We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother making reservations at Esperanza Mansion”
Review of Esperanza Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esperanza Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Thought this would be a nice place for our 23rd Anniversary. NOT!
The carpets were so soiled they needed to be ripped out. The food was very mediocre. The room was a real disappointment - had a fireplace, but all the fireplaces are non-working. The bathroom in the room was a HUGE disappointment! Had an old 80's one piece Shower Unit with yucky plastic doors! YUCK! We returned to the room after a day of shopping and wine tasting and upon opening the door, we thought the sewer backed up in our room! The manager moved us next door, but what a hassle. The employees were very nice, but could not make up for this very "tired" hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaMomofTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I went to the Esperanza mansion with the hopes of having a nice romantic overnight stay to celebrate our 5 year anniversary.

Number 1 Tip: be sure to ask if there is a wedding or wedding reception taking place the evening of your stay. If yes (and you are not a guest at the wedding), stay at the Inn instead of the Mansion or just go somewhere else. The noise from the reception will be overwhelming when you're staying in the mansion (we were in the Concord room).

Pros: The property and the mansion are both stunning. The room we had in the mansion was simple, clean and comfortable. The view of the lake from the Tavern dining room is beautiful.

Cons: The service, the food and the small details.

Service - All of our interactions were mediocre at best. The staff is basically indifferent to you. Polite but they don't seem to care.

Food - Dinner was not good. Soggy calamari as an appetizer, over cooked lobster tail, leather like prime rib, over cooked chicken, stale brownie sundae and old and/or freezer burned peanut butter pie. When we told the server about the tough prime rib she commented that it was a "large" piece. Then when we told her about the stale brownie she told us that she has recommended to the kitchen that they put a slice of bread in the container with the brownie so it won't go stale. So, I asked if they bake their desserts fresh each day and she said “oh…no”. Their presentation is lacking as well. When the server brought my coffee it had spilled all over and the saucer that the coffee cup sat in was over flowing with coffee.

Small details - The room itself was nice and clean. But there were little details that were overlooked. For example, the bed skirt was a rumpled mess and half tucked under the mattress on one end and half hanging out on the other end. There was a scattered looking flower arrangement on the desk that looked like it had been thrown there just before we walked in. We were supposed to have a cheese and cracker plate waiting for us, but it never arrived.

The deal breaker for us was the wedding reception taking place outside our room window. It was like the whole party was in the room with us. We called the front desk and asked if there were any other rooms available and the man told us that they were all booked up. He never even asked us why we were asking for other room availability. We packed up our bags and checked out right then and didn't finish our planned overnight stay.

Had the wedding reception not been going on, we would have stayed the night. However, we're unlikely to return based on the indifference of the staff and the bad food.

My husband has attempted to escalate our experience to management but no one has called us back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victrlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Esperanza Mansion is set on Keuka Lake in the Finger Lakes of upstate New York. Our room was in the newer inn and, while nice, nothing out of the ordinary. The private balcony overlooking the lake, however, was heavenly. A lovely place to visit in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayTripper1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were staying at a B&B near Naples and the owner recommended Esperanza's for our anniversary dinner. I had called the night before to make our dinner reservations and had a bit of a run around accomplishing that.
I had been on their website and was able to look at their menu and saw that they also offered a dinner buffet on Thursdays and Fridays. What I was not aware of was that was all they offer. I was so disappointed. Needless to say we had the buffet. It was nice with many choices but everything just tasted bland. The prime rib was tender but tasteless. The snow crab legs were Opellas, the pasta dish had really no flavor at all, and the asiago dinner rolls had an odd taste. My husband pointed out to me that he has never seen me not finish a dinner roll, ever. The salad was fresh with many choices of toppings. They had a baked potato bar set up that was fine because it is difficult to mess that up. Maybe my review is more negative then it should be, but I think that the website and the staff should inform the public that a buffet is all they have to offer on certain nights.
The positives were really great though. The view of Keuka lake was breath taking. The wait staff was attentive and very friendly. The coffee was excellent and the desert choices plentiful. We had their pecan pie and THAT is what I will remember most. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tobadkydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

When we arrived we were shown the room that we had originally booked (the so called Bridal Suite), up a long narrow enclosed staircase past the ensuite bathroom into the large room furnished with antiques. The furnishings were tired and everything felt damp (not at all inviting). There was no heat and the weather was cool and wet.
We switched rooms from the main building to the motel annex that was much cozier and warm but really not worth the money.

On the plus side the afternoon/night manager Will was warm and friendly and very helpful recommending where to visit and what to see.

The continental breakfast was good with juice, cereal, yogurt, bagels, tea and coffee.

The evening meals at the restaurant were very good but on the second night they were severely understaffed with only 2 servers for crowded dining room and many diners had to wait very long times for service in many cases meals took over two hours.

We also found out that on Thursday, that on that night the restaurant would only have a buffet at $35.oo per head instead of the regular menu which was about half the price.

Given our experience we will not be returning

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a mixed review. We are just returning from a wonderful wedding at the Esperanza. What an amazing place to get married! The views overlooking Keuka Lake are outstanding and the Mansion itself is absolutely regal! The wedding itself was very well organized and everything went very smoothly. The food was excellent and the physical layout (the main ballroom and 2 heated tents) was perfect! For the wedding itself, Esperanza gets straight 5s!
Where I thought the Esperanza was mediocre at best was the lodging. We stayed in room 110 in the Inn (immediately adjacent to the Mansion, on the lower level). The room itself was adequate size and the bathroom was clean and updated. The view from our private patio was beautiful. However, cleanliness was poorly rated because the room was incredibly musty / mildewy smelling. So much so that I still smell it in my clothes hours after we left. We thought it was the a/c, but shutting that off and opening up both of the doors to air it out didn't help. My wife's allergies were going crazy. It is probably due to the fact that the old building was stone and built into a hill, but they need to find a solution to deal with the moisture issue. We had friends who stayed on the second floor and they had less issues with this, but still noticed it, as well. They also need to vacuum more thoroughly. We would have enjoyed our stay much more if the odor and nasal congestion was not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clundh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We celebrated our anniversary by spending a week-end in the Finger Lake region of New York and stayed at the Esperanza Mansion overlooking Keula Lake. The private setting on a hill is serene and beautiful overlooking the lake. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed at the Inn directly next to the Mansion; comfortable but we could here noise from guests that were above us one evening. Our dinner meals were excellent, and it was lovely to eat out on the terrace with a great view of the Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckylady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Point
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
18.6 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Mansion

Address: 3456 State Route 54a, Bluff Point, NY 14478-9714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Bluff Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Price Range: $185 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperanza Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1838, the Esperanza Mansion has represented the highest level of Greek Revival Architecture in the Finger Lakes region of New York state. It has now been fully restored to its 19th century splendor. Guests may choose from 9 Mansion guest rooms and 21 rooms at The Inn at Experanza. The Esperanza Mansion offers breathtaking views of Keuka Lake and the surrounding countryside, making this the ideal destination for a relaxing Finger Lakes getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Esperanza Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Mansion Hotel Bluff Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing