We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, fun place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Morgan's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Morgan's
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, fun place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a load of fun here with a good mix of travelers and the great staff and owner. A great place to chill, party, explore; whatever you're after. Perhaps ask for a room away from the bar or tower hangout spot if you're keen on an early night :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briffaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    41
    19
    25
    24
See reviews for
4
45
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a great place! The people who work there are awesome, the people who stay there are awesome, too, and Little Morgan's has a great network of small local businesses and other people who live on the island. Alexi is a great guide for the volcanos. He speaks a lot of English, too. In addition, there is a guy from Balgue, Raul, who sells handmade jewelry from seeds, amber, and stones found on the island, as well as earrings he makes from silver wire. They are less expensive than a lot of the other artisanos. I make it a point to buy something (usually more than one thing) from him every time I see him, and I noticed that other people who visit the island more than once do this, too! He usually sets up his jewelry stand in the bar at Morgan's in the evening, around the time of dinner service. Finally, if you are planning to stay there a while and would like to volunteer, there is a volunteer English school located in the community building known as "the house of Thomas Fritz." There is a great group of students who are very enthusiastic about learning English, but who need a teacher. There are few materials for the class which you can pick up from Alexi, one of the volcano tour guides who you can find at Morgan's. Tips: bring bug spray if you use it, you are in the woods, and suntan lotion, and portable baby wipes (they have plenty of tp at Morgan's, but this will come in handy in other locations in Nicaragua, where tp frequently is not provided in public restrooms), and a flashlight! Also, although the food at Morgan's is good, if you are looking to eat out, there is a great restaurant called "Cafe Campestre" (Country Kitchen), which is owned by an ex-pat from England. It is located in Balgue, about 30-40 mins easy walk down the road from Morgan's. The veggies are grown on an organic farm and the food is delicious and inexpensive. There is a little Pulperia next door, too, in case you want to purchase a drink for the walk back. The owner's name of the Pulperia is Nuvia. If you are looking at Cafe Campestre, then the Pulperia is to the left. Finally, Nuvia makes pinatas, in addition to other handmade artisan things, including jewelry (she has been making such things since before there were many tourists on the island), and I thought she would be a good person to commission to make a mask or costume for one of Morgan's many themed costume parties! Tell her Sheri sent you! Ometepe is a magical place, Enjoy! Finally, finally, there is a charming Catholic church with a welcoming community in Balgue. The masses are usually 4:30p.m. on Saturday. Sometimes there are other masses, but not always. OK, one or two more things: take an evening to watch the sun set with a beverage or a smoke in your hand while wading in the lake. You have to walk over rocks until you get to where the surface of the lake is smooth sand, but it is worth it. You will watch the sun set behind Volcan Concepcion to the right, and you will see the silhouette of Volcan Maderas to your left. You can't see this unless you wade out into the lake and the temperature of the water is great! And then, take some time out of an evening to go to the top of the Mirador, a lookout tower. There are a bunch of hammocks on the second floor (the first floor is dorm beds in what appears to be a tree house), and a cool area to sit and look at the volcanos and the lake on the third floor.

Room Tip: If there are four or more of you, or if you can join together with other people so that there are fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trusty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We'd heard many great things about Little Morgan's from other travellers on our way south to Nicaragua so had high expectations of the place. We were not disappointed.

The staff at the hostel are what really make it a great place to stay. Annette, Jack, Tom and Jaz are all on hand to make your stay unforgettable. They are the most welcoming and accommodating group of people I've ever met in a hostel. Morgan, the owner is also on hand to help and is really friendly and clearly dedicated to ensuring that guests are happy and having a good time.

The hostel has a really great vibe. It's in it's own little area near Santa Cruz and has a jungle lodge feel to it. Of course being in the jungle you get your fair share of creepy crawlies but this just adds to the fun.

We stayed in the room above the bar and were warned that the music plays until 3am but we never had any problem sleeping. The beds were comfy and clean.

A special mention has to go to the lady who works in the kitchen. The food at Little Morgan's is really tasty and its a great opportunity to chat to your fellow travellers.

Overall I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Ometepe. If you're looking for a great experience with some great people head to Little Morgan's and get your party shoes on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMulligan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We'd heard many great things about Little Morgan's from other travellers on our way south to Nicaragua so had high expectations of the place. We were not disappointed.

The staff at the hostel are what really make it a great place to stay. Annette, Jack, Tom and Jaz are all on hand to make your stay unforgettable. They are the most welcoming and accommodating group of people I've ever met in a hostel. Morgan, the owner is also on hand to help and is really friendly and clearly dedicated to ensuring that guests are happy and having a good time.

The hostel has a really great vibe. It's in it's own little area near Santa Cruz and has a jungle lodge feel to it. Of course being in the jungle you get your fair share of creepy crawlies but this just adds to the fun.

We stayed in the room above the bar and were warned that the music plays until 3am but we never had any problem sleeping. The beds were comfy and clean.

A special mention has to go to the lady who works in the kitchen. The food at Little Morgan's is really tasty and its a great opportunity to chat to your fellow travellers.

Overall I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Ometepe. If you're looking for a great experience with some great people head to Little Morgan's and get your party shoes on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMulligan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at Morgan's place, the staff were awesome and the bar and surroundings are great. But if you stay here you have to realise that it is almost as basic as it gets, so don't come with hopes of a luxury hostel. But that is what ometepe is so you just have to roll with it.

Good location, great staff, awesome meals, cheap drinks, social atmosphere, really cheap, and good info on stuff to do in the area meant we had a great stay.

The main negative I have to mention is thefts. There was one night when some money got nicked from ppls dorms, which sucked. The staff know about it, and were really helpful and even reimbursed one girl who lost a fair bit. But you have to be super careful with your stuff. It's difficult to secure because of the way the property is, but if you take precautions you'll be fine. And before ppl draw conclusions, everyone thought it was a local Nicaraguan, and it turned out to be an American traveller who left the island after the island after he got caught robbing in another hotel. A couple more lockers on te rooms would be a good start.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubbURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great time at Little Morgan's. The staff was very friendly and the grounds are beautiful and full of butterflies. There are also a pig, kitten, and a couple dogs around. We stayed on the bottom of what is essentially a 3-story treehouse, where the second floor has a hammock and the top floor has a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and attentive, and LIttle Morgan is a great guy who really cares about his guests. It's also a relatively easy bike ride to Ojo de Agua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisheatsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Little Morgan's is a fun hostel with a lot of charm. It's located right on the lake with a great view of both the volcanoes. There's plenty of stuff to do in the vicinity of the hostel, and the friendly staff will happily help you out.

Their menu is a bit pricey, but the dinner special they do every night is really tasty and pretty big. A really nice hostel, just remember to bring plenty of cash, as nothing around accepts card.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotforgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Cruz Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#1 of 2 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Morgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Morgan's

Property: Little Morgan's
Address: Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Morgan's is a beautiful place on the lake. With a range of accommodation options from private casitas to dormitories it can accommodate any kind of traveller. The unique natural style of the buildings makes this place feel like an island paradise. A bar and restaurant with pool table is open until late with great food and fun times. The mirador is an amazing place to relax and watch the sunset over the volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Morgan`s Hotel Santa Cruz
Little Morgan's Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing