We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apathetic staff, excellent food and wait staff, fleas!”
Review of Esperanza Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esperanza Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Waynesboro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Apathetic staff, excellent food and wait staff, fleas!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband attended a wedding and stayed at Esperanza Mansion last spring and loved the site, so we booked in for two nights staying in one of the atmospheric rooms in the mansion. The food was excellent. However, the upper floor was flea infested, including our room( my husband was thoroughly bitten) and the glass door to the upper balcony was covered with fleas trying to get out. We mentioned the fleas to two different members of staff at two different times, and each of them expressed surprise. I seriously doubt that we were the first to mention the fleas.

Room Tip: All rooms in the mansion are romantic, atmospheric. Those in the newer detached are spacious, well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kherrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsperanzaMansion, Manager at Esperanza Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
First and foremost it should be noted that this isolated incident has been taken very seriously by management of Esperanza Mansion. our guests, past and future, should not be alarmed as this is no flea problem a Esperanza Mansion.

Although an isolated occurrence, anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable of any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us here at Esperanza Mansion, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our number priority.

This incident is both frustrating and alarming, as we host thousands of guests each year, providing excellent service and comfort. We apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort this guest experienced and once again, we would like to assure you that the Esperanza Mansion does not have a flea problem. Employees of Esperanza Mansion are firmly committed to guest satisfaction and the guest experience.

We would like to personally invite you to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    35
    21
    20
See reviews for
19
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just wanted to take the time you think all management and staff for the wonderful time my wife and I had at the Esperanza mansion. From the time we arrived to the time we left the experience was top shelf. Dinner was absolutely perfect (we both had seafood dishes and unbelievable fresh salads the size of your head). And the room was tough to leave because of the stunning views. The staff was also very knowledgeable and give us advice on some tasty wineries to explore. Thanks again for everything Esperanza and Mr. Wegman. A+

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were very pleased in our stay at the Esperanza. The view outside our patio was awesome. It was our anniversary and we were treated well by staff. They made our stay enjoyable. We didn't eat at the Mansion because the prices were expensive, but just having a place away that was peaceful was exciting enough. We plan to come back next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Esperanza mansion and I hate to say it will probably be our last.

We love the views of the lake and the peaceful setting but it seems they changed management since our last visit and the food was not good at all! Truthfully, the main reason we went there to stay again is because my husband loved the spaghetti and meatballs. (Claimed it was the best.) Now they don't even have spaghetti on their limited and over priced menu.

Our waitress was great and I still like the second floor rooms but our meal was just sad. We were the only couple in the restaurant, (one couple stopped in for drinks on the patio.) and while looking out the windows I noticed cobwebs on all the window sills! Not very appealing.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandydawn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had our wedding at the mansion and cannot say enough great things about it! The staff were all amazingly helpful & welcoming. The food was incredible. & you truly can't beat the view! Our guests have not stopped talking about it & we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnb0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did not stay here, but came for dinner on the outdoor patio on a night out, away from kids :) The view is truly spectacular and good for a cocktail. We had planned on spending the evening here for dinner but the menu was uninteresting and expensive at first glance....also really limited. We were a bit shocked about how small the menu was for such a posh place.... We thought we would try a few starters to see if we had the wrong impression... Sadly we did not. We had the crab bruschetta and artichoke wrapped in prosciutto. Both were bland and lacked any imagination. The artichoke was fried! We ended up leaving and going elsewhere for dinner. It has great potential, good location .... Just needs a Gordon Ramsey makeover and direction to reach its full potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beagle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsperanzaMansion, General Manager at Esperanza Mansion, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are very sorry you were not happy with our menuchoices. We have been listening to our guests and will have a new menu out within 2 weeks. Please stop in and check it out personally or on line when the new menu comes arrives.
We were trying to keep a small menu to guarantee fresh local variety and less waste. We now have access to many more produce and seafood options. We are excited to see the new menu come together.
I am wondering if your server the night you were here went over our daily and nightly features??
We have 5 dinner options and 2 or 3 appetizers options as well to choose from. The reason for so many features was because the menu was small. Just curious.
But we wanted to let you know that we heard you loud and clear and the menu will be upgraded very soon.
PLease let us know what you think!!

Sincerely,
Esperanza Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Views can't be better especially from the top floor of the mansion. Room at the adjoining inn are cosy and cottagey yet comfortable.
The dining menu was just up our alley. Great artichoke starter and fantastic sea bass dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Point
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
175 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
18.6 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
626 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Mansion

Property: Esperanza Mansion
Address: 3456 State Route 54a, Bluff Point, NY 14478-9714
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Bluff Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperanza Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1838, the Esperanza Mansion has represented the highest level of Greek Revival Architecture in the Finger Lakes region of New York state. It has now been fully restored to its 19th century splendor. Guests may choose from 9 Mansion guest rooms and 21 rooms at The Inn at Experanza. The Esperanza Mansion offers breathtaking views of Keuka Lake and the surrounding countryside, making this the ideal destination for a relaxing Finger Lakes getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Esperanza Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Mansion Hotel Bluff Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing