We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackout from 6pm-4am + no running water!”
Review of Charco Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altagracia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charco Verde
Reviewed September 10, 2011

When we arrived, we were astounded by how pretty the place was. It has a perfect view of the sunset over the lake and a beautiful small sandy beach. The cabin was really cute and the AC was working well. We headed to the restaurant where we had steak and fish at a really good price, and both were delicious.

Then, as night settled, things started to get bad. It didn't take long for us to realize that the power was completely out. The waiters brought out a few candles but we could literally see nothing but our plates. We were surrounded by darkness. Their backup generator was not working so we brought the candles back to our room.

Then we realized that not only was our room completely dark (besides candlelight), there was no running water. This meant: NO showers, NO toilet, NO sink, NO AC, NO light for at least 4 hours (they told us the latest the blackouts ever lasted was until 10pm)!!! Sweaty, tired, and in need to use the bathroom, we passed out on one of the beds waiting for the electricity to come back on. Six hours later (midnight), the electricity was still out and didn't come back on until 4am.

Needless to say, it was hard to sleep at all and our stay was very uncomfortable. We had to leave the room to sleep in a hammock because it was so hot outside.

However, the next day, the staff was very nice and apologetic about what happened. He apologized over and over, refunded half of our room rate, gave us an hour of free kayaking, and let us stay in the room for however long we wanted to before checking out. If it weren't for this excellent service, I would have rated this much lower.

Other things to expect: no hot water showers, quite a few bugs that fly everywhere, good tours (went fishing, it was fun), bilingual staff, wi-fi only in the reception

Room Tip: Get a room with a hammock in front of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mishaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I give this place a 4 rating because I knew what to expect and the views were amazing. The room is very basic, the beds aren't soft and there is no glass in the window in the bathroom so you must keep that door closed to cool your room off. There was a line of tiny ants in the bathroom and the crack on the side of the door towards the bottom was big enough to slide your cell phone through.
There was internet outside of the reception building and as we sat and communicated with friends back home, we could hear howler monkeys in the distance and parrots up close. One of the guys from the restaurant came to the reception area to tell us that we had one hour until the kitchen closed. We walked to the restaurant and we were treated to an incredible view across the lake of a very active lightning storm. The food was good and the service was perfect. Don't expect the Hilton or even Best Western but the surroundings are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sewtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

a nice place, friendly staff, clean rooms with all the comfort you will expect on a trip in central america (unless you only stay in 4+ star hotels, but then you better go where all the others go). You will need some Spanish, but English and gestures will do, and above all, it is quiet. You walk 10 minutes and you'll find a colony of howler monkeys, cormorans, ... or just enjoy the water, and the sun setting over lake Nicaragua. We loved it, and it is on our list of places to revisit. Oh, free WIFI works pretty well, but you'll have to go and sit at the reception, but - considering you're on an island in Nicaragua - that's still a lot better that the WIFI you'll have to pay for in France, or Holland, or so many other places

Room Tip: I think any room will do, the ones at the sea front have a nice view, the other are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janneman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having to check out of a hotel down the lake because of a large party, we ended up here with no knowledge of prior reviews. We booked a cabana on the water, left our luggage in the lobby and went to lunch. When we returned we were told the room we were originally to be in was still having work done so they moved us to a cabana behind. The room was average size, had one queen bed and one twin. Some space for luggage so we didn't have to trip over it. Out front of the cabana was a hammock and comfortable seating which we did enjoy. The a/c was decadent and cold. The bathroom adequate. Food was ok, nothing remarkable. We never found any problems with our bill. They did want to move us the second day we were there back to the room we were orginally to be in, but we refused. We didn't want to pack again and we had adventures planned. At first they did try and tell us we had to move but we stood our ground. Like the last hotel we could only stay two nights because they were getting a large party too. We left the island a day early because of the need to move rooms again. The hotel is at the Charco Verde reserve, a lovely walk. The WiFi works at the lobby area only.

Room Tip: check that there are no groups coming.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank konacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I'll be honest - when I arrived I was not too keen. The room had several ants in it, one of the window panes was brokern (but there was a net to stop mosquitos getting in) and I nearly knocked myself out on the low door when squeezing into the miniscule toilet and shower area.

The air conditioning was not great either - but there was also a large fan in the room so I did have a very comfortable night and slept well. The sheet on the single bed, although clean, did have some sort of grease mark on it which did not look attractive but was probably not an issue. The linen on the double bed in the room was clean.

So with all of these (at best) nondescript comments, why did I give this an "average" mark? Firstly Ometepe is an island in Lake Nicaragua reached by a ferry. Therefore there are problems in getting anything over there. This hotel has a private beach on the lake which has a great atmosphere, and the restaurant is an open one overlooking the lake. It has a great atmosphere. The island is remarkably uncommercialised at present and most accomodation is more geared towards backpackers - so I would recommend that you visit sooner rather than later.

The food is tasty and there are nice walking trails within the grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Charco Verde at the end of Dec. To the beginning of Jan. Unlike a previous reviewer, we found Rosa the receptioist to be warm and helpful, and the entire wait staff in the restaurant were fantastic---attentive, good-natured, and professional. They were a big part of our enjoyment there, in fact. The cabins are simply furnished but clean and nice-sized. We swam, kayaked, bird and monkey-watched, visited the other side of the island on a motor scooter, and otherwise kicked back and relaxed. If we ever return to Ometepe, we'd definitely stay at Charco Verde again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewMexicotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Right from the first greeting at the ferry, this place was hard to enjoy, so surly and rude are the staff. Even though they send a bus to collect you there's a cost and it is twice that of a taxi!! So we ended up in the ridiculous situation of taking a taxi which followed their bus all the way here - not very eco!

When you actually arrive be prepared for grumpy staff and none of that friendly Nica service that you' expect. And we had to wait half an hour for someone to actually check us in.

Food is also bad - stones in my eggs! And way overpriced.

All in all - a good one to avoid, I'd say. Sorry. But that's the situation here.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Editorgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
0 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
329 reviews
0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
317 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 8 in Altagracia
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Hospedaje Ortiz
Casa Hospedaje Ortiz
#1 of 9 in Altagracia
30 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Altagracia
37 reviews
0 mi away
Hospedaje Bullshark
Hospedaje Bullshark
#3 of 8 in Altagracia
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charco Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charco Verde

Address: Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Altagracia
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Charco Verde Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Charco Verde Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing