We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El indio Viejo

El indio Viejo
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Moyogalpa
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We welcome you to Isla de Ometepe's Restaurante El Indio Viejo! Our family owned bar and restaurant is proud to serve the town of Moyogalpa, Nicaragua and Isla de Ometepe with artsy cuisine and fine selections of Nicaraguan beer and spirits. Socially and eco-conscious (ALL profits going to local Ometepe projects) our restaurant caters to a variety of taste and dietary preferences (with half our menu vegan friendly), innovatively melding local foods with non-stereotypical Nicaraguan dishes like our organic tajada (fried plantain) nachos. Nourishment and affordability are our main priorities at El Indio Viejo! Designed for even the tightest of travel budgets, our lovely plates are served with vegetables and fruits sourced locally and organically (Try our own farm grown platanos!). El Indio Viejo's bar is just as elaborate while affordable. A tasteful variety of cocktails, spirits, or the classic chilled beer is ready to help you settle into the relaxed life of our island home. Tried yet the Nicaraguan favorite Macuá cocktail or our National rum Flor de Caña? If not, let us uncover these local treasures and more magic for you here. El Indio Viejo is consistently praised by clients for its artistic and musical ambience, come discover what we have built for you on Isla de Ometepe! Find us through our social media outlets for the latest plate and drink of the day! Disfruta our island of Ometepe.
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I ate here and had slow service from a grumpy staff that kept getting sidelined by more profitable enterprises than taking my order, such as renting bikes or chatting with friends. When I got the food, it was bad, expensive and both my fork and plate were dirty. There are so many lovely places to eat here with friendly, kind people. Try the place across the street, Cocibolca or Mama Mia's pizza.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    14
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Usagi is the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Usagi (owner) is the best! He helps out travelers and patiently answers all of his questions. As a cook - top notch; some of the best food I had in Nicaragua. Prices are very reasonable and in a colorful, but laid back atmosphere.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank mitchkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElindioViejo_HC, Public Relations Manager at El indio Viejo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Good day Mitchkh,

We are very pleased to here that your experience in our restaurant was superb! Usagui is definitely a "top-notch" chef who is excited about serving nourishing and well done dishes for our friends that stop by. Appetizing food plus a colorful and lively environment really make a space inviting, and we are elated that you were able to enjoy it to its full extent. Please keep spreading the word about us to those you meet, we would appreciate the chance to show more people like you who we are and help to introduce them to Isla de Ometepe. If you have any suggestions about how we can improve in any way, send us an email @ elindioviejo@gmail,com, we are always open to constructive suggestions. Until your next visit Mitchkh, adios!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sloooow food, bad taste, good atmosphere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I had lunch there and it was not a really good experience.

First, nobody could explain us how one of the options in the menu is prepared!
Second, I ate something with rice and vegetables. The rice was heated in the microwave (there was balls and do not tasted like fresh rice) and the vegetables were onin + green pepper (!!).
Third, there is WiFi, BUT YOU HAVE TO PAY TO USE IT!!!! This is the first place i had been that charge the restaurant clients to use the WiFi!!! That's an absurd.

They are really slow to support you. If you are hungry and want something fast and good, go to some other place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Di_Ferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElindioViejo_HC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El indio Viejo, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello DJ_Ferro,

I would genuinely like to start off by saying thank you for your comments about our business, it is only through hearing back from our clients that we can know how to improve our service. I am sorry that your experience at El Indio Viejo did not meet your expectations and if I so may, I would enjoy offering a responce to your review. Firstly, October was a difficult month for us, with some normal staff out sick or on leave for family emergencies. I am not sure which of our stand-in volunteers it is that you may have asked about your plate´s preperation but I can assure you that if one of our staff members is not completely knowledgeable of how a dish is cooked, all are happy to clarify with someone who does and get back to you with the tasty details. The most basic details however are that all of our food is indeed always fresh and sourced from the best growers around our area. Your plate, which was most likely Arroz a la Valenciana vegetariano, actually includes not only just onion and organic green pepper, but also red tomato, yummy carrot, and a savory special house sauce made daily (check out the recipe on our FB). Trust us to have your taste buds happiness as our first priority!

As far as wi-fi goes, you are completely right, it is absurd to charge well paying clients for wi-fi. To explain - as of recently prices of internet have gone up and we have needed to find a way to battle wi-fi vultures that hang out, who do not buy anything, and steal our bandwith that is for you, a paying customer. We have now instilled a C$ 100 policy that reads if one spends over that amount in the restaurant then one is free to use our internet services. We do apologize for the inconvenience but know that your comment as well as those of others have helped us design what others and ourselves feel is a fair compromise. Thank you again for your help! We would really appreciate hearing more constructive criticism on how to make our experience better, so please feel welcome to write to us freely @ elindioviejo@gmail.com with your suggestions! Hope you enjoyed Ometepe and that we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depths of London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Slow Service and Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

El Indio Viejo is within the old Hospedaje Central two blocks off the main street. They have two seating areas, one right inside the door, and one in the hostel courtyard. We ate dinner here. The menu has a mix of international and Nica foods, along with juices.

We waited 20 minutes to order, and had to go and ask someone where our food was 50 minutes after ordering. The chef had gone to the shop to get something, and then hadn't started cooking for us. This might have been an aberration of course, but they didn't apologise or explain the delay.

When the food finally arrived, it was of average quality, and the juice was forgettable.

Not terrible, but given other eating options in town, we didn't go back.

A quick note: if you want to sit in, I'd recommend the area just inside the door as it seemed livelier, and thus might get you some faster service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreadpiratesarcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElindioViejo_HC, Public Relations Manager at El indio Viejo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hey dreadpiratesarcas,

We're terribly sorry that our service during your visit wasn't top notch as it usually is. We appreciate your comment on our Trip Advisor page and welcome your comments on our home. As any restaurant sometimes we are slightly overwhelmed, which could have been a reason for the slow service, but none the less we apologize for your wait. We would like to affirm that our food and beverages are all chosen from the best of the best we can find with our juices being a main seller on a normal basis. We invite you to come again and give one of our over 100 batido combinations another try and find that one that blows the bad taste of our spot out of your mouth! Have you tried our passion fruit, banana, and piña with soy milk batido a try? Please do! Anyway, we are pleased you enjoyed our lively atmosphere, El Indio Viejo is "the spot" in town with the most reasonable prices in town for the quality and selection provided. Thank you for the visit, we look forward to showing you how our exceptional service is one people consistently come back for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El indio Viejo also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to El indio Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing