearing into the trees on either side.

The solar power worked great and the room was charming with an artist's touch. The composting toilets were a bit intimidating but added to the overall experience and Sheri and cristiano were very warm and helpful. In terms of the location, the hike up the mountain is well worth it, there are good restaurants within walking distance, but the beach was a little disapointing, but actually now thinking about it not too bad for a lake, just don't expect the pacific.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The only negative about our stay at Finca del Sol was that we made the mistake of limiting ourselves to two nights. To start, Sheri and Cristiano are amazingly warm and welcoming hosts. It is quite obvious that they love what they are doing and I consider myself fortunate that I could be part of it for a time.

We stayed in the cabin La Luna which was spacious, airy and very clean. The view of the lake and the rest of Ometepe was gorgeous.

Both days we were there we shared breakfast and dinner with Sheri, Cristiano and the other guests. Every meal that we were served was superb and the intimate feel of sharing dinner at the same table as the owners and other guests was highly memorable. Should you stay at Finca del Sol do not pass up this opportunity.

Sheri and Cristiano were also happy to book a guide for us on very short notice to climb Volcan Maderas. The hike up the volcano from Finca del Sol is rigorous yet beautiful highly rewarding.

I would recommend that you take the taxi from Moyogalpa to Finca del Sol instead of the bus. While much more expensive ($25USD I think) than the bus, the time saved can be much better used to enjoy your stay on Ometepe. I will definitely return to Finca del Sol should I ever find myself on Ometepe again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NColo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Set at the base of Maderas Volcano and only a short walk from the lake shore, Sheri and Cristiano found a diamond in the rough when they bought this property. Working in harmony with the land, they have built two wonderful casitas with a beautiful view of the lake and Concepcion Volcano. A short stroll along a winding path brings you to further up the hill to their home where they prepare delicious meals and treat you like the best of friends. Lots of great suggestions help to make your trip even more enjoyable as you explore this amazing slice of paradise. We had such a great experience hiking, biking, kayaking and just plain relaxing. Our hosts really helped us to enjoy this part of our trip and we highly recommend Hotel Finca del Sol if you are thinking of visiting Ometepe.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

hosts were lively and i enjoyed having meals with them in their home and eating with the other guests. a really good vibe.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtle515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca del Sol

Address: | 350 m. East of the Crossroads in Santa cruz, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $40 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is a lodge on the foothills of Volcano Madaras, near beach, hiking and restaurants. We are Eco-friendly with off grid power (no blackouts) and dry composting toilets. Bungalow with orthepedic mattress, mosquito netting, private bathroom with hot water, fans, screened, DVD player and purified drinking water with incredible sunset views of volcano & lake. Located in the tropically forested UNESCO Biosphere Reserve (wildlife) we offer a comfortable and private lodging experience. Our property is 13 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the UNESCUO Biosphere Reserva you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless. We are located just after the split in Santa Cruz! This is a growing tourist hub for the island and offers many restaurants, motorbike rentals and is close proximity from the beach and kite-boarding school. If you choose to hike - Maderas Volcano begins from our back yard. Finca del Sol is also located in the tropical dry forest and a perfect place from which to explore the Maderas side of the island - where you can find kyack trips up the river Istain, ride a horse or explore forests/jungle, fauna and flora. The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathroom with hot water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our bungalows are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and selection of films in English, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. We organize tours up both volcanoes, horseback riding and massages for our guests, as well as put them in contact with other local activities. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like an Mediterranean omelet, homemade bread and fresh tropical fruit salad. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing