We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel”
Review of Little Morgan's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Morgan's
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We'd heard many great things about Little Morgan's from other travellers on our way south to Nicaragua so had high expectations of the place. We were not disappointed.

The staff at the hostel are what really make it a great place to stay. Annette, Jack, Tom and Jaz are all on hand to make your stay unforgettable. They are the most welcoming and accommodating group of people I've ever met in a hostel. Morgan, the owner is also on hand to help and is really friendly and clearly dedicated to ensuring that guests are happy and having a good time.

The hostel has a really great vibe. It's in it's own little area near Santa Cruz and has a jungle lodge feel to it. Of course being in the jungle you get your fair share of creepy crawlies but this just adds to the fun.

We stayed in the room above the bar and were warned that the music plays until 3am but we never had any problem sleeping. The beds were comfy and clean.

A special mention has to go to the lady who works in the kitchen. The food at Little Morgan's is really tasty and its a great opportunity to chat to your fellow travellers.

Overall I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Ometepe. If you're looking for a great experience with some great people head to Little Morgan's and get your party shoes on.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMulligan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We'd heard many great things about Little Morgan's from other travellers on our way south to Nicaragua so had high expectations of the place. We were not disappointed.

The staff at the hostel are what really make it a great place to stay. Annette, Jack, Tom and Jaz are all on hand to make your stay unforgettable. They are the most welcoming and accommodating group of people I've ever met in a hostel. Morgan, the owner is also on hand to help and is really friendly and clearly dedicated to ensuring that guests are happy and having a good time.

The hostel has a really great vibe. It's in it's own little area near Santa Cruz and has a jungle lodge feel to it. Of course being in the jungle you get your fair share of creepy crawlies but this just adds to the fun.

We stayed in the room above the bar and were warned that the music plays until 3am but we never had any problem sleeping. The beds were comfy and clean.

A special mention has to go to the lady who works in the kitchen. The food at Little Morgan's is really tasty and its a great opportunity to chat to your fellow travellers.

Overall I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Ometepe. If you're looking for a great experience with some great people head to Little Morgan's and get your party shoes on.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMulligan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at Morgan's place, the staff were awesome and the bar and surroundings are great. But if you stay here you have to realise that it is almost as basic as it gets, so don't come with hopes of a luxury hostel. But that is what ometepe is so you just have to roll with it.

Good location, great staff, awesome meals, cheap drinks, social atmosphere, really cheap, and good info on stuff to do in the area meant we had a great stay.

The main negative I have to mention is thefts. There was one night when some money got nicked from ppls dorms, which sucked. The staff know about it, and were really helpful and even reimbursed one girl who lost a fair bit. But you have to be super careful with your stuff. It's difficult to secure because of the way the property is, but if you take precautions you'll be fine. And before ppl draw conclusions, everyone thought it was a local Nicaraguan, and it turned out to be an American traveller who left the island after the island after he got caught robbing in another hotel. A couple more lockers on te rooms would be a good start.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubbURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great time at Little Morgan's. The staff was very friendly and the grounds are beautiful and full of butterflies. There are also a pig, kitten, and a couple dogs around. We stayed on the bottom of what is essentially a 3-story treehouse, where the second floor has a hammock and the top floor has a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and attentive, and LIttle Morgan is a great guy who really cares about his guests. It's also a relatively easy bike ride to Ojo de Agua.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fisheatsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Little Morgan's is a fun hostel with a lot of charm. It's located right on the lake with a great view of both the volcanoes. There's plenty of stuff to do in the vicinity of the hostel, and the friendly staff will happily help you out.

Their menu is a bit pricey, but the dinner special they do every night is really tasty and pretty big. A really nice hostel, just remember to bring plenty of cash, as nothing around accepts card.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotforgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights based on recommendations from people met on my travels. We wanted to climb volcano de conception and stay somewhere we could have a bit of a drink also. The staff were very friendly and took care of all our needs, like making fresh coffee for us at 4.45am before our trek.

Rooms were basic and there's lots of bugs but that's to be expected when you're staying in the forest! Great area for chilling and watching the sunset onthe treehouse dorm.

Word of advice: the power rum challenge is serious business! There's 4 shots per drink and the mixer is like rocket fuel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChandyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As a solo traveler and more an observer than an all-out participator, it took me a bit to get into the swing of things at Little Morgan's: but after that, everything was pretty good. I arrived fully aware of the rustic and party-hostel reputation of LM. The former I found to be overstated; if you've ever gone camping in your life and not hated it, you'll be quite at home. As for the latter - I stayed up drinking the three nights I was there, but not nearly as late as a lot of people did, and certainly did not feel obligated to stay up til 4am. I wouldn't recommend the dorms right above the bar if night-sleep is what you're into, but the casita I was assigned was farthest from the bar (toward the road) and you'd have no idea there was a party going on from there. I have a really hard time sleeping in general, so it was really nice laying on the hammock on the casita's front porch at 6am watching the morning rain come down.

During the day, the friendly young staff was more than happy to arrange any activities guests were interested in (so if anyone tells you that you can't go to LM's and also go hiking or rent a motorcycle, they're lying) and really seemed as though they wanted everyone to enjoy themselves. Morgan was awesome and full of stories and information, and Little Morgan himself may well be one of the coolest kids you meet on your trip. You won't be able to cook for yourself, and the menu might be a wee bit pricey compared to other places in Nicaragua (but nothing compared to, say, SJDS or Granada) but I still managed to come out under budget. Also, if you're willing to break the backpacker budget for a night, I reeeeeally recommend going up to El Zopilote for their pizza night. So good.

I mentioned that I had stayed at Little Morgan's to quite a few people on the road who were heading south, and many responded with, "Oh, that's the party hostel, right?" which I found to be a bit unfair. It's one of those places that can be whatever you expect it to be. If you're the type who enjoys a sprint of relaxation and socialization in the jungle from time to time, you'll probably have a great time. My stay at Little Morgan's was brief but memorable; who knows if I'll ever go back down the Nicaragua way, but I'll be sure to recommend it to anyone else heading that direction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megelizah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#2 of 61 in Isla de Ometepe
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#2 of 3 in Balgue
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Morgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Morgan's

Address: Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $6 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Morgan's is a beautiful place on the lake. With a range of accommodation options from private casitas to dormitories it can accommodate any kind of traveller. The unique natural style of the buildings makes this place feel like an island paradise. A bar and restaurant with pool table is open until late with great food and fun times. The mirador is an amazing place to relax and watch the sunset over the volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Morgan`s Hotel Santa Cruz
Little Morgan's Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing