We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint, quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn to the Woods

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn to the Woods
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a very quaint and quiet retreat. We are "city folk" and not used to a bed and breakfast (well, just one of us was and it exceeded that experience). Patrick took the time to give us a tour of our rooms (two). The rooms are decorated as if you were at home and not the "hotel" feel at all. Very comfy in this aspect. The rooms are warm and cozy with large beds and comforters and pillows. Direct TV is available for a sports nut like my husband who HAD to find the baseball game on tv when we got in the room. There is a Kuerig coffee maker in the common area (which has seats and couches to relax) as well as a mini fridge to use. Breakfast was served at 9am and was the best French toast we've eaten, complete with fresh squeezed OJ and fresh fruits. Our party stayed in two rooms--one was the Sasal Room which had the private hot tub in the woods. It was a "short walk" which was literally just 15 feet away up a small hill (slippery if you are barefoot). Hot tub in the woods on a crisp fall night. Very nice :) No sounds but, well, nothing. This was a wonderful experience. Only downside staying here was there was no cell service (but obviously this is not the fault of the hotel).

Room Tip: Go for the Salsal Room. The private hot tub in the quiet woods is worth it. Unless you are easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodensQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice location and our room was the largest( Forest Room) with very nice bathroom). Breakfast was good and nicely presented but not very unique. Inn keeper was fine but not very gregarious. A very good but not "great" place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only stayed one night in the Salal room and enjoyed our stay there. The bed and sheets were very comfy. Spending the last night of our vacation in the private hot tub located just outside the room was perfect way to end it. The house was cozy and the host was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our visit to Inn to the Woods was delayed because we missed the 5 p.m. ferry to Friday Harbor. I called Patrick from Anacortes to let him know we would be arriving late and he was very gracious and told us he would be awake and waiting for our approximate 9:30 arrival. As promised, he was waiting and gave us a nice tour of the common areas, reviewed the breakfast information and showed us to our room. Our room was the Arbor Room, separate from the main house, with a private balcony and hot tub (yum!!). The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very well-appointed with spa toiletries and guest robes. The common areas and the grounds were all very tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. We stayed two nights. Breakfast was amazing and totally different on each of the two mornings we were there. Patrick is also an excellent cook! His recommendations for dinner and tourist activities were spot on. He knows the island well!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the privacy of the Arbor Room. At night, we enjoyed our hot tub and the view of the stars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inntothewoods, Owner at Inn to the Woods, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I really appreciate your taking the time to review the Inn, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Four friends visiting San Juan Islands shared two rooms at this cozy B&B. I really enjoyed my stay there. The living room was great to hang out when one's roomie retires earlier. Breakfast made by Patrick on two mornings was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttshado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found the Inn to the Woods to be a great find at a beautiful location. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the food was delicious. We were able to sit outside on the porch which was very pleasant. The living room was very comfortable and stocked with many books for our perusal. The staff was very accommodating, and we felt welcome immediately. It was a little out of town, so it was very quiet which we liked. The only down side was there was poor cell phone coverage, but we were able to use the house phone for local calls. I'd easily recommend it as a great getaway.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a jacuzzi while the other rooms did. It was a little less expensive, so it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceandorbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked two nights at the Inn to the Woods and ended up only staying one evening. When I booked the room online I saw that it specifically said the room accommodated two people so I called to ask if we could bring our almost 2 year old daughter and golden retriever. There must have been some communication problems because when we arrived we received the cold shoulder and we did not feel very welcome. It turns out that the Inn does not accept children at all. Dogs yes, children no. Fortunately, we could stay that night and the owner helped us find a new B&B closer to town that did take children and pets. The one night we stayed there was nice. The Lakeview room was small but cozy and had a great view of Sportsman Lake. The best part was the common living space that made for a wonderful sitting area to sip tea and read. The waffle breakfast was wonderful the following morning delicious!

Room Tip: The Lakeview room is small but fine for two people. It has a private bath but no hot tub like the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvitulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inntothewoods, Owner at Inn to the Woods, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I apologize again for the communication problems and hope that you enjoyed your night at Argyle House. Thank you so much for your objective review; your understanding is very much appreciated. Patrick @ Inn to the Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
3.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
3.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn to the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn to the Woods

Property: Inn to the Woods
Address: 46 Elena Dr, San Juan Island, WA 98250-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn to the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn To The Woods San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing