We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and excellent breakfast”
Review of States Inn & Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
States Inn & Ranch
Ranked #19 of 24 San Juan Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Nice and friendly place, which makes you feel at home, and the breakfast is a true culinary experience! Only downside is the fact that the water in the tap and shower smells extremely bad, but free bottled water is available at the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgneteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hosts were very accommodating. Wonderful breakfasts..certainly didn't leave the table hungry. The bed was very comfottable. Enough common space and outside areas to mingle with other guests or find a place to be alone. The farm animals provided some additional attractions... friendly alpacas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The setting of this B&B on a farm is wonderful. The country store and specialty food items a treat. The hosts and the information they shared about the food and animals was very worthwhile. My only complaint is that the house needs updating - decor and furnishings need an overhaul. I don't mean it needs a costly remodel; it just is tired looking and lacks style. If they got rid of the 1980's furnishings and carpet on the wall (?) the place would appeal to a wider range of clientele.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenwallawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed here with my wife,cousin and husband.Excellent choice,good value for the money.Awesome breakefast.
Will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The breakfast was good. The hosts were great and very accommodating. The location is great - close to the British camp and Roche Harbor. The rooms were very clean.

We still had the sulphur in the water when we stayed there. It's nice to know that it is gone. It was a hot weekend - but it cooled off at night. The only complaint was the ventilation system in the ceiling was very loud. They could have used a bit more patio furniture - it was often utilized in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sand_ca_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

It has been three years since my trip to State's Inn and I think back to it often! State's Inn is the perfect retreat for a solo traveler looking to connect with nature. What better way to start a day of adventure than with a home cooked, gourmet, and fresh from the farm breakfast. After days of biking around the island and taking in the local marine life there was no better way to relax than to come back to visit my new critter friends at the ranch. The accommodations were up to date, comfortable, with attention paid to detail (like books available on the local wildlife or a fridge with goody bags to feed the alpacas!). The owners were more than accommodating (picking me and my bike up from town when it started to rain). I highly recommend the State's Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We had a delightful experience at the States Inn. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with the only downside being a very small bathroom (admittedly, we could have had a bigger one if we chose another room). The hosts were very accommodating and friendly, full of little attentions (such as freshly baked cookies when we arrived), and the breakfast was amazing. We got to experience the ranch as much as we wanted too, taking a stroll on the property, interacting with the animals (feeding the alpacas was quite fun). Everything about the Inn was genuine, fresh, and homey.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan Island hotels
5.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
6.0 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Inn to the Woods
Inn to the Woods
#7 of 24 in San Juan Island
60 reviews
6.2 mi away
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Earthbox Inn & Spa
#8 of 11 in Friday Harbor
640 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to States Inn & Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about States Inn & Ranch

Address: 2687 W Valley Rd, 7.1 miles from Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8164
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the only Working Ranch and B&B on San Juan Island. Meet our Alpacas, Sheep, Horses and Chickens. Breakfast is a delight, featuring fresh local foods and our pastured poultry's eggs. 9 rooms and suites with private baths, also a two bedroom cottage with full kitchen. In our Country Store you'll find fresh baked bread, cheeses, Cornish pasties, fruit pies, ice cream and gifts, all local, all natural, all handmade from scratch. AAA ** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
States Inn & Ranch San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing