We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, great price, amazing staff!”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 14 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent place, great price, amazing staff!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

If the title hasn't sold you on this place, let me continue. I wasn't sure where to stay on the island and originally only booked for 2 nights. After checking out the whole island on a dirt bike, not kidding a figure 8 around the two volcanos (I don't recommend this :), I realized I had chosen the best place and stayed my whole time here.
You are within walking distance of the main town of Moyogalpa but far enough outside that sleeping is quiet and comfortable. There is great internet access, it is really clean, beautiful garden and hammock area, and there are several choices for rooms depending on your budget but it is not crowded. There is a kitchen to use and the private rooms come with a good breakfast.
There are other places to stay but you are either in town more and it's loud or you are way far out in no man's land. I even checked out playa Santo Domingo and it so small and out there, I wouldn't want to stay there. You can easily access everything by moped or dirt bike. Both can be arranged by the awesome manager Javier, who was indispensable for information and entertainment!
If you are coming to the Island I recommend staying here and seeing for yourself.

Room Tip: I stayed in the private with a shared bath, it's cheaper and you only share the bathroom with on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGringaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    89
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
197
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Soma twice during our visit to Ometepe. The hostel itself was very clean and the rooms spacious and breakfast was good...fruit, eggs, cheese, toast and coffee. The highlight for us here was Javier! He is such a star, so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about all there is to do on the island. An all round thoroughly nice chap who speaks excellent English. All the staff at the hostel were very friendly. Another highlight was 'Tricky' the hostel's dog who is adorable with a lovely temperament. The hostel felt relaxed and safe. Would definitely return if we ever headed back to Ometepe! Thanks so much Javier!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwithers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Its nice, its clean, its green (big garden), its peaceful. Good location - few min from Moyogalpa dock, on the way to Concepcion. Good vibes, good music, good service. Nice and friendly staff. Awesome dog!

Room Tip: Best dorm rooms I have seen so far in CA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzmuzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I´ve stayed at Hospedaje Soma three times, and it´s the pleasantest place I´ve ever stayed at. The setting is perfect, a circle of hotel buildings around a beautiful lawn with trees and flowers. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The building which serves as office and dining area is basically a large porch open on three sides to the lawn and gardens. An excellent breakfast is served every morning by Idalia, and during the rest of the day it´s a great place to relax, read, or get to know the other guests. Soma also has excellent connections with the island´s main guide cooperative, and they can give you excellent information on all the things to do on Ometepe. Hospedaje Soma is truly a magical place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend while visiting la isla de ometepe. I'm so glad we decided to stay at Hospedaje Soma! The room was great value ($30 per night for a private room + bathroom and breakfast), the breakfast each morning was delicious, and everyone here was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone visiting Ometepe to stay here.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hospedaje soma for 2 nights and were not at all disappointed.
Really chilled out vibe with a big garden to kick back and enjoy a few beers.

Most outstanding was the service. Zkini helped us sort out our volcano treks for a good price and gave us other ideas for around the island. Great breakfast included with private rooms too. Self service bar was a bonus, at pretty much supermarket prices.

Rooms are basic and clean, we'll ventilated, and at 22$ a night it's a great deal!

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenus_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I came from Canada to Nicaragua for 3 weeks for a school placement and went to Ometepe Island for a break! The hotel worker, Javier, was amazing! He was so knowledgeable, kind, upbeat, eager, and you could tell he wanted everyone to have a fantastic stay. The meals were delicious, the rooms were clean, the staff was kind, and I would definitely recommend Soma as a place to go and unwind! Great experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you know the fans have 5 speeds -- 5 is the lowest and 1 is the highest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
401 reviews
22.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Moyogalpa
155 reviews
12.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Property: Hospedaje Soma
Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the mainland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing