We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - but small changes would make the cottage Top Notch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bach Wen Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clynnogfawr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bach Wen Cottages
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely - but small changes would make the cottage Top Notch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Hubby and I stayed in the Bakery which overall was a lovely little place. We loved the location, and cosiness of the cottage with it's lovely log burning stove, which the owners had thoughtfully lit for us prior to arrival on a very, very cold afternoon!

A few changes would make such a big difference to the overall experience though, for example, a new sofa and matress. By no means are they dreadful, but neither could they be considered in the realms of luxury!

Kitchen OK (open plan and very nicely laid out). Urgently needs a new hob - none of the rings were working at anything like capacity. Which left the use of a pretty good oven for preparation of meals, however there was a poor selection of oven dishes etc. One to be precise - and that without a lid. (I know only a small thing - but when you really want to cook a nice meal its plain annoying!)

The shower good and hot and heating on between 7 am -and 11 pm. If require it to be on all night there is an additional charge which I feel is fair. The weather was extreamely cold during our stay and we wished we had arranged for this, however there are plenty of extra blankets available fto aid a warm nights sleep. There were areas where additional attention to housekeeping was needed - but nothing that bothered me particularly.

None of the above minor issues spoiled our stay - the cottage is rustic and filled with charm and the location is great for Snowdonia, and a variety of small towns for a spot of shopping etc. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

The perfect antidote for stress in this modern day world.
We arrived with Tessa (our beautiful Rottie) at Bac Wen after the most stressful drive through wind and rain and road closures. We unloaded the car and found ourselves in the welcoming, snug environment of The Stables , de-stressing had commenced.
The cottage itself is like a home from home, with all the modern facilities you need. The Stables is centrally heated throughout the day which ensures a cosy environment whatever the weather outside. During our stay we have experienced gale force winds, torrential rain as well as spells of beautiful sunshine.
Throughout our stay we have been very comfortable and well catered for with the available facilities. We have been able to wash through and dry clothes after bracing walks along the beach, and then settle down in the warm sitting room watching the flat screen tv, or a dvd., and with everything you need in the kitchen to produce a home cooked meal.
The Stables backs straight onto the paddock and where there is access to a private beach on the coast. This cottage is ideally suited to holidaymakers with dogs who can exercise their dogs in a beautiful and safe environment.
We are already looking forward to our next visit early next year whatever the weather.
October 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie12515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire united kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

My self and partner come every year with our dog. we have never had a bad experience.we have stayed in stables,bakery,hayloft,beuno. love the surroundings,friendly owners and cottages have always been clean and well equipted. We never go in season due to prices but its the same wherever you go.
I have recommended bachwen to friends which have also had great experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesugar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We late booked Bach Wen cottage for the weekend and fortunately for us we were going to pay on arrival as after we were shown quickly around by the owners we had a proper look round on our own and have not ever seen a more dirty place that is in dire need of a good clean and redecoration ! We did not even unpack anything from our car but shut the door behind us and left,telling the owners why we were doing so.
It is in a lovely location bit do not be fooled by the pictures on the website !
It needs a really good clean, redecoration and some homely touches,ie pictures on walls or flowers would be a nice start ! It is so bare and depressing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank evertonian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed in the Bach Wen cottage. Sleeps 8/9 I believe. Just me, the missus and the two dogs.
Positives:
The location is great - secluded, private beach (rocky but fun for the dogs), paddocks for exercise, etc.
Cottage was warm, even though the weather was quite poor. So very good.
All rooms well equipped, especially the kitchen and lounge. Modern well functioning equipment necessary for a week or more self catering.
Negatives:
Very dirty, especially the main bathroom. Grot and mould in the corners and room edges.
Utility room leaked badly due to missing pointing in stone wall.
All bedrooms smelled badly of damp. Possibly under the laminate flooring.
Mattresses were appalling quality. Very thin and old. Felt every spring. We've both returned home exhausted.
Owners' welcome introduction was cursory. No check up form them mid week if everything was ok. No information in cottage on how to work equipment. No welcome/information book, just a single page 'House Rules' document, that would have told us where to go to eat locally, where to buy food shopping. All very poor for a self catering place.

Summary:
Great location, very tired and dirty cottage badly in need of a clean/refurb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

words cannot discribe the beauty, peace and comfort at Mill Cottage Bachwen .The cottage was first class with everthing you could need The sea facing rooms made it hard to move away . The wild life was so close seals were seen in the bay as well as a pod of dolphins. The village with its pub and shop made us very welcome as well as the village people who were all so friendly. With lots of places to visit I can not fault it we look forward to coming again next year

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

My partner and I spent the week in The Stables cottage with our two dogs and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was comfortable, clean, warm and has fantastic views. All the amenities mentioned on their website were in good working order and there was plenty of crockery, cutlery and equipment in the kitchen to cook what we wanted.

The owners made us feel very welcome.

The cottage is fenced off and there is a gate in the garden leading straight onto the Paddock which is large and gave the dogs plenty of room to run around and enjoy themselves. The Paddock has access to the beach - it becomes sandy when the tide is out.

Although we don't have kids, the site has a play area for children which is good.

We'll be back to enjoy another week later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrexJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clynnogfawr
13.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
#1 of 1 in Clynnogfawr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glan Morfa Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bach Wen Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bach Wen Cottages

Property: Bach Wen Cottages
Address: Clynnogfawr, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Clynnogfawr
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Clynnogfawr
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bach Wen Cottages Hotel Clynnogfawr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing