We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Ranked #1 of 7 Altagracia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited in December and found this to be a lovely spot. With the beach to the front and a fantastic view of the mountain in back, great sights are all around. The rooms are nicely done and well kept. The food was very good with enough variety for our stay of 4 nights. The staff was very helpful arranging a hike up the mountain, bicycles, walking etc. but with the beach, hammocks, and a regular breeze, much of our group was very happy with less strenuous pursuits. It's a great place to just relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    60
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
72
125
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed two nights in late December 2013 and were not disappointed. The spot is a relatively remote beach, but there are multiple ways around the island (we used Nicaragua Adventures). The restaurant served individually prepared fresh fish, chicken and beef and the breakfasts (esp the pancakes and gallo pinto) were equally outstanding. The newer rooms featured tile and all have character. Nature is everywhere and the views of the beach and the volcanoes are dramatic. We agree that this is the place by which others on the island should be measured and, while rustic, it is first class (especially the people).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreyMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a nice spot! there are great outdoor spaces all over from lakeside with breeze to hammocks overlooking a small wetland with wading birds. the rooms are homey, the staff super friendly and food good. there's a reasonable amount of wildlife right on the property. the location relative to Altagracia and to the Madera Volcano part of the Island is good too.

Room Tip: we had family in several different rooms and all had their good sides. the rooms are a bit dark over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Finca San Juan for three nights in January 2014. We rented one of the Lakeside cabins, which are brand new and in a nice setting. It was also nice to see Howler monkeys near-by. The part we were less excited about was the restaurant. The Finca is rather remote and without your own transportation you have to rely getting food on site. Breakfast is included in the price. We had the continental, which includes tea or coffee, yogurt, granola and fruit. The breakfast was tasty, but the portions small. And unfortunately they ran out of everything on the last day and we were given a small bowl of cheerios and milk. Given that the price is listed at USD 7, this seems a bit over the top. Same with the dinner. For USD 10 you get a small portion of pasta with pesto and the USD 12 veggie dish turned out as a few slices of veggies, plantain chips and refried beans. While the setting is nice, overall the hotel seemed overpriced to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The spot is wonderful, despite a bit rough access, and the hotel is still under development. Probably, in a few years time I am sure it will become a reference not only in the island but in Nicaragua. Maybe, it is the most expensive hotel to stay at in the island but it is worth. The owners have bet for an original quality product but they should be a bit more careful with some details. For instance, the breakfast is included in the price BUT you have to choose either coffee OR juice (if not, you pay $2 extra, same for french toasts) which, in my view, it is a bit miserable for an intended luxury location (on top of that they gave us two small frozen bread buns for three people and a small jar of coffee). It would be better and easier if they could offer a generous breakfast buffet, as such you will avoid the slow service. Another example, the room service needs to improve since when we checked in there was a used soap bar in the shower. And despite Wifi access was offered free it was not working out (maybe it is not their fault). The restaurant is reasonable for having dinner just one night, the menu is very very limited and there are other more interesting options in the island. All in all, the cabin we stayed at was perfect but the question of little details can downgrade an opinion from excellent to very good.

Room Tip: Choose definitively a cabin facing the lake. No moskitoes at all and an impressive starry sky at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesusin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If there was a way to do 4.5 stars on Tripadvisor I probably wouldn't give FSJDEI a full 5 but since that isn't an option, I'll err on the side of being generous. This Finca has a great vibe. It's truly a lovely spot. Several members of my party are serious birders and we had a "casita" that overlooked a wetlands area. Every AM we'd gather back there and watch the birds. I think we spotted at least 20 different species. It was an ever-changing and always entertaining nature show. And speaking of nature, we had a troop of howler monkeys come right past our casita one morning which was just wonderful.

The rooms themselves are quite small and unadorned. There are no closets, no place to hang anything and space to unpack your suitcase is limited. We didn't spend much time in our rooms and for sleeping, it was fine - the aircon worked, the beds were comfortable and the hot water was hot.

The beach is nice with comfy and shady places to sit and lounge - perfect for relaxing. The location is a perfect combination of being quiet and private while also being close enough to other island sites that if you want to tour the island, you can still easily do so.

The food was a little inconsistent. Some things (the pancakes, the pesto and the fish) were really terrific. Other things were not quite where they needed to be. The service was also a little inconsistent. While we loved our waiter, it was a bit of a challenge for the food, silverware, and other items to all arrive on the table at more or less the same time.

We were pretty much never able to get the wifi to work but that was OK because the location is so great, you don't really want to waste time on-line. The staff was generally helpful. One word of warning - if you have to take the ferry to Moyogalpa (instead of the closer San Jose), DON'T go north to get to the Finca. Even though it looks pretty much equi-distant on the map do not take those northern roads unless you want a long and painful trip on some truly terrible roads.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If your visit to Nicaragua takes you to Ometepe, then a stay at Finca San Juan is the perfect choice. I knew I might not get back to Ometepe anytime soon so really wanted to maximize my stay on the Island and really get a full experience of what the island offers. Due to the seclusion of the island it was really nice to have a pick-up at the ferry landing to arrive at the hotel. Guests are picked up in a ranch vehicle and you feel as you landed on Fantasy Island. I visited in 2011 and most of the restoration of the Finca was complete. The layout was a main ranch house where meals are served or for just relaxing, a bunkhouse where groups of travelers could stay in very nice, but modest accomodations, and then four individual casita type rooms. I stayed in a casita which was perfectly decorated and provided first class lodgings. The bed was very comfortable, A/C was powerful, and the bathroom was unexpectedely nice. While I generally enjoy a TV, the casita did not have one which really would have been out of place. Tour guides are available to explore the island which I highly recommend to future guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
4.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
342 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 19 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 7 in Altagracia
43 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca San Juan de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca San Juan de la Isla

Property: Finca San Juan de la Isla
Address: Empalme el Quino 200 mts norte. 2 km este., Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altagracia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca San Juan de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan de la Isla offers a beautiful scenery situated on the island of Ometepe. In this shelter visitors can enjoy the serenity, comfort, outdoor activities and adventure sports that Ometepe has to offer.In this place guests can relax in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the old hacienda, which dates back to the late nineteenth century and is now converted into a comfortable lodge with an enchanting rural country life and the beauty of the Cocibolca coast. San Juan de la Isla offers a variety of rooms and lodging options, as can be seen below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Finca San Juan de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca San Juan De La Isla Hotel Altagracia
Finca San Juan De La Isla Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing