We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both Museums with a Guide is Your best value”
Review of Museum El Ceibo

Museum El Ceibo
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Moyogalpa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum El Ceibo on Ometepe Island is a must see in Nicaragua with one of the biggest and best conserved collection in the country.The museum has two exhibition halls, one with pre-Columbian statues and artifacts and one which shows the history of the Nicaraguan coin. When visiting Ometepe, El Ceibo is the place to get to know and experience the Ometepe culture. El Ceibo is not just a museum, it is fun for all ages!
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Both Museums with a Guide is Your best value”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family just returned from Ometepe Island and had a great time. One of our stops was at El Ceibo. There are two museums, and we opted for the 2 museum package that included our own personal guide. It was $6 US a person, but they did not charge us for our girls 12 and under.

The guide provided way more informations and so I was glad we went that route. One museum was all about Nicaraguan money and the other had a great collection of Pre-Columbian artifacts. A great place to begin your time on the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kianemikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fascinating collection”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a really fine collection, worthy of a capital city museum. Well laid out and a very helpful guide service. A great overview of Ometepe archaeology.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kieranRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Owners Moises David Gitia & Zefra aim to please!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A plethora of attractions concentrated into one package experience. Authentic traditional artifacts tastefully sprinkled all around, you feel like you're in an amusement park from the start, but it's like a country farm/museum mixed into one. The two main attractions are museums, one for "petroglyphs" (stone carvings), and one for "Numismatics" (historic coins and currency). To see both museums is $6.00, or just one for $4.00. Cabins (when completed) will be $50-$60 "all-inclusive" with free entrance to museums, the bat cave (has thousands of bats), training for cow milking, a ride in an oxcart, etc. Jonathan the guide really knew his subjects and presented them well. Access to the beach. Nice restaurant. Smile!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank userme1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
1 review
“Numismatic and Archaeological”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

ThThe Archaeological Museum is a place where you can watch some of the utensils used for thousands of years ago our ancestors.
The Numismatic Museum you can watch hundreds of bills and coins in Nicaragua and a rich history of this science.e Best of Nicaragua ...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ometepe daily t... U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worst museum ive visited in my whole life”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This might be the most boring museum in the world. we payed 12 dollars for two persons, which is A LOT in nicaragua. The guide we got could not speak a word of english which was a problem for us. Was there at least anything intresting to see? NO, its a bunch of old pots and old nicaraguan money. The visit took 15 minutes maybe. Dont go here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum El Ceibo also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Museum El Ceibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing