We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWSOME , WELCOME TO PARADISE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 11 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moyogalpa, Nicaragua
1 review
“AWSOME , WELCOME TO PARADISE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I have been traveling in Cent. Amer. for one yr. and have stayed in many hotels and Hosp. Soma is without question the best place i've had the pleasure to stay in the entire trip. When ever i entertain a friend i tell them " WELCOME TO PARADISE". i have never seen a place more beautiful or peaceful. The owner whom everyone calls Zkini(no he is not skinny), is as cool as they come and bends over backward to be helpful. The cost is more than reasonable and compares to anyplace on the island and yet is far better. I have often ref. to it as the garden of eden. On a clear night it seems one can see every star in the galaxy, and the mornings are very peaceful and serene.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roca67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    88
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
194
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hospedaje Soma offered more than I had hoped for after visiting some of the worn out hotels of the same island: a brand new place with with incredible gardens, tastefully done rooms full of light and local art work and quiet location only 10 minutes walk from the harbour. Add the cool German owner with the best heavy metal on the continent to that and you're done.

Just one important thing: when you get to the island people will try to get you to go somewhere else because of the commissions they get and they will lie to your face about the place being closed or not worth going to - don't believe a word of it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllyNeitonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Hospedaje Soma was exactly what i needed after a week in San Juans nightlife. A few meters away from the center this hotel really offers relaxation. It's got a hammock space, a kitchen, and nice rooms with really good mattresses. The private room was $10.
It was just perfect to come back after ascending Volcan Concepcion or doing a tour around the island and relax.
If you look for a quiet place in Moyogalpa, that's the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

i stayed for 2 months in a spacious, brand new, wonderfully furnished casita at the Hospedaje Soma this last /09 - 10. owner, Zkini, has done a wonderful job building these brand new suites. i believe at present there are 2 seperate casitas, and 4 rooms. there is also a kitchen and dining area that can provide meals on demand, as well as a fully stocked beverage fridge. the caretakers are super duper accommodating to my every need. the casita that i stayed in was super clean, well built, air cond, beautifully decorated, comfortable q-bed and had a wonderful bathroom!! there is laundry service, hammocks in the gorgeous grassy and blooming treed gardens. over all, i highly recommend this place. it is secured and is a nice quiet escape from the town (5min walking distance) of Moyagalpa. No roosters to wake you at 3am, and enough away from the rounds of dog barking you'd hear closer to town. "thank you Zkini for being such a great host and i will miss you all, and look forward to getting back soon to stay even longer!"

dina - Vancouver, BC Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIGNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

i found this place accidently after not being very happy with another hotel in Moyogalpa. It's a bit outside of the center which was just great for me. The Cabin i rented was big as well as the bed and air condition included. The place looks clean and it was the first place in Nicaragua where i got nutella for breakfast :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patadeperro73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
22.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 11 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
11.5 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 37 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Property: Hospedaje Soma
Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the main land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing