We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Ometepe”
Review of Puesta del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puesta del Sol
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here several nights while visiting the Isla de Ometepe. I had a room with shared bath at a very reasonable rate. I could choose which meals I wished to eat with the family, again at very fair prices. The food was excellent, with more variety and quantity than I have experienced in most other home stays. While their location is 2km outside of Moyogalpa and not easy to find at first, it is right on the lake. Security was not an issue - I felt safe walking in to town at all hours. The community centre has wifi, computers, snacks, free bicycles for guests, hammocks, and free kayaks. Did I mention the wifi was the fastest I encountered in Nicaragua? I would stay here again in a heartbeat and have recommended to many other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I really enjoy the concept of staying in a Nica familly to help the community in la Paloma. A really nice initiative and a great experience and practice for talking in spanish. Thanks to Martha Aleman, the mother of 'my' family for couple days. I had a great welcome and I had fun with them. A special thanks to Daniella.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danelialp, Manager at Puesta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2015
Google Translation

Queridos amigos muchas gracias por sus lindos comentarios!! para nosotros es muy agradable saber que les gusto su experiencia en nuestras familias y en nuestra comunidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I didn't do much research about puesta del sol before my arrival, and I was pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome I received. they received me like they would family and my friend and I stayed at the home of a local woman named maria jose, who was a new member of the puesta del sol host program and was eager to tell us about its merits. the location is quiet, beautiful, and a bike ride away from some awesome spots. I plan on staying in Paloma again the next time I visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiolugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amasz, Public Relations Manager at Puesta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear traveler,

Let's just say that it was a pleasure for us too. Maria-José did enjoy the experience too. She has been with the association since July 2013 and loves it. It's also interesting to know that new families appreciate the project.

See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Puesta Del Sol through a G Adventures tour and it turned out to be one of the memorable parts of our 1 month trip.

My wife and I stayed with a wonderful, 80 year old "abuela" named Essolina and her family. Everyone was so welcoming, and although we had a significant language barrier, we managed to learn about and experience their way of life. They cooked breakfast and dinner for us and didn't expect us to spend any more time than we wanted with them so we were free to explore the island.

The room we stayed in had 2 double beds with his and hers mosquito nets, 2 oscillating fans, and a key to lock up our room. We were free to come and go as we pleased.

The PdS community also offers a central hangout kind of thing, complete with hammocks, picnic tables, beach volleyball court, and beach.

I would recommend brushing up on your Spanish before you get here as most families don't speak a word of English.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DrewYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amasz, Public Relations Manager at Puesta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear travelers,

We are very happy to know that your experience at la Puesta del Sol through G-Adventures was a great one. The association has this contract for less than one year, so it's also a challenge for them to receive people every week, but they are very happy to do it. Your support makes a real difference here.

Hope to see you another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Puesta del Sol group on Ometepe Island is a very special place with warm, welcoming families.

The organization responded quickly to our reservation request and were very well organized, with three delicious meals prepared each day, a cool internet cafe and community center with hammocks, bikes, and kayaks right on the beach and lake. The families produce their own tasty hibiscus wine and have a huge garden with herbs, veggies, pineapple, star fruit, orange, and mango trees right out back.

When you are with a host family, they treat you like you are family. Our stay was a great way to practice our Spanish and learn about the Nicaraguan people and traditions.

We also hiked Maderas Volcano and saw howler monkeys, all arranged by the family at Puesta del Sol.

We highly recommend this unique experience and place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LasAmericasDeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amasz, Public Relations Manager at Puesta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear travelers,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our little community and the warmness of our families. They are getting known a little each day because travelers like you take their time to write about their experience. Thank you.

We hope to see you again one day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had very little idea of what to expect when I reserved a homestay in the community of Puesta del Sol after finding the link on a blog about Ometepe. I loved my three days here. It offers all the uniqueness and cultural connections of a homestay, with the advantages of a well-run community center with hammocks, wifi and free bikes and kayaks. The community is small, friendly and incredibly welcoming. The couple I stayed with, Bisante and Walter, were sweet and friendly and patient with my basic Spanish. And Bisante is a good cook!
The accomodations were very comfortable. I had a private room with a separate entrance in their home, a comfortable bed with a mosquito net and fan, and a private bathroom with a great shower. (The village is connected to municipal electricity and water.) The community center is a covered pavilion with hammocks and tables right on the water (perfect to watch the sunset) and a dock to swim out to. It's almost a resort! Moyogalpa is walkable or bikeable from here, and the local baseball field isn't very far.
Puesta del Sol, and Ometepe, are special places. I can't recommend a visit highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Aude T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puesta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear tourist,

We are really happy that you've enjoyed your experience here at la Puesta del Sol. We have been working hard this year to make it possible with all the groups coming and trying to give a better visibility to the association. It is truly helpful to receive comments like yours. We hope to see you around in another moment !

Please take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tofugudule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
0 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
326 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
395 reviews
0 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puesta del Sol

Address: De la Escuela 1 Cuadra al Lago y 100m al Sur | La Paloma, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 47302, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $7 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puesta del Sol association invites you to share our rural lifestyle with 18 families of the community La Paloma. The association is mainly constituted of women who provide rooms & boards to groups & individuals who are eager to learn Spanish, discover Nicaraguan agriculture & the natural wonders of our treasured Island. Private room $20/night incl 3 meals, filtered water, mosquito net & fan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puesta Del Sol Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing