We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great owner!”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Short n sweet review! You dont need to think about anywhere else really. Super clean place to stay..be it in a dorm or a private room. Really relaxed vibes. The owner is a cool German guy with a good supply of german beers and a great playlist of music over the PA speaker!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhenkel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 438 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Hospedaje Soma. It is a nice, clean and friendly place to stay in and the staff are very helpful, helping us with booking of tours, nice restaurants etc. Its got a good location for doing Ometepa, 5 min walk from Moyogalpa centre. We stayed in one of the cabanas, and it was clean and very spacious and we really liked the quality furnitures and comfortable bed. Would definately recommend this place! The german owner really cares about this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieloSussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel on the outskirts of the town, with a nice garden is quiet and peaceful.
The staff are laid back and smiley. The room was clean, but the polystyrene and metal ceiling was very noisy when the wind blew, and looked like it was about to fall in. The room was very hot. It was rated high on trip advisor so we were a bit disappointed but overall is a satisfactory place to stay in moyogalpa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospedajesoma, Owner at Hospedaje Soma, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

In first place thank you very much for staying with us at Soma.
I apologize Soma didn't match all your expectations and for the issues you mention in your review. The drop ceiling is indeed very light weight and therefore affected by stronger winds. I am planning already to replace it with a different kind of material during the next weeks. It is also planned to put ceiling fans in the rooms to keep them fresher and more enjoyable for the clients as they get hotter at the end of the summer than during the rest of the year.
I appreciate your review , it will help us to improve the quality at Soma.

Best wishes,
Zkini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed for three nights in one of the spacious cabins with a big private porch. It's a very relaxed place to stay on the edge of the town. The centre is just 10 minutes walking and has some good restaurants. The very friendly and talkative owner Zkini can give you a lot of information about the island and also about how to make fireworks ; ) There is a possibility to camp on the green lawn, sleep in the dormatory, one of the double rooms or the big detached cabins. If you are a fan of Erdinger beer you are at the right address. You are also able to rent bicycles or a motobike to tour around the island. A guide is available to
climb the volcanos.

Kind regards,
Theo and Renate

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naatje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The grounds on Hospedaje Soma are manicure and well laid out because Skinny takes pride in his property. The cabin was big and clean. The food was very good ( Ola Verde) But want makes this place is the owners willingness to help you to enjoy paradise and Zkini is a very good cook Thanks to all.

Room Tip: It
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

A great base for our stay at Ometepe. True hospitality and laid back atmosphere. Owner Zkinny was very, very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had a very nice time on Ometepe living in Hospedaje Soma. The service was super, and met our expectations. The hostel is situated close by the center, but at the same time with a distance securing peace and calmness.
The best greetings and recommendations from Denmark (Holm)
Go go St. Pauli...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
10.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
12 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Casa Moreno
Hostel Casa Moreno
#3 of 21 in Moyogalpa
57 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $8 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the mainland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing