We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Fantastic Staff”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night during our honeymoon in May of 2014. We stayed in the private cabin. The owner was welcoming and helped us to our room right away. To get there, we got to walk down a path that was lined with beautiful plants; at night time we noticed a large amount of toads around the path, which was exciting because they were huge! The room was much larger than we expected, and it was prettily decorated. The towels were laid out with fresh flowers on them. We were pleasantly surprised that it had fans in addition to the A/C. The absolute best part was the bed--it rivaled our memory foam mattress at home, and gave us a much needed night of rest. The hotel bed we stayed at in Granada squeaked a lot and was lumpy. This one was AMAZING.

The owner also helped us to book taxis, recommended a delicious Italian restaurant for dinner, and gave us advice about the border crossing to Costa Rica. He was incredibly helpful, and he saved us a lot of money by recommending the blue and green public bus from Penas Blancas to Liberia, rather than our initial plan of taking a taxi. The blue and green bus left once every half hour, and it was about $3.50 a person, so we highly recommend it as well!

We loved visiting Ometepe, and we would absolutely stay here again if we ever have the chance. I wish we had stayed more than one night!

Room Tip: The cabin was lovely and the bed was fantastic! We have a memory foam mattress at home and most hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hospedaje Soma is a very friendly and relaxing place. We stayed in a cottage which was vast, comfortable and very clean. The staff makes you feel welcomed. Thanks to Javier – the manager – we could arrange our private island tour in advance. It was one of our best days in Central America. We’d like to thank here our guide Johann who was friendly, witty and very professional at the same time. I only wish we could’ve stayed longer there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalifloraPozna_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We would highly recommend staying at Hospedaje Soma!! We stayed their for 2 nights during our time on Ometepe island. If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax after your adventures at Ometepe, Hospedaje Soma is the place to stay. All staff were very friendly and knowledgable. The rooms were very clean and surrounded by lush gardens making the stay even more enjoyable. Management is fluent in both english and spanish and were very helpful with arranging an adventure tour of the island! All around great experience!!

Room Tip: We stayed 1 night in the private cabin and 1 night in the private room - Both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Hospedaje Soma for four nights. It's located approx 10mins from Moyogalpa main street but it's a nice relaxing walk and it's well secluded from the noise. The accomodation consists of rooms and cabins. We stayed in one of the cabins at the back. Lots of space and own veranda which is great for relaxation and privacy. Everything is spottless clean and staff very friendly. Javier is a perfect host! Speaks great English and happy to give you any assistance needed. Pricewise it's a great value especially with breakfast that was very yummy. The only thing is that it gets very hot inside cabins but that's Nicaraguan heat for you. Huge benefit: Beautiful garden to relax in with three hammocks in a shade. It also feels very safe there. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MINIPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our stay at Hospedaje Soma was great! We stayed there 2 nights so that we could climb volcano Concepcion. We had a private cabin, which was very big and clean, and it was really nice to have all this vegetation around our little house! The manager gave us plenty of good advice for places to eat out. The hotel is slightly outside of Moyogalpa's busy main street (5 minute walk to the top of the street, 10 min walk to the dock), which is actually really nice. We would have loved to stay longer and definitely recommend it to others!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eidzo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on one of the private rooms with private bathroom. Pros: huge room with tons of space and a nice big bed. Also loved having a desk, cabinets, and drawers after our last room, which was a bit small (cheaper though too).

Cons: the window screen didn't quite match up with the window frame, so bugs were able to fly in at night. Not a HUGE deal, but put me a little on edge since I'm not the biggest fan of insects.

Soma is about a ten minute walk from town, but it's not so bad. It gives the place a nice secluded feel. We really appreciated how friendly and helpful the staff was too. Definitely somewhere we'd stay again -- perhaps with a mosquito net or something though.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Alohaqt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Loved our stay at Soma. The atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable. The spacious rooms were simple and very clean. We really appreciated the location which was close enough to walk into town, yet tucked away from the road to keep it quiet..PERFECT!
If we needed anything, Javier was there to help us out. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
10.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
12 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Casa Moreno
Hostel Casa Moreno
#2 of 21 in Moyogalpa
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $8 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the mainland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing