We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lots of mosquitos”
Review of Little Morgan's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Morgan's
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good value, staff were helpful, and the food was pretty good (although I did not eat much) They also had some really cute pets around. The main thing I didn't like about the place is all of the flies and mosquitos. It's probably mostly a result of the area, but it was still unpleasant. Beds had mosquito nets, but flies and mosquitos still somehow managed to get through. I do not understand if this is a party hostel why did they turn off the lights when we were still eating, that was pretty rude.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielaodiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Amazing hostel, most importantly run by some of the most awesome people you can meet. was lucky enough to meet 3 generations of morgan. and juan and the guys helped us in everyway possible, stayed there for 2 weeks and made a chess set. not just a drinking hostel, you can enjoy whatever you want. and if you love animals its perfect, two puppys, and a hammock loving dog plus newborn kittens a cat and alan and bojangles the parrots! thanks for being so welcoming guys! cant wait to go back! Max and Jonathan, the english guys.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxGregoriou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I thought this place was great if you like to party. There was a South African guy at the front desk who was a stellar dude and super helpful! The dude from Melbourne on the other hand needs to lighten up! He was so rude, not helpful, pretentious and should not work at a front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anielleday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at this place with some other travelers in a private cabin. Good value, staff were helpful, and the food on offer was pretty good. They also had some cute pets around. The main thing I didn't like about the place is all of the flies and bugs. It's probably mostly a result of the area, but it was still unpleasant. Little bugs completely lined the coffee cups in the morning -- couldn't get myself to drink from them. Beds had mosquito nets, but a bunch of flies still somehow managed to get through.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here in June 2013. It was recommended by several people along the way in addition to a few friends from back home. To my surprise the owner grew up around the corner from me.

Now to the review. The place is amazing when you first walk in. The rooms I stayed in weren't anything to write home about but there were others that looked a lot cleaner out behind the bar. Great place to meet other travellers, despite the other reviews only a few were the party animal type. Met lots of people over my three days who had been travelling for over half a year, loads of stories to tell.

The food was top quality, especially the vegetarian options. Whether its breakfast or a hangover cure, always something to satisfy.

During the day there are always people looking to do half day or full day trips so you will never be stuck for something to do. The staff were very helpful and great craic! Danger mouse (who was only a puppy) was always the centre of attention.

The night life in the hostel was seriously good fun. The staff will usually partake in the games later in the night. Did the challenge (you need a day or two recovery).

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms out behind the bar, they're quieter, easier to get to when you're stumb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane_Levins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I loved little Morgans! Best time in Nicaragua full stop. The crew are spot on and the place is great. Funky, jungle feel esp with the parrots! Owners are good ppl and there's always something fun goin on. Party place with a friendly atmosphere. Take me back!! Sophie :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

First of all - i didnt sleep there. when we arrived there was no room anymore BUT we just loved the place so much, that we were there every evening just to hang out at the bar and get some beer. We stayed in two other places in Sta Cruz, and checked one more, Morgan was the best, with the best ambience. However since promoted in LonelyPlanet - permanently full of "free-spirits", maybe try to do some reservation? we regreted so much we didnt get the room. The staff is awesome too. the owner and his adventures with the cows are legendary. dark, smoky and full of music. i went up, to see the dorms and also seemed cool. no tents allowed though. enjoy it to the full, pitty we couldnt;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#2 of 61 in Isla de Ometepe
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#2 of 3 in Balgue
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Morgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Morgan's

Address: Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $6 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Morgan's is a beautiful place on the lake. With a range of accommodation options from private casitas to dormitories it can accommodate any kind of traveller. The unique natural style of the buildings makes this place feel like an island paradise. A bar and restaurant with pool table is open until late with great food and fun times. The mirador is an amazing place to relax and watch the sunset over the volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Morgan`s Hotel Santa Cruz
Little Morgan's Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing