We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double OO Wine Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne
Reviewed November 10, 2013

O'Vineyards is run by friendly hosts Liz and Joe O'Connell who happily share their passions for wine and food with their guests. If you want to truly experience life on a French vineyard this is the place for you. Situated high up on the hills with beautiful views just 10-15 minutes drive from Carcassonne, We stayed one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in stylish comfort in the Syrah room with a private balcony overlooking the vineyards. We enjoyed a tasty 5 course meal full of locally sourced delights accompanied by copious amounts of wine. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deliab242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I spend two magical nights at Liz and Joe's home in one of their B & B rooms. We instantly felt relaxed and treated like old friends, rather than guests. Liz and Joe's house was beautiful and their hospitality was generous, Liz with her incredible cooking and Joe replenishing your glass as soon as it was emptied. Their vineyards surrounded the house in most beautiful setting imaginable, defiantly worth staying if you are in this area of France.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claredl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

There is not much to add to the raving reviews below – except another well-deserved five star rating. Our group consisted of three couples and we stayed at the Domaine O’Vineyards B&B for one night in September and had booked the complete package including wine-tasting, a five course evening meal and rooms with a vineyard view.
Joe and Liz O’Connell are very friendly hosts – and Muse the dog will bark at you for sure but is otherwise also very friendly.
Liz makes good food – and Joe makes excellent wine. I am not a wine expert – but I know a good wine when I taste one. Joe’s wine is outstanding – and a stay at the O’Vineyards B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niels-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Liz and Joe make you very welcome. This is my second stay and I cannot fault it. Lovely food, great wine and good company! Hope to go back again next year.

Recommend the evening meal. Great volumes of their wine and fab food,.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good standard. The property is in its own land in the country, so no issues with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a night at O'Vineyards and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the personable welcome to the excellent tour and the mixing with other guests, it was fun and interesting throughout. The room was more than comfortable, the terrace and the inside areas lovely to relax in.

The wine is superb and it Joe kept it flowing. The food was very good and a nice contrast to the usual fare. Overall I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you have ever dreamt of an idyllic life on a beautiful vineyard in the South of France, where sunrises and sunsets paint the sky with a glorious pallet of light..

Where excellent wine and delicious, abundant food present the welcoming spirit of hospitality as you are enveloped in a sensory experience as vast as the surrounding vistas.

If you cherish destinations that you’ll remember for a lifetime.

If you value places and people that feel instinctively familiar, comfortable and connected.

If you appreciate hosts who in their graciousness, good-humor and authentic selves, within hours, make you feel as if you are one of their family.


And if you smile when a playful dog, (Muse) accepts you as another one of her human companions leading you gracefully through fields, vines and rural roads as if to say…don’t forget to see this through my eyes.

Then the O ‘Connells and O’ Vineyards are a definite must stay in Southern France

The above describes the emotions of our experience …here’s all the details and the real scoop!

Rooms (ours had a private balcony which overlooks the vineyard) are immaculately clean, spacious, with beds are beyond comfortable…
Bathrooms are private, large and have great showers.

The food is incredible … Liz is an skilled and inventive chef who delights in sharing her talents and her inexhaustible selections.

Joe’s wines are amazing. A passionate and talented winemaker…Joe is making some world class vintages here. His Proprietors Reserve is not to be missed …don’t pass up the Syrah or the Merlot either… If Joe was in making this wine in Bordeaux… it would be priced out of reach for most wine enthusiast.

For white wine lover’s his O’ Chasan, a variety grown primarily in the Languedoc wine region is terrific. A mingled taste of Chardonnay, Listan and Pinot.

They are very connected with their Carcassonne area community and they can arrange private drivers/tours (rather than drive we hired a van with a driver Diedie..a gem!), suggest destinations to visit that are outside the guidebooks (don’t miss the sparkling wines of Limoux), recommend restaurants(trust Liz), direct you to farmers markets, bakeries and cheese (and they’ll even arrange an extra suitcase… you’ll need to carry back the wine... we did!) …it’s as if you get immediate “locals” access and connections.

Most memorable, was our time with Joe and Liz, two funny, generous, joy-filled and simply excellent human beings. We left, knowing we had made friends whom we will return many times to visit.

P.S. Don’t miss out on taking walks in the vineyard with Muse!!!

Room Tip: Try for the rooms with a balcony overlooking the vineyard. The view is memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This modern building is furnished and designed in great style with beautiful furniture and furnishings. Huge walk in shower. Balcony with table and chairs overlooking the vineyard. Spacious rooms and public spaces. Outdoor seating area with views over the old city of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne

Address: 885 avenue de la Montagne Noire | Northern Arrondissement of Carcassonne, 11620 Villemoustaussou, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Villemoustaussou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Villemoustauss...
Price Range: $207 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a full Wine & Food Experience just ten minutes from Carcassonne castle. Many bottles of O'wines during your stay! Perched atop a beautiful, fully-functioning vineyard with down to earth, wine-slurping hosts. Everybody's welcome and you don't need to know a lot about wine to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of a vineyard in the south of France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne France/Villemoustaussou - Carcassonne Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing