We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ometepe is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Ranked #1 of 7 Altagracia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ometepe is great”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I never thought birds could be so plentiful, I managed to make a couple of audio recording. This location is prime for nature and preserve. The service and the management turistic know how were excellent plus its central location was excellent to do all kinds of activities around the island. The facilities and food were also great. This is a great deal for world travelers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank New2Miami11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    65
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
76
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Peace, serenity, tranquility. . . all of these feelings spring to mind when I think of Finca San Juan de la Isla. It was truly one of our favorite experiences while in Nicaragua. Private and tucked away behind acres of banana trees, this beautiful property is truly something special and unlike anywhere else. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, but we spent most of our time outside of the room relaxing in a hammock or rocking chair on the beautiful porch overlooking Lake Nicaragua or walking up and down the beach taking in the nature around us. I still can't get over just how gorgeous this property is. You truly feel as if you've escaped from the rest of the world.

It was also a real pleasure getting to meet Cesar, the owner and his lovely wife. They made us feel at home and we did not want for anything. Cesar has done an amazing job of restoring this property and encouraging responsible tourism in Nica. We also loved Cesar's staff: Catalina and Ramon, who took great care of us during our stay. We hiked to the San Ramon Waterfall and really enjoyed the company and humor of Neftali during the tour. Ramon drove us around the island and he had an excellent eye for spotting wildlife along the way including howler monkeys, iguanas, and all sorts of beautiful birds. He was gracious enough to pull over so that we could hop out for some great photo opportunities along the way as well. The food prepared on site by Catalina was delicious and some of the best during our entire trip. I loved having our meals outside on the porch feeling the breeze on your face and the sound of the birds in the trees.

It's not everyday you come across a place to stay like Finca San Juan. Some of our best memories were made here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Spent a week in Nicaragua. A few days in San Juan del Sur and Granada. Both visits were nice and gave us a few of the coast and colonial city. Our adventure to Ometepe was the highlight of our trip. We brought a car which allowed flexibility on the island. Ferry ride was sketchy but safe. Yes road into finca is bumpy, take your time. The grounds are massive and the property is right on the lake. Well worth taking a hike to the springs. Lake was a bit rough but we took a swim anyway. The accomodations are rustic clean and comfortable. The meals on the porch were delicious and varied. Casear made pleasant dinner conversation and told us about the history of the property and Nicaragua.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We lucked into staying here with our two boys (8 and 10 years old) for several days in the middle of an extended trip around the country. We felt like we had been transported to a remote, magical place, well off the beaten path. We will not soon forget the great walks on the beach (shared with the local livestock, horses, and locals fishing and washing clothes). The meticulously restored hacienda was comfortable and picturesque, and the service was wonderful and friendly.

We most enjoyed our outings to Ojo de Agua (within walking distance from the Finca), and the hike to the waterfall in San Ramon, both suggested and organized by the staff.

A limited menu is available on-site, and you need to let the staff know ahead of time that you intend to eat there. Other choices are limited, especially if, like us, you aren't traveling in a rental car.

We highly recommend this place for a memorable get-away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The pictures of fireflies and volcanoes promised something serene and natural, and the Finca didn't disappoint.  My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary there and loved it.  Everyone there was absolutely great and helpful in every way, and we had no trouble eating vegan in such a rural area. The meals were delicious and the setting took you back to another time. If you want something rustic, romantic and comfortable you won't find better, my only regret was only having one night there.  Next time we go, it will definitely be for longer!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Cesar was waiting for us when our ferry arrived at midnight, which was great. The room we had was really nice and clean. The food was all freshly cooked and very tasty. The location and setting is amazing with direct access to the beach and perfect views of the volcanos. It is quite isolated - but to be honest that was the attraction for us, it was so peaceful and restful. We had a few power cuts - but hey that's all part of package.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is beautiful - set in a luxurious garden right by the lake, renovated tastefully and with really comfortable rooms. It was such a nice was to start the day by waking up in the morning in this beautiful place and relax on the hamac whilst breakfast was getting ready. And the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You need a car though, as it is a 2 km walk/drive off the road through banana plantations to get there (which add to the charm of the place!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabienen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
402 reviews
4.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
346 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 4 in Merida
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Merida
Rancho Merida
#22 of 60 in Isla de Ometepe
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca San Juan de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca San Juan de la Isla

Property: Finca San Juan de la Isla
Address: Empalme el Quino 200 mts norte. 2 km este., Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altagracia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca San Juan de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan de la Isla offers a beautiful scenery situated on the island of Ometepe. In this shelter visitors can enjoy the serenity, comfort, outdoor activities and adventure sports that Ometepe has to offer.In this place guests can relax in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the old hacienda, which dates back to the late nineteenth century and is now converted into a comfortable lodge with an enchanting rural country life and the beauty of the Cocibolca coast. San Juan de la Isla offers a variety of rooms and lodging options, as can be seen below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Finca San Juan de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca San Juan De La Isla Hotel Altagracia
Finca San Juan De La Isla Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing