We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of home away from home”
Review of The Cornerhouse

The Cornerhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #2 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at The Cornerhouse for three nights while visiting Ometepe and found it hard to leave.

One thing to note is Gary does not take bookings - he only has four rooms above the cafe and rooms are filled on a first-come-first-serve basis. We were lucky to be travelling in Nicaragua in the down season, given we arrived around 5pm in Moyogalpa and were fortunate that Gary had a choice of rooms available. I imagine we would not have been so lucky, had it been the busy season.

Each room is well appointed with at least one double bed (really comfortable mattress) & nice cotton sheets (not itchy), a private bathroom & overhead fan. There is no hot water, but given Ometepe is quite hot & humid, this was not a problem. Free filtered water is also provided & can be topped up from the downstairs cafe. Free wi-fi is also available as a guest, although can be intermittent as Ometepe experiences frequent power cuts.

Breakfast is also included in the room price and can be taken at any time of the day with various choices from the breakfast menu in the cafe. Eggs Benedict (my absolute favourite breakfast meal) is on the menu & exceptional (even by UK, OZ & NZ standards). And, the coffee is proper coffee (a rarity in Nicaragua....they seem to go for instant!!).

Gary is happy to chat and answer any questions you might have about Ometepe. He provides a useful booklet in each room, but has plenty more knowledge of the island, so get chatting to him.

We have already recommended The Cornerhouse to other travellers, and suggest you stay if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Gary and Laura always make you welcome.....great food and great company.....the hub of Moyogulpa! The world seems to gather there....a safe place.....a fountain of information for activities on Ometepe....

Room Tip: They are all good......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

All I can do is back up the amazing reviews this place is getting!

We were originally worried about staying here and stretching our (very tight) budget- but we are SO pleased we did! the room was lovely, no hot water or AC but didnt need either. the breakfast (Specifically eggs benedict) make this such a good deal! and REAL barrista coffee! wow. The staff are extremely helpful and informative on top of this.

Gary and laura work hard to make this place so great, with every success! I wish them all the best with future endeavours!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danye0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was there on vacation, stayed 3 nights. Such a nice couple running this small coffehouse with 4 bedrooms. Great coffee and breakfast/lunch, wonderful music and atmosphere. Vegetarian food from Eco-farms. A bid noisy during the day as it is located on the main street, but was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of the more expensive hotels on the islands, but at $35 for two including breakfast, it was worth every cent. The rooms are small, clean, well cared for and completely functional. No A/C and the shower stall in our room needed new tile or a coat of paint on the floor, but our corner room had a breathtaking view of Omotepe. But...what really made the stay special was the unbelievable food and the awesome, friendly and upbeat service of Sergio and Sydney, the two people who took care of us flawlessly. If you are craving a taste of home-cooked, hearty food from north of the border, look no further. Their carrot cake...divine. The scones...like my Mum's and the Eggs Benedict...worth every minute of the 8-hour trip from Ocotal. Don't get me wrong, as a traveler, I love my fill of local food, but as someone who lives here, their menu and culinary skills at cooking food from outside Nicaragua were like a dream come true. Thank you Sergio and Sydney!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the corner room overlooking Omotepe - it has the added bonus of cross breezes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twicerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Even at first glance you can tell that this place is going to be somewhere special and just that cut above the rest of the accommodation options in Nicaragua. It's simply but stylishly done out in an unusually western B and B style with a open cafe area full of pine furniture. The location is excellent on the main street where all the restaurants and just a stone's throw from the port. The service is flawless and friendly. But the highlight is undoubtedly the breakfast. It's generous and flexible and you are allowed to order anything off the menu. You can even choose to forego your breakfast in exchange for a packed lunch. Everything is cooked with care and thought and they even allowed me to mix and match from different meals to accomodate my fussy vegetarian whims!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a really great place to stay if you are visiting Ometepe (which is one spot, you definitively need to go when you are in Nicaragua!), as it is well above the usual standard and just well managed by Gary. He is just an awesome and nice guy who is eager to make your stay just relaxing and beautiful. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the really great breakfast/smoothies. If you are leaving early e.g., to get up the volcanos, the crew prepares one hell of a lunch package (don't miss that out!).
I just can join all my fellow critics who had such a great experience at the Cornerhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeccoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Moreno
Hostel Casa Moreno
#3 of 21 in Moyogalpa
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Address: Main Street, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000-1, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us help you plan your time on Ometepe while relaxing in 1 of our 4 thoughtfully built rooms. The convenience of being in the port town of Moyogalpa, combined with the island knowledge of our staff will ensure a pleasant stay. In the morning, wake up to an espresso, fresh, organic juice and healthy breakfast made with ingredients from the island. Enjoy the island adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing