We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My kids liked it too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum El Ceibo

Museum El Ceibo
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Isla de Ometepe with El Ceibo Museum
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Moyogalpa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum El Ceibo on Ometepe Island is a must see in Nicaragua with one of the biggest and best conserved collection in the country.The museum has two exhibition halls, one with pre-Columbian statues and artifacts and one which shows the history of the Nicaraguan coin. When visiting Ometepe, El Ceibo is the place to get to know and experience the Ometepe culture. El Ceibo is not just a museum, it is fun for all ages!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My kids liked it too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice place to visit and be introduced to the local history of coins.
Here you can see the pre-Columbian statues and different artifacts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    40
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
356 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enlightening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is one of the few places that you do not need to pay for a guide. The admission fee includes one. She was very informative and this is a nice change from being outside the whole time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Left to the last minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

but wish we hadn't. We toured just before getting in line for the ferry for about 20 minutes but really could have spent an hour or more. The guide was excellent (your choice of language) and the museum really has some amazing and well preserved and presented items. (We didn't get to the Money museum but we will if we go back).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a really great museum. We really loved the currency museum which gave us a great history lesson. The ancient artifacts were also great. The staff were nice though they are still learning English so having a native speaker with us was helpful. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank katiemo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great History Lessons and beautiful place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed on the island for 5 nights and were really glad that Linda recommended we visit this unique museum with both currency and history and prehistoric pottery. The knowledgable staff were very helpful and since the exhibit is bilingual it helped our Spanish lessons too. There is actually a lot to see here so plan to spend some time. We enjoyed the local food for a delicious lunch!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum El Ceibo also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Museum El Ceibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing