We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the long drive fron the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Vineyards

O'Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.74*
and up
Winery Visit with Food and Wine in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PACKAGE for TWO GUESTS: Luxurious double room, Winery-Vineyard visit, Dinner and Breakfast! Fine Wines, Delicious meals, Fabulous views, Rooms in the middle of the vines! .... Winery visit & Wine tasting with the winemaker himself! No snobs allowed!... You can walk around the winery and vineyard to learn how we make our wines, all with a glass in your hand... Nestled in the vines on the highest point of the Thou foothills, Domaine O'Vineyards overlooks the Medieval castle ramparts of Carcassonne and features a gorgeous view of La Montagne Noire....About 10 minutes from Carcassonne's airport......
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the long drive fron the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped overnight to collect our Naked 100 Wine. Outstanding Food, superb Wine, and excellent Accommodation. Muse is a wonderful hostesses, and Joe and Liz are very good company. The wine tour was very interesting and we look forward to addressing this year’s vintage when it becomes available. We will be back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    12
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Domaine O'Vineyards is a very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Domaine O'Vineyards is a very special place. Our two-night stay there is an experience that we will always remember.

After a busy visit to London, the relaxed pace of the Languedoc region was a tonic for our senses. When we arrived at O’Vineyards – a fifteen-minute drive in the car we rented in Carcassonne – we immediately knew we had come to the right place. With vineyards as far as the eye can see, we felt restored by the gorgeous landscape.

O’Vineyards is a family-owned venture, and our time there felt like we were staying with friends. We were greeted by Liz O’Connell, who made us feel immediately at home and offered us a glass of their gorgeous syrah. It was a sip of heaven. The Chateau at Domaine ‘O, which serves both as Bed & Breakfast and as the O’Connell home, is cozy and beautiful with its high ceilings and interesting selection of art on the walls.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the real doyenne of O’Vineyards is Muse, the shepherd mix who loves hanging out with guests. Muse *actually* took us on a tour of the vineyards, showing us her favorite route. She was a patient guide, running ahead and then waiting for us to catch up, and coming back to us whenever we called. For dog lovers like us, Muse made a huge contribution to our enjoyment of O’Vineyards. She is smart and enthusiastic about her job as a hostess, and is very much a part of all activities at the winery.

After we had settled in a bit, we met our fellow guests and met up with winemaker Joe O’Connell for the human-led version of the vineyard tour. Joe showed us the various pruning techniques used on their vines, explained how the grapes are harvested, and then led us to the fermenting room, where we got to try an unusual white varietal called chasan – delicious with a refreshing pineapple flavor – as well as a young syrah. The wines we sampled in the fermenting room were works-in-progress, poured straight from the giant steel fermenters, cloudy and unfiltered, but they tasted great.

The O’Connell family hail from the US, but speak fluent French, making Domaine ‘O a comfortable place for English speakers, or, even better, the ideal place to practice French. In the evening, we settled down at the long table in the chateau's huge living room for dinner with our fellow guests and a local French couple who were friends with Joe and Liz. The wine kept flowing (this time, it included Joe’s amazing Merlot reserve), and so did the multilingual conversation. Liz is an amazing cook. Our meal was full of diverse flavors, with potatoes and brie wrapped in puff pastry, shrimp in an addictive garlicky sauce, rice, ratatouille, salmon, steak, more pastries filled with pear and cheese, and an apple/chocolate pie for dessert. All of it was delicious, and the quality of the food and wine, combined with a beautiful atmosphere and fascinating conversation, made this one of our top ten meals of all time.

After we had stuffed ourselves to the gills, we returned to our room, which featured a huge bathroom, tons of closet space and a small private deck overlooking the vines. We fell into the incredibly comfortable bed and enjoyed one of the best sleeps of our lives.

Liz and Joe put a lot of care and attention to detail into everything they do, and it came through in their warm hospitality, delicious meals and terrific wines. We were sad to leave Domaine O'Vineyards, and will definitely come back if we’re ever in the region again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bocadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay with Liz, Joe and Muse from putting our bags down in a big, spacious room, overlooking a gorgeous vineyard to the very informative tour on the ins and outs of winemaking. At all times we felt truly relaxed and like one of the family.

The trip was topped off by a tasty, beautiful meal prepared with ease by Liz and of course accompanied by lovely wine made just meters away.

HIGHLY recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Maddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in fantastic company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for ages but just haven't had the time since returning from our holidays. We visited here one Sunday as a couple for the full day tour, wine tasting, workshop plus an amazing 5 course meal with samples of wine. Liz, Joe and Ryan welcomed us with open arms and really treated us like family for the entire day. Another couple from the UK who were staying in the vineyard joined us and it was a fun filled day and night. We arrived in the morning and did a tour of the vineyard and discovered the different grapes and ways of making wine sampling different varieties along the way. We then did a wine making workshop using different grapes of different levels of maturity. Afterwards we enjoyed a few glasses of wine and some nibbles followed by a herb walk collecting various wild herbs from around the vast vineyard. This was such a wonderful and calming experience in the sun. We even used some of these herbs in our food later on. This was followed by a feast of delicious food cooked by Liz with a mix of French and Asian influences. She really is a wonderful cook and was very accommodating to my needs as I don't eat meat. Everything was home made and delicious. and accompanied by good wine and great conversation. We were never big red wine drinkers and although not fully converted I did really enjoy tasting them and am now much more open to enjoying a glass of red. Towards the end of the evening they opened a white wine for us to enjoy which was a nice touch. After being there for nearly 12 hours we went to leave in merry spirits as another Irish couple came to stay for the night. Even at this stage Liz was so kind and invited us to stay for more food and wine with the new couple which was a wonderful gesture. We were still full and pretty tired but when I do return to Carcassonne we will definitely return. We brought home a few bottles with us and have enjoyed them immensely. Thanks so much guys for a wonderful and memorable experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Men-rui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We really enjoyed the whole experience. Joe and Liz are both so welcoming and friendly with an easy way of sharing their knowledge and experience with their guests. The lunch was great and the wine excellent- and no glass was ever left empty! My friend and I are white wine drinkers but are now converted and after all that wine, no ill effects or hangovers - amazing! And the beauty and peace of the french countryside. Highly recommend. Oh! white wine on menu next year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to O'Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing