We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a stop before going on the ferry”
Review of Ramada Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Dover
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitfield
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a stop before going on the ferry”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal and got a family room for 39 GBP. The room was nice, not too big, but with 2 really nice big beds! The bathroom was clean and had a shower over a tub. It was totally acceptable for 1 night, only about 5 minutes to drive to the Ferry port. We didn't have breakfast as we had to leave very early.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erdbeerchen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate yourt time in giving us your feedback following your stay with us and I am glad you had an pleasant experience with us.

I hope your onward journey was trouble free and we look forward to welcoming you back should you be visiting these shores again.

Kindest regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    363
    171
    53
    49
See reviews for
201
375
36
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 8 who stayed overnight for New Years Eve. We had a great time and the food was extremely good, particularly for the number of people they catered for. The rooms are looking a little tired now and ours sadly (228) smelt extremely musty. We did report this and were told housekeeping would look into it. I understand the rooms will undergo a refurbishment later this year. There was a good variety of food at breakfast but chaotic. I think it would be a good idea to set up tables for lead parties to ensure there are enough seats/tables available and two stations for tea/coffee/juice away from the main breakfast area to avoid customers all queuing in the same place. The staff all worked incredibly hard. The reception area has lovely seating and a fire with Costa Coffee and the hotel is located very close to Dover port and castle as well as Debradlei Wharf which us worth a visit. I feel my review is worthy of a good but had to give it average as the next option was very good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us for New Years Eve and I will gladly pass onto the Chef & his team your complements on the food at the Gala Dinner. I take on board your comments regarding breakfast and this is something we have now implemented for when we have large groups/parties staying with us.
With regards to your feedback on the rooms, you are correct as we have started to refurbish all of the rooms, and once this is completed, the issues you encountered will be resolved, however, I do appreciate your constructive comments.

I hope the rest of the New Year was also a success and I hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kindest regards & Happy New Year

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here whilst doing a murder mystery.
Staff friendly, from check in, waiting on staff & bar team.
Room warm and comfortable.
Ample parking.
Food great.
Costa on site.
Breakfast self service and lots to choose from

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback on your recent Murder Mystery event here at the ramada Dover. I am pleased you had a good stay and the event was a success.

I will be passing on to the team your kind comments as I know they will be omly too happy to know their efforts have been recognised.

Once again, thank you for your review and I would like to wish you both a Happy New Year

Kindest regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I don't know him but he may have been sitting at one of the tables nearby me or just on a different function day but experience was very similar. Having said that I didn't pay for my meal, after a lot of persistence and the breakfast buffet was better than average. I should have stayed in Canterbury and commuted to the activities in Dover but as an Australian I dint know that, live and learn. Not a lot of dining options nearby so if you stay here roll the dice.

Room Tip: Stay in Canterbury, its only 20 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and please accept my apologies for your stay not being as good as it should have been. Whilst Christmas is an exceptionally busy period for most hotels, it shouldn't impact on the comfort and pleasure of none christmas guests staying at the same time, I am sorry that this did have a negative influence on your stay.

I have noted your comments and will be tasking the various departments involved to review their standards in order to prevent a similar occurance in the future.

Once again, thank you for your review and we would like to wish you a Happy New Year

Kindest regards

neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night .20-12-13 . check in was very fast and efficient but we did query the fact that we had been charged twice on our credit card which took 5 weeks to refund .We stayed in room 217 which faced the road ,saying that we didn't hear any road noise .
Lovely room ,bit small but would be fine for one night . I turned the radiator on but had to fold the long curtains( to the floor) up into the window sill .Why do they do that ? .
The safe which we wanted to use is situated on the floor so you really do have to get down on all fours to use it.
The bath took a really long time to fill but it was bigger than your average bath , which was nice but cleaning is not the best .As the room began to fill of steam I could see writing on the mirror !! And the mouldy grouting under the tap and on the seal wasn't great either .
Were were offered the deal for dinner and breakfast but the leaflet didn't explain what exactly you would be entitled to ,and it would of been nice to see a breakfast menu in the room with some prices .
A mcdonalds and a tesco express really nearby .
Plenty of other value hotels nearby so unless they up their game ,we wouldn't stay again .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janieCrawleyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and the constructive feedback contained therein. I have noted all of your comments and along with the team we will endeavour to rectify the issues you encountered so as to make any future stays memorable for the right reasons. With regards to the breakfast menu in the rooms, these normally are to be found hanging on the back of the door to place outside for room service breakfasts, however, I apologise if these were not in the room on your last stay.

Once again, thank you for your review, your input is very much appreciated and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future

Kindest regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall I would rate this hotel very good. The room was clean, spacious and modern. As we were only there for one night there is not a lot more I can say, however the only draw back was on the night that we stayed there was a very loud party in a marque directly next to our bedroom window. This was not particularly nice as we had to wake up at 5am to catch a ferry. I think I would have liked to of been told about the party by the staff, although it wouldn't have changed my decision to stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Josh

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your last visit to us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you were made to feel welcome. I will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team as I know they will appreciate your kind sentiments.
I have noted your comment about being advised prior to your stay about the Christmas Party's taking place and we will review our procedures to ensure that this is done consistently in the future
Once again, thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated

Kindest regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitfield
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.8 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Dover

Property: Ramada Dover
Address: Singledge Lane, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > Whitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Dover 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4-star hotel set alongside the A2 Dover Canterbury Road. The Ramada has 68 well appointed guest rooms, 2 conference rooms and a Grand Marquee for banquets and weddings. The facilities include the Olive Tree Restaurant, Octagon Bar showing Sky Sports on a big screen, Costa coffee lounge and mini gym. WiFi internet access and car parking are free . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing