We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience even in the middle of a tempest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience even in the middle of a tempest!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed with my family in 3 of the Domaine De Trapel's beautifully decorated, all totally different, spacious rooms (Safran, Cannelle and Jade) overlooking a wonderful garden/park in October 2012. We arrived in the middle of the night, in the middle of a tempest which had made our long drive from the middle of Europe take even longer than expected. As soon, however, as we stepped into Domaine de Trapel we were struck by the serenity of the place, a real joy for the eyes and mind! We also had a wonderful surprise the next morning, while the tempest continued unleashed outside, walking into the cozy breakfast room/ kitchen for breakfast, a log fire was burning in the huge ancient open fire place, soft classical music was playing in the background together with a beautifully set breakfast table, just wonderful!
You feel how the owners Christophe & Catherine have put their “heart and soul” into their place and we all benefitted from this tremendously . You could also tell that Christophe and Catherine are seasoned travelers themselves and know exactly how to make their visitors feel special and welcome with the attention given to every detail.
We noticed that the Domaine de Trapel has recently been awarded an Excellency Award and we all totally agree that Christophe & Catherine deserve this award. We have no hesitation in recommending this "magic" place to anyone who would like to stay in an out of the ordinary, luxurious B & B in what I would describe as “Tuscany” in France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berra73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpariset, Propriétaire at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for this comment, and we hope you are well. Hope to see you again when you will be in the area or when you will be at your home... as our "neighbour" !!!! It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. Take care and kind regards, Christophe et Catherine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel in Sept 2012. The lovely hosts Christophe and Catherine prepared a nice breakfast that we enjoyed on the terrace. Jonas the cat (he is crazy for croissants!) joined us each morning. What a beautiful and relaxing property. The room was very spacious and we enjoyed our stay. Christophe and Catherine were very helpful in helping plan our day trips and made dinner reservations for us at great restaurants. As recommended by our hosts, the restaurants in Trebe were really wonderful. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you Christophe and Catherine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everything was perfect about our stay at this lovely castle. The hosts go out of their way to make your stay perfect. They had a special wine tasting ready for us on our arrival, that was the best one we had during our 2 week stay throughout the southern part of France. The grounds and rooms are clean and great for relaxing. The breakfast included fresh fruits as well as cereal, meats, cheese and juice. They are located on 5K from the famous Carcassonne Medieval City, with lots to see and do. I highly recommend a stay with Catherine and Christopher in their wonderful home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyjeancole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpariset, Propriétaire at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Dear Shirley... So, now you are back to home, we hope the trip was good and we want to thank you for your comment . We are more than happy to know you keep a good memory of your stay with us.. and the wine tasting in the chapel. Kisses to all of you and hope to see you again.
And Thank you for the keys..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a fun couple and so helpful and informative and what a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very individual and beautifully decorated and furnished. If you want to feel truly at home stay here. We only had two nights but I could easily spend a week at least basking in the warmth of the hosts and the peace and quiet of the wonderfully restored chateau, situated on the edge of vineyards and agricultural fields but only ten minutes from Carcassone. Restaurant recommendations were marvellous and just suited our tastes, even though we wanted quite different things on the two nights. If you are looking for somewhere in the area don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmshenley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpariset, Propriétaire at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hello,

Catherine and I want to thank you for this comment... We are more than happy to know you keep a good memory of your stay with us and we will be very happy to welcome you another time.
Have a nice summer.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful place June 5-9 and June 16-18 (separated by a one week boat trip on the Canal du Midi) and were blown away by the beauty of the place, the fantastic rooms, the gardens and hosts Christophe and Catherine Pariset who are the most helpful, informative lovely people you could imagine. It is a magical location a few kilometres away from the hustle and bustle of Carcassonne so really easy to visit La Cite and surrounding towns and villages and return to the wonderful Domaine after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast in the wonderful breakfast room or outside is beautifully presented and delicious. Christophe is happy to make restaurant reservations for his guests and we were not disappointed with his recommendations. It is hard to find words adequate enough to describe how lovely it is here. The swimming pool is beautiful, the gardens secluded and divine and we would go back here in a minute - if only we lived in Europe instead of Canada!! We have travelled lots all around the world and this is one of the absolute gems that should not be missed. Christophe is very knowledgeable about the local area wines and we had a lovely wine tasting in La Chapelle which is attached to the beautiful Domaine building. First class all the way and very reasonably priced considering the service, location etc. We stayed in the Saffron room which, like the others, has been tastefully decorated - we were able to see the other rooms while we were there and they are all one of a kind with wonderful decor and BIG ensuite bathrooms. Go - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Saw all of the rooms during our stay and they are all charming and face onto the lovely courtyard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello Dear Liz & Bill,

Thank you so much for your so wonderful comment.... but the most important now, you have friends in France and maybe we'll go to visit you "next week end"..!!!
Have some nice sails and flights... and we keep in touch ( by mail later because I am busy with the painting of the gate !! )
Kisses XXXXXX
Christophe et Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It is not unusual to return from a vacation with feelings of euphoria. So, I waited three weeks before writing this review. When I entered through the gates of the property, I was struck by the beauty of the shaded lane that passes by a gatekeeper’s house, a three story stone building that was our residence for the week. The house had two bedrooms and one bath and it suited us well for our stay. The furnishings were comfortable and the library shelf was filled with guide books for the region.
Our hosts, Christophe and Catherine went way beyond what I expected during our stay. Catherine is a fine cook and Christophe insisted that everything was perfect during our stay. He hosted a wine tasting in the newly renovated chapel and demonstrated a vast knowledge about wine and winemaking, something that impressed this winemaker. Also of note, this visitor speaks minimal French and had no trouble during a week of touring the region. Christophe can point out the most interesting places to visit so you do not need to do a lot of pre-planning. The only thing that could have been better would be to have stayed an additional week or three. Smiles!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinoginoCalifon_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpariset, Propriétaire at Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Hello Dear Gene.... Just to say Thank you for this comment, 3 weeks later you always keep a good memory of your stay with us, taht's great but so easy to welcome you. And good new : I have just founded 2 other wines... so you will have to come back to taste them !! and 2 weeks is a minimum, we'll be very busy.... !!! In a short time I will taste your's... and I am going to send you somes pictures from Roman path...
Bye my friend. Kisses from Catherine
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

From the moment that we drove down the shaded driveway and discovered this lovely old country house, we were made welcome by Christophe and Catherine Pariset and taken to our beautifully appointed en-suite bedroom overlooking the lawns which stretch down to their woodlands which border the banks of the Canal du Midi.For the next few days, we luxuriated in the peace and beauty of this very special place. It is difficult to realise that the teeming ancient city of Carcassonne is only three miles away.Our hosts were an endless source of local knowledge and advise on how best to discover corners of this historic part of France. Christophe organised a wine tasting party to help us understand more about the superb wines of the Region, some of which managed to find their way into the boot of the car for later study at our leisure. Breakfasts on the terrace, relaxing in the big swimming pool and the total absence of stress form the background for our memories of time spent at St Pierre.

Room Tip: I think that all the bedrooms face south onto the lawn..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 370CandM370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villemoustaussou
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
428 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
2.4 mi away
O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Carcassonne
O'Vineyards Bed & Breakfast - Ca...
#1 of 2 in Villemoustaussou
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel

Property: Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel
Address: Domaine Saint Pierre du Trapel | D201, 11620 Villemoustaussou, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Villemoustaussou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Villemoustauss...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 5mn from Carcassonne, in a large and quiet park with swimming pool and parking, we'll welcome you with pleasure in our B&B. In july and August, you can rent From 3 to 5rooms as a gite. New Offer : Oenotourism and Wine tasting sessions. You will discover the local wines selected by Christophe during a wine tasting in the chapel. You can also buy some if you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine Saint Pierre de Trapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Saint Pierre De Trapel France/Villemoustaussou - Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing