We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hostel!”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Soma twice during our visit to Ometepe. The hostel itself was very clean and the rooms spacious and breakfast was good...fruit, eggs, cheese, toast and coffee. The highlight for us here was Javier! He is such a star, so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about all there is to do on the island. An all round thoroughly nice chap who speaks excellent English. All the staff at the hostel were very friendly. Another highlight was 'Tricky' the hostel's dog who is adorable with a lovely temperament. The hostel felt relaxed and safe. Would definitely return if we ever headed back to Ometepe! Thanks so much Javier!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjwithers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Its nice, its clean, its green (big garden), its peaceful. Good location - few min from Moyogalpa dock, on the way to Concepcion. Good vibes, good music, good service. Nice and friendly staff. Awesome dog!

Room Tip: Best dorm rooms I have seen so far in CA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muzmuzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I´ve stayed at Hospedaje Soma three times, and it´s the pleasantest place I´ve ever stayed at. The setting is perfect, a circle of hotel buildings around a beautiful lawn with trees and flowers. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The building which serves as office and dining area is basically a large porch open on three sides to the lawn and gardens. An excellent breakfast is served every morning by Idalia, and during the rest of the day it´s a great place to relax, read, or get to know the other guests. Soma also has excellent connections with the island´s main guide cooperative, and they can give you excellent information on all the things to do on Ometepe. Hospedaje Soma is truly a magical place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend while visiting la isla de ometepe. I'm so glad we decided to stay at Hospedaje Soma! The room was great value ($30 per night for a private room + bathroom and breakfast), the breakfast each morning was delicious, and everyone here was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone visiting Ometepe to stay here.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hospedaje soma for 2 nights and were not at all disappointed.
Really chilled out vibe with a big garden to kick back and enjoy a few beers.

Most outstanding was the service. Zkini helped us sort out our volcano treks for a good price and gave us other ideas for around the island. Great breakfast included with private rooms too. Self service bar was a bonus, at pretty much supermarket prices.

Rooms are basic and clean, we'll ventilated, and at 22$ a night it's a great deal!

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenus_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I came from Canada to Nicaragua for 3 weeks for a school placement and went to Ometepe Island for a break! The hotel worker, Javier, was amazing! He was so knowledgeable, kind, upbeat, eager, and you could tell he wanted everyone to have a fantastic stay. The meals were delicious, the rooms were clean, the staff was kind, and I would definitely recommend Soma as a place to go and unwind! Great experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you know the fans have 5 speeds -- 5 is the lowest and 1 is the highest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 409LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hostel was above average. It was located about 10 minutes walk out of Moyogalpa along the road towards Concepcion. I stayed in the dorm for three nights. The beds were comfortable (not bunks). They had large lockers and individual reading lights. My first bed broke but I was able to move into another one. There were no curtains or blinds in the dorm making it hard to lie in. Also there was noise from building works in the mornings.
If you stayed in the dorm you had to pay extra for breakfast and it wasn't worth it, There were better value places to eat in town.
The hostel was quiet but sociable, and the owner was friendly. The dog however seemed rather aggressive, and once ran towards me barking when it was off the leash. It didn't actually bite me though.
There were some nice hammocks down the bottom of the garden. After ascending Concepcion I spent a whole day chilling out and reading, which was nice.
Overall, solidly above average for a backpacker place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billysyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
12 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
11.9 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Casa Moreno
Hostel Casa Moreno
#2 of 21 in Moyogalpa
59 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $8 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership since April 2016, the new owners of Hospedaje Soma continue to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Located just on the edge of Moyogalpa, a short walk from the ferry, we are far enough from town to feel away from it all but close enough for guests to access the amenities the small town has to offer. Our accommodations—from private cabins (perfect for families or groups), to private rooms, to dorm beds (for the budget backpacker)—are spread out throughout our spacious garden property. Our large common area is perfect for hanging out in the evenings, and our swimming pool and hammock areas are wonderful places to relax after a day of exploring all Ometepe has to offer. Breakfast is free for all our guests and we operate an honor bar with drinks and snacks available 24/7. We also offer complimentary customized maps, travel advice and booking services for all your tour and transport needs during your stay on Ometepe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing