We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is good pizza. I am a very tough pizza critic.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Buon Appetito

Pizzeria Buon Appetito
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Moyogalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
190 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“This is good pizza. I am a very tough pizza critic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was about the only place open on Christmas day. Our pizza was a pleasant surprise. We ordered it without even seeing what their pies look like. I can tell from across the street whether or not to keep walking, just by seeing the crust. It has taken me years to master this skill. Imagine my pain seeing squeeze bottles of ketchup discharged over rubbery looking wedges from Mexico south. Yes, pizza can be a tough nut to crack in these here parts. Lack of FRESH mozzarella, an improper grade of flour, a tomato sauce with sugar added; all of these things are to be expected down here, and all of these things make for ketchup-worthy pizza. Well, things were done well here. We ordered a simple cheese pie with a sprig of basil and it was very good. The crust was thin and not sweet. The sauce was crushed tomato. The cheese was not fresh mozzarella, but it was not the overly processed kind that forms pools of oil. Service was good. This place was busy on Christmas. So come here for good pizza.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    64
    14
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pizza for the ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came into the restaurant to get a pizza to go for the ferry ride back to the mainland. The service was prompt and friendly. They accommodated any request for pizza toppings and had a wide variety of choices. It wasn't the best pizza we've ever had, but for Central American pizza it was pretty good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and free Wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wanted to grab a quick meal before our Ferry left, stopped in here without knowing what it was. Turned out to be some of the best pizza we have ever had. Very affordable and great atmosphere, also they accommodated us on our need for a short meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjcook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average food with average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat in Buon Apetito as it looked nice and they had tables outside. We ordered a salad and pasta. Salad was nice but very simple, pasta was only ok. Service wasn't the best, and prices above average in Moyogalpa. There are better restaurants on the Island. We would not go back.

Helpful?
Thank MINIPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nica Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

2nd time a charm. 1st time I was looking for a really cold Michelada and service, so my trip to this restaurant was short lived. But because it boasted of focaccia we decided to give it a 2nd try, now looking for That. It was worth it, the prosciutto focaccia was great. The price was a little high for this little island, the inhabitants and the usual
Backpackers (I think). The service although the same waiter as the previous time was also good. Downside, still no limes - according to the waiter there is an inconsistent supply - good business opportunity for someone! Overall, food was good, drank water and there is free wifi and they are charging my phone in the back.
I recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Mickoonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Buon Appetito also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to Pizzeria Buon Appetito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing