We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay price, but way too noisy and bug issue.”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's convenient, as it's right off the dock and it's fairly inexpensive, but I wouldn't be back. It made a good first impression, appeared clean, secure, etc. but there is a pretty serious bug issue. Don't get me wrong, I am familiar with Nicaragua, it's not unusual for there to be occassuibal bugs, etc. in rooms but this was WAY more than normal. We were planning on a couple night but left after one as both I and my traveling companion woke up covered in bites the next morning. In addition to the bugs it is really, really noisy. Perhaps it's a price to pay being on the main drag but the music playing near by was so loud we thought it was playing inside the hostel. We understood the local disco was closed so not sure what was going on.

There are quite a number spots on the island to stay that are a better value and cleaner. Some nice spots in Santo Domingo or, if staying in Moyogalpa would try Hostel Soma or the Cornerhouse.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and I am very sorry that your stay was unpleasant. Here at the Landing we have a variety of choices to fit every budget---from big, comfortable hammocks for $5/night to an air conditioned cabin (with a queen size bed) surrounded by our tropical garden for $40/night. You choose our most affordable option and stayed in our hammocks on the second floor in the open air. It's too bad that you neither told us that you were having a problem with mosquitoes so that our night guard could give you some repellent spray nor had some spray in your back pack. As for noise, during the Christmas holiday there are many celebrations throughout the country, including here in Moyogalpa. I'm very sorry that these celebrations disturbed your sleep. And yes, Mjoyogalpa offers a wonderful variety of affordable hotels. including the Landing and the others that you mentioned in you comment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in Nicaragua and we look forward to seeing you here on the island during your next visit! We appreciate your taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

nice staff, helpful friendly, comfortable, not expensive. Looks spendy but its not. I came for 3 day and stayed at this Hotel 2 weeks. Happy. Nice all around no complaints on this one. Tour of Island arrangements went well due to local staffs knowledge. I would always stay here when I return.

Room Tip: Get room number 1, wifi, luxury of spacious upstairs common area. Yeah!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a wonderful option in Myogalpa. Clean, secure, single rooms for $15 with a very helpful staff. I met Juan on the ferry ride over (does the books at The Landing) and he was extraordinarily helpful to our group throughout our stay. Highly recommended!

**DO NOT use the "Secret Island" agency next door to the hotel. The staff will advocate that you use Secret Island, but trust me, you can do A LOT better. Their moped/motorbike rentals are awful (2 broke down and 1 barely functioned) and the staff was clueless and rude. We had a terrible experience in both renting inadequate bikes and using their guide for a poorly thought out hike up Conception.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and we want you to know how much we appreciate your very positive review! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I am very proud of the team that we have running the hotel, especially Juan!

Just so our readers are clear, we have no association with the tour operator and the rental activities of our neighbors. However, we are very sorry that you had a negative experience with Secret Island Tours. We try to guide our guests to the best possible resources here on Ometepe and we operate without receiving any commissions. This way, we can remain unbiased and continue to give the best possible service to our guests.

Thanks again for choosing the Landing Hotel and we hope that we can host your next visit!

John Tansey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is conveniently located 50 meters from the place the ferry drops you off so it is an obvious choice. The hostel is also all right - it is basic but clean and not too expensive. The rooms are really tiny and have bunk beds. One of the best features is the open air 3rd floor terrace where you can sit, read or chat in the evenings.

Overall nice place to stay in Ometepe, especially if you don't want to travel further into the island with all of your stuff and plan on one-day trips.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in a dorm room for 4 nights. Six beds (three sets of bunks) to a dorm, plus a set of lockers made for a fairly tight fit, but not unreasonably so considering the cheap price. The mattresses were new, and of decent quality

It was the unrelenting heat, however, that provided the biggest obstacle to achieving a good nights sleep.With only one fan in the ceiling and few windows the room quickly became very hot in the evening. We resorted to leaving the door open and sleeping with mosquito repellent on instead.

Management was friendly and accommodating. The common areas upstairs had hammocks and tables, and a nice view. Downstairs the bar/restaurant area was handy for the free wifi and reasonably priced beer.

The landing hotel is a decent choice for a home base from which to explore Ometepe.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank RandomPunter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your review! We always appreciate hearing feedback as to how we are doing! Yes, May is the end of the dry season here in Nicaragua and it can be quite warm---especially this year. I do wish you had simply asked us for an additional fan as we would have been happy to try and help make your stay a bit cooler. Also, we have two rooms with A/C ($35/40 per night) and the private rooms on the second floor usually have a nice breeze at night. These rooms (w/private baths) are $15 per night for one person and $5 for each additional person. We also have hammocks that are in an area of the hotel that is open to the air and affords a large fan that guests can use.

Thanks again for choosing The Landing Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room for $18 per night for 2 people, which is a very decent price. Accordingly, the rooms are nothing special (even in the private rooms, they have bunk beds), but totally fine for that price and clean. The building itself was very niche building itself was very nice too, with a porch with hammocks and great views of the volcano or of the sunset over the lake.The staff was very friendly and professional, especially Juan. He is a wealth of information. We also met, John, the owner, who is also very nice and a font of information.

The location is good and bad at the same time: Your just a few steps away from the dock (great for catching an early ferry) and you can walk to any place in Moyogalpa, but it's also right on the main roads with the noisy buses.

I liked the artwork in and outside of the hotel. The back garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hi Luke!

Thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and for taking the time to write your thoughtful review! Hope we see you again next time around!

John Tansey, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place was our first pick in Moyagalpa, due to being nauseus from the boat ride over. It turned out to be a very nice place, and we ended up staying three more nights. The rooms are clean, have strong fans and windows are covered with mosquito net (so you can open them all the way to get some air in the midday heat). The hang out area is very nice, with hammocks and a beautiful view of vulcan concepcion. Both the rooms and the hotel are decorated with beautiful art. Our room even had a nice little candle holder on the wall.

The exellent service and friendlyness of the staff must also be noted. They also speak very good english.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are less gloomy. Avoid room no 1, as it had a stinky bathroom. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
11.7 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
13.1 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#1 of 3 in Balgue
11 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 22 in Moyogalpa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
326 reviews
13 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#3 of 3 in Balgue
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Life is Good
Hostel Life is Good
#4 of 22 in Moyogalpa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: Feet From the Dock 50 | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $16 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing